Home    Reviews    Review Policy    About BAM    Double Dose

Monday, June 29, 2009

Prom Anonymous

Blake Nelson
Published 2006
272 pages
Rating: B

Synopsis (as seen on back of book)

Three friends, one prom, and just twenty-one days to get ready.
Chloe Thomas is going to the prom. Of course, she doesn't have a date, she needs a dress, and she's the last person anyone expects to see there. But her two oldest friends asked her to go, and she said yes. Right away things start to fall apart. Laura and Jace are too busy with their own preparations to help Chloe, her "real" friends think she's insane, and her parents are so excited that she can't even be in the same room with them. Why on earth did she agree to do this? With drama, humor, and a touch of prom magic, Blake Nelson delivers a story as memorable as prom itself.

My Synopsis

This book is about three girls, Chloe, Laura and Jace. The girls used to be best friends but have grown apart. Chloe has become a sort of outcast geek, Laura the popular one and Jace is the athlete. Chloe really does not want to go to their prom but Laura and Jace insist. They try to help Chloe as much as they can, trying to help her find a date, a perfect dress and everything else involved with going to prom. Finally the girls find Chloe a date.. but will he be a handsome stud or a geeky loser? Will Chloe be a social outcast at the prom? Will she look beautiful or horrible? Will she embarrass herself in front of everybody? This is what Chloe fears about during the entire book and the answers to those questions will be answered when prom rolls around.

Meanwhile Laura and Jace have their own problems. Laura has a boyfriend but something seems off about them these days and at work she meets a cute boy that she feels a connection with. Laura is the one who wants everything to be perfect. Perfect date, perfect dress, perfect friends and most importantly perfect night! But will she figure out everything with her boyfriend before prom? And what about that hottie at her work? Will Laura be able to pull everything off? Will trying to unite the three girls be a disaster?

Jace needs a date and has a crush on this cute tennis player named Paul. She doesn't know if she should ask him to the prom or not. He's good looking and nice but there's something weird about him, something different that Jace intends to figure out. Will Jace be able to figure everything out with Paul or will she be at the prom dateless?

I read this book awhile ago and I actually enjoyed it a lot. It was very cute and funny. Obviously about girls and their cute boy drama... and prom! Which is always fun. But it's also about friends and trusting them. It definitely kept me interested and I was excited to see how the book would end.


Sunday, June 28, 2009

Night World No.3: Huntress, Black Dawn and Witchlight

L.J Smith
Published 2009
752 pages
Rating: A

I absolutely adored this book! It was even better than the other two! And the other two were so amazing. Tons of action, suspense and romance. Even if you're not a fan of the supernatural you would most likely enjoy the book. The girl on the cover is Iliana from Witchlight.

Synopsis (as seen on back of book)

Vampires, werewolves, witches, shapeshifters — they live among us without our knowledge. Night World is their secret society, a secret society with very strict rules. And falling in love breaks all the laws of the Night World.

The apocalypse is drawing near. But four Wild Powers can save the world from the impending doom. Circle Daybreak, an underground organization with both Night World and human members, is searching for the four who can stop the darkness.

A vampire hunter — who is half vampire — stalks her own kind to protect humans in Huntress.

In Black Dawn, Maggie stumbles upon an old Night World kingdom where the ruling vampire prince is both an enemy and an ally.

And Circle Daybreak hires Keller, a shapeshifting panther, to guard a new Wild Power in Witchlight. But when Keller falls in love with the Wild Power's soulmate, her love could destroy everything....

My Synopsis
In Huntress, Jez is the leader of a group who are all hunters. In this group is the handsome, annoying and troublesome Morgead. Jez and Morgead both insist that they hate each other. But do they really if they are soulmates? Meanwhile, the group is searching for four people, four Wild Powers. Four people who are to stand together when the apocalypse comes. They are destined to save the world and are more powerful than anybody or anything. They are very sought after and dangerous. Soon Jez discovers a terrible truth about herself that shatters her world. She is a half and half. A human and a vampire. She becomes confused about where she belongs. With humans or in the Night World? As the group continues to search for the Wild Powers, people are getting hurt, bad things are happening around the world, Jez and Morgead get tangled in a difficult love triangle and Jez happens upon very upsetting family discoveries. This story is action packed for sure. I was never bored. Every chapter was exciting.

In Black Dawn, Maggie, a human girl, learns about the death of her brother. To her, the story sounds completely false and she doesn't believe that he is actually dead. In hopes of uncovering the truth, Maggie follows her brother's girlfriend, Sylvia, to her home. She arrives at Sylvia's home realizing that there is a party going on, which is strange just after the death of her brother. Maggie follows Sylvia to her room and there, Sylvia drugs Maggie and kidnaps her.

Maggie wakes up in a cart/wagon being pulled by horses through mountains. There are also three other girls in the cart/wagon with her. They are all captives being taken to an old Night World kingdom where they will be slaves for the ruler, prince Delos. The four girls work together and get the cart to topple over, freeing then from the cart/wagon. They run in to the forest hoping to outrun the two men pursuing them. The girls get split up and Maggie is left with one sick girl. Soon the two men find the girls but they are saved by prince Delos. The prince is arrogant, beautiful and obviously strong since he is one of the sought after Wild Powers. The two learn that they are soulmates. Delos is not very happy about being soulmates with a slave and he leaves, promising that he will not help Maggie a second time. Soon the four girls realize that they must enter the kingdom as slaves if they are to survive and save the sick girl. Maggie is Delos's soulmate but now she is also his prisoner and she learns that soon all the slaves are in for a terrible fate. Will Delos save Maggie and the rest of the slaves from this terrible fate? Will Delos be used as a Wild Power? This story was so amazing! Talk about forbidden love and dangerous, sexy men. Again full of action and suspense.

In Witchlight, Keller is hired to find one Wild Power and bring her to safety. Without one of the four Wild Powers, the human world and possibly the Night World will end. Keller is a skilled shapeshifting panther and is aided by two other girls. Nissa, a vampire and Winnie, a witch. The three of them are the best and will do anything to protect the Wild Power and Witch Child Iliana. The Witch Child is destined to marry Prince of the First House of Shapeshifters so that the witches and shapeshifters will have an alliance. While shopping, Iliana is ambushed by the enemy. Keller, Nissa and Winnie fight to protect Iliana in the mall but they realize that one of the men is a Dragon, one of the most powerful types of shapeshifters in the world. Soon the three girls manage to get Iliana in a car and are driving toward the Circle Daybreak headquaters. By accident they also brought Galen, the Prince of the First House of Shapeshifters, who is also Keller's soulmate. Now the four of them must protect Iliana at all costs....but how can they do that if the enemy is stronger and better? Not to mention that Keller and Galen's love for each other could ruin the alliance between shapeshifters and witches. Will Iliana survive or will she be killed by the enemy? Will Keller and Galen destroy the alliance or will they allow Galen and Iliana to marry? Wow this story was fantastic. Every Night World story just keeps getting better and better!

Will the four Wild Powers be united to fight the apocalypse or will they fail to find the last Wild Power? If the apocalypse arrives.... everyone is doomed. Everything goes down in the conclusion to the Night World series Strange Fate. The release of the book is still unknown. You can learn about all of L.J Smith's books by going to: www.ljanesmith.net


In My Mailbox (4)

In My Mailbox was created by The Story Siren. Click here to learn more about it.

Briana: I got two books that have been on my wish list for a while, this week. I'm really excited to read them. New Movie Monday may be late this week because I have orientation today and it goes into tomorrow, so I can get the dorm experience. I got up at 6 AM and I just can't sleep anymore, I have extreme butterflies in my stomach! This is where I'll be living for the next 4-5 years! :)

Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr

Rule #3: Don't stare at invisible faeries.

Aislinn has always seen faeries. Powerful and dangerous, they walk hidden in mortal world. Aislinn fears their cruelty—especially if they learn of her Sight—and wishes she were as blind to their presence as other teens.

Rule #2: Don't speak to invisible faeries.

Now faeries are stalking her. One of them, Keenan, who is equal parts terrifying and alluring, is trying to talk to her, asking questions Aislinn is afraid to answer.

Rule #1: Don't ever attract their attention.

But it's too late. Keenan is the Summer King who has sought his queen for nine centuries. Without her, summer itself will perish. He is determined that Aislinn will become the Summer Queen at any cost—regardless of her plans or desires.

Suddenly none of the rules that have kept Aislinn safe are working anymore, and everything is on the line: her freedom; her best friend, Seth; her life; everything.

Faerie intrigue, mortal love, and the clash of ancient rules and modern expectations swirl together in Melissa Marr's stunning 21st century faery tale.

I've never read a book about faeries, but since I've heard nothing but great things about Wicked Lovely, I decided to give it a shot. I was kind of hesitant towards buying this mostly because I don't know if I like the whole faerie thing, but then again ... I thought wizards were stupid and now I love Harry Potter; and trust me I did not want to read about vampires when I picked up Twilight. But I came to adoring the both of them. Hopefully that's what happens with this series!

Question: Is there anyone else that didn't want to read about faeries and ended up loving this book? I'm just curious :)

Beastly by Alex Flinn

A beast. Not quite wolf or bear, gorilla or dog but a horrible new creature who walks upright—a creature with fangs and claws and hair springing from every pore. I am a monster.

You think I'm talking fairy tales? No way. The place is New York City. The time is now. It's no deformity, no disease. And I'll stay this way forever—ruined—unless I can break the spell.

Yes, the spell, the one the witch in my English class cast on me. Why did she turn me into a beast who hides by day and prowls by night? I'll tell you. I'll tell you how I used to be Kyle Kingsbury, the guy you wished you were, with money, perfect looks, and the perfect life. And then, I'll tell you how I became perfectly . . . beastly.

Okay, so I'm not going to lie ... I got this book because the movie looks like it's going to be crazy! Mary-Kate Olsen and Vanessa Hudgens, how cool of a mix is that? That's what mainly intrigued me, it's a match that I would never, ever expect to see on screen. I also got the book because Beauty & the Beast was my favorite Disney movie when I was young, and it still is. I can't wait to read about a modern Beauty & the Beast, I'm so excited!

Question: So, the cast is chosen! If you've read this book ... well, what do you think?! Do the actors/actresses look kind of similar to the character you had in your mind? I want to hear your thoughts, complaints and praises about this book!
DVDs (for New Movie Monday):

Rebecca Bloomwood just hit rock bottom. But she's never looked better....

Becky Bloomwood has a fabulous flat in London's trendiest neighborhood, a troupe of glamorous socialite friends, and a closet brimming with the season's must-haves. The only trouble is that she can't actually afford it -- not any of it.

This movie looks hilarious! I'm so happy there was a new release this week that I wanted to see!

Question: Did any of you read the books? If so, do you think they did a good job with the movie?

Frank Langella and Michael Sheen star in this drama based on the real-life television interviews David Frost conducted with discredited U.S. President Richard Nixon three years after Nixon was forced to resign from office.

I gotta say that I'm pretty excited to watch this. I don't know anything about the story to be honest ... even though I should. Maybe I learned about it and forgot it?
The trailer makes the movie look so intense and I'm really excited to see it.

Question: What did you think of this movie? Do you think the actors did a good job of playing their characters?

[ Arielle and Marisa may post later on :) ]

Sign The Petition! Bill of Rights for American Veterans

Hey guys, I'm not sure if this widget below will work, if not click here to sign the petition. This is really important, hopefully it will help so the veterans will have somewhere to live and health care. They served us so lets serve them!


Of the more than 1.7 million veterans of combat service in Iraq and Afghanistan, most are between 20-29 years old, according to the United States Department of Defense. Veterans who return from service face a number of challenges when attempting to resume their daily lives and reintegrate back into society. These may range from mental health issues, physical injuries, difficulty finding out what benefits they are entitled to, long waits to receive benefits they’ve earned, as well as many of the issues facing all young Americans like employment, debt, and education.

Additionally, when many of us think of “veterans” we think of older people from wars past that we saw in parades growing up, but the reality is there are hundreds of thousands of veterans in their 20’s. We need to put a new face on veterans and help elevate the issues our peers are facing after having returned from the war.


MTV worked with veterans’ groups across the country to identify priority actions that Elected Officials must take to help veterans returning from service. To mobilize support, BRAVE was created, The Bill of Rights for America’s Veterans.

By signing this petition to support BRAVE, individuals are demanding that our Elected Officials make BRAVE a reality. Our troops have fought for us, now it’s our turn to fight for them! You are asking Elected Officials to do the following:

Properly treat veterans’ mental health issues:

Every troop gets face-to-face screening from a mental health professional prior to deployment and within the first six (6) months of returning home from war.

Prevent homelessness among veterans:

Prevent young veterans and their families from falling into homelessness by creating 20,000 more permanent supportive housing units for very low-income veterans by December 31, 2009.

Give disabled veterans the benefits they have earned:

The number of troops with physical, psychological, and neurological wounds waiting for their benefits should be cut in half by December 31, 2009.

Fully fund our veterans’ hospitals:

Veterans’ hospitals should be fully funded for the 2010 fiscal year by September 20, 2009.

Compensate troops made to serve longer:

Troops on Stop Loss orders should receive an additional $1,500 / month in pay.


Friday, June 26, 2009


By Suzzane Collins

Published 2008

374 Pages

Rating: A+


Katniss is a 16-year-old girl living with her mother and younger sister in the poorest district of Panem, the remains of what used be the United States. Long ago the districts waged war on the Capitol and were defeated. As part of the surrender terms, each district agreed to send one boy and one girl to appear in an annual televised event called, "The Hunger Games." The terrain, rules, and level of audience participation may change but one thing is constant: kill or be killed. When her sister is chosen by lottery, Katniss steps up to go in her place.

(from back of book)


Here is my rant about this amazing book!

GO BUY IT!!! AND READ IT. ASAP! No joke. You absolutely need to read this book. If you like suspense, twists and turns, love, and adventure plus more, you will surely fall in love with it and will want to read it over and over again! Please, do yourself the favor and go buy it (or get it from the library or a friend) and read it! It will keep you wanting more and more every page you turn. It is such an amazing story about Katniss who volunteered herself to take part in the Hunger Games instead of her young sister, Prim. It will make you wish you had Katniss’ strength, determination, and fearlessness. And you will fall in love with Peeta (or Gale, whomever you prefer). I fell in love with Peeta, not because he is overly charming or devastatingly handsome, but because he is such a nice guy and he truly has a good heart. He makes you wish there was a guy like him. This book is such a different story from anything you have ever read, and it will make your heart jump with every twist, every kiss, and even every death.

Read The Book! :)

And tell us what you think if you have read it already!


This is our first "double review", maybe triple sooner or later. I am so excited to tell you how much I adore this book, so hopefully our reviews will convince you to go out and buy the book ASAP! Normally I don't like to pay for hardcovers, but this book is so worth it. This is just something you have to trust us on.

I don’t think I’ve ever hugged a book after reading it. Before now. Reading The Hunger Games was such a thrill and had me guessing the whole time. One chapter I was laughing, the next I was bawling my eyes out. Arielle is the one who actually recommended it to me and I’m so happy she did! This book is one I will never forget and I haven’t heard anything bad about it, I’ll be surprised when I do (if I do). Basically, READ THIS BOOK.


Gabrielle Zevin

Published 2007

304 Pages

Rating: C+

Reading the description on the back of this book in Barnes & Noble, I had to pick it up. It wasn't even an option. The storyline looked so amazing and I couldn't wait to read it! Unfortunately, I was kind of disapointed with this novel. The plot had a lot of potential but I just really didn't like the feel of the story.

Elsewhere is where 15-year-old Liz Hall ends up, after she has died. It is a place so like Earth, yet completely different from it. Here Liz will age backward from the day of her death until she becomes a baby again and returns to Earth. Is it possible that a life lived in reverse is no different from a life lived forward?

The story sets off with Elizabeth (Lizzie) Marie Hall, a fifteen year old that just realized she has died by getting hit by a car. She wakes up in a confused posititon, on a cruise ship with a semi-rude roommate. For days, she thinks she's dreaming until she meets her grandmother, Betty. Things start to look up a little for Lizzie when she meets her grandmother...

Relationships build, feelings are hurt; don't get me wrong, it's a good book. I think what I didn't like about it (besides the feel) is how the story didn't really go anywhere. It just kind of lingered for a while, though it got more exciting towards the end but I still wish something more exciting happened.

Even though I didn't enjoy this book as much as I wished I did, a lot of other people loved it. So give it a shot if you think you'll like it. Oh, by the way, theres talking dogs in "Elsewhere", which is awesome!


Wednesday, June 24, 2009

What's On Your Desk Wednesday (1)


Alright, so I don't actually have a desk, and the picture of my bookshelf came out really crappy. This is my chair in my room where I always set my book on when I'm not reading it. I guess this is good enough! There's usually something else on it, too, since I'm not the neatest girl on the world.

I forget who tagged me with this, it was a while ago, so if you're reading this and you're the one that tagged me, let me know. I'll put your name up!

Wishlist Wednesday (4)


What My Mother Doesn't Know by Sonya Sones

My name is Sophie.
This book is about me.
It tells
the heart-stoppingly riveting story
of my first love.
And also of my second.And, okay, my third love too.
It's not that I'm boy crazy.
It's just that even though
I'm almost fifteen
it's like
my mind
and my body
and my heart

just don't seem to be able to agree

on anything.

Yes, that's actually how the description is written, just in case you were wondering. I've heard from a friend at work that this book is absolutely hilarious, and I've been in the mood for something to make me laugh. Plus, the cover is so cute!

Have you read this book, if so, what did you think?


Willow by Julia Hoban

Seven months ago, on a rainy March night, sixteen year- old Willow's parents died in a horrible car accident. Willow was driving. Now her older brother barely speaks to her, her new classmates know her as the killer orphan girl, and Willow is blocking the pain by secretly cutting herself.

But when one boy —one sensitive, soulful boy—discovers Willow's secret, it sparks an intense relationship that turns the "safe" world Willow has created for herself upside down.

Told in an extraordinary fresh voice, Willow is an unforgettable novel about one girl's struggle to cope with tragedy, and one boy's refusal to give up on her.

I have heard some good things about this book, and I have also heard some not so good things. But my friend just read it and told me it was pretty good, so I really cant wait to read it! I actually just got the book from her but I am still putting it as my Wishlist Wednesday, since I still wish to read it soon! :)

I'm just wondering if anyone else has read it, and if they liked it or not!? I think it might be a love/or hate kind of thing. We will see!

Tuesday, June 23, 2009

New Moon Movie Tie-In

Briana: I think this poster is better than the first one! Actually, Idk ... it may be a tie haha. Jacob Black looks so amazing, so tan, so HOT (looks-wise and temp.-wise). Bella looks like she's pushing away from Jacob and she's so beautiful in the picture. I just adore this one.

Marisa: Wow. When I saw this poster I was amazed. It's so beautiful. Bella looks heartbroken and then there is Jacob there holding her together, looking protective and sexy. But I agree with Briana that she is pushing away from him too, maybe because of Edward. And I also agree with Briana that I think both posters are great. This poster is just so brilliant and so... sad. Just looking at Bella's face and how they're holding on to each other. Anyway I love it!!

Arielle: Oh.My.Gosh! I love this! It totally made my day! I really adore Jacob and I love him in this poster. He looks so protective over Bella and it is amazing! I didnt even notice Edward by the moon until I read a comment about it, he looks sooo creepy! I love Bella, I think she looks so innocent and lonely in this picture even though Jacob is trying to hold her and keep her safe. She looks so sad and I think its perfect. This poster is amazing! And I could look at it everyday! haha. :) Its great!

What are your thoughts?

Anatomy of a Boyfriend

Daria Snadowsky

Published 2008

272 Pages

Rating: C

I'm not going to lie, I wanted to read this book because I knew it would be a sexy, steamy read. I knew how graphic this book was going to be because in the book store I opened up to the middle of the book and definitely did not miss the extreme sexual activity. I swear, I'm not a pervert, but every girl wants to read something that they feel they shouldn't be reading ... right?

Before this all happened, the closest I'd ever come to getting physical with a guy was playing the board game Operation. Okay, so maybe that sounds pathetic, but it's not like there were any guys at my high school who I cared to share more than three words with, let alone my body.

Then I met Wes, a track star senior from across town. Maybe it was his soulful blue eyes, or maybe my hormones just started raging. Either way, I was hooked. And after a while, he was too. I couldn't believe how intense my feelings became, or the fact that I was seeing—and touching—parts of the body I'd only read about in my Gray's Anatomy textbook. You could say Wes and I experienced a lot of firsts together that spring. It was scary. It was fun. It was love.

And then came the fall.

Basically, this book was exactly what I thought it was going to be, nothing more. Girl meets boy, they talk and flirt, eventually get together, and finally have sex. I just didn't feel much in this story, it was kind of plain and boring. It hardly brought out any emotion in me, it didn't make me feel for the character. I'm sure other people would disagree with me, but that's just how I feel.

Dominique made some really stupid choices and I would definitely not think of her to be any kind of role model. She was constantly thinking about Wes and it wasn't the cute "I miss him so much, I love him!", it was mostly just her thinking about how much she wanted to get into his pants and how to do that. I really shouldn't be complaining though since that's basically what the cover and synopsis describes.

Even though I didn't enjoy this book that much, I'm sure a lot of others will, but beware: The sex scenes are very, VERY detailed. I recommend you be at least 15-16 to read this book, depending on your level of maturity.


Monday, June 22, 2009


Laurie Halse Anderson

Published 2007

250 Pages

Rating: B

High school senior Tyler Miller used to be the kind of guy who faded into the background. But since he got busted for doing graffiti on the school, and spent the summer doing outdoor work to pay for it, he stands out like you wouldn't believe. His new physique attracts the attention of queen bee Bethany Milbury, who just so happens to be his father's boss's daughter, the sister of his biggest enemy— and Tyler's secret crush. And that sets off a string of events and changes that have Tyler questioning his place in school, in his family, and in the world. Soon his life is a roller coaster, with fantastic highs, devastating lows, and no seat belt to protect him. He has no choice. He’ll have to ride it out…

(taken from back of book)

Okay, so this book got a B because although I want to rate it higher, I know that some people wouldn’t find it as great as I did and I wanted to be fair. Ha.

This book is great to me because it is in a guys point of view, and I love that! It is always very interesting to me to read books set in the POV of the opposite sex. And I think this book really captures the mind of a guy. [Warning: It gets into some detail that might not be suitable for young ages.]

Tyler is the guy that nobody wants to be and that nobody wants to be seen with. But that was then, this is now. Now that he has been working at landscaping place for the summer, he is buff and tan. Something he has never been, and something he never thought he would become. But being on probation hasn’t given Tyler much chance of a social life except hanging out with his best friend Yoda. During his last week of junior year at his high school, he sprayed painted the school and got caught…that wasn’t part of his plan. Luckily he didn’t have to go to juvy, but instead do many, many hours of community service and get a job to pay for the damage.

Tyler Miller. He is the “bad-ass” at his school. Not that many people trust him. They are either afraid of him, or are just too good to acknowledge his existence. Except for the one and only beautiful, totally not his type…Bethany Milbury, the daughter of his father’s boss. Yeah…definitely off limits! But that doesn’t stop Tyler. He has wanted her for a long time, and now that she notices him, he won’t let her get away.

I really suggest you give this book a try. I love it. And reading a book narrated by the mind of a teenage guy is very, very interesting! :)


New Movie Monday (4)

Usually when I go to the rental store, I look at their little magazine they have to show the New Releases for that week. Usually there's at least one movie that I really want to see. Usually I don't have to actually look around for a movie to rent. This week was unusual. I had absolutely no idea what I wanted to see. I was even considering getting The Haunting of Molly Hartley and The Uninvited ... even though I always have nightmares after even the slightest scary movie. Finally, I found two movies! I'm so happy that I didn't have to scare myself to death with horror movies :).

Director: Scott Derrickson

Starring: Keanu Reeves; Jennifer Connelly; Jaden Smith

Genre: Drama/Sci-Fi

MPAA: PG-13 (for some sci-fi disaster images and violence.)

Rating: C-

Once again, I judge a DVD by it's cover and assume that it's a world disaster movie. WRONG. I clearly need to look more into the descriptions on the back of the movie.

Epic action and mind-blowing effects rock the planet in this thrilling reinvention of the sci-fi classic, THE DAY THE EARTH STOOD STILL. Keanu Reeves portrays Klaatu, an otherwordly being whose arrival on Earth triggers an unstoppable series of events that threaten all of mankind. In a desperate attempt to save humanity, governments and scientists race to unravel the mystery behind the visitor's appearance. When a woman (Jennifer Connelly) and her young stepson (Jaden Smith) find themselves embroiled in the alien's plan, they become the world's only hope to stave off apocalyptic annihilation.

It's barely a world disaster movie to be honest. The pictures involving building being blown apart, well that's about 5 minutes of the movie. The rest is honestly just Keanu Reeves looking at Jennifer Connelly in a weird way. It's not that I have anything against alien types of movies either. I love E.T., I love Independance Day, I love K-Pax! I just really didn't like this movie. My rating is probably too high to be honest.

EDIT: The only thing I really liked about this movie was the adorable Jaden Smith. He's a good little actor too!

Director: John Patrick Shanley

Starring: Meryl Streep; Philip Seymour Hoffman; Amy Adams
Genre: Drama

MPAA: PG-13 (for thematic material)

Rating: A

I was kind of nervous to watch this movie to be honest. It looks like it can be kind of boring and if they had any other actors/actresses than these, I think it would've definitely been boring.

Sister Aloysius Beauvier (Streep), the rigid and fear inspiring principal of the Saint Nicholas Church School, suffers an extreme dislike for the progressive and popular parish priest Father Flynn (Hoffman). Looking for wrongdoing in every corner, Sister Aloysius believes she's uncovered the ultimate sin when she hears Father Flynn has taken a special interest in a troubled boy. But without proof, the only thing certain is doubt.

Okay, the first thing I have to say is how surprised and impressed I was by Amy Adams! I've only seen her in The Wedding Date and Enchanted and her performance was always good, but always light. I was suprised by the intensity she brought to this movie along with Meryl Streep and Philip Seymour Hoffman.

It was kind of funny watching this because I went to a Catholic school and the nuns were never like that ... actually, we only had one nun. She didn't even teach. So it was very different, but so familiar at the same time. The school I went to was St. Aloysius (Meryl Streep's name), our rival school was St. Boniface (they mention it in the movie), the nun's name at my school was Sister James (Amy Adam's name), my gym teachers name was Mr. Flynn (Philip Seymour Hoffman's name). The church they went to looked like my church on the inside. And the gym they played basketball looked exactly like the gym where I played basketball in, in the catholic school.

Other than that, which you really didn't even need to know(sorry if I made you read all of that), I really enjoyed the movie. It reminded me of Perfect Match by Jodi Picoult.

Did you watch either of these? If so, did you like them? I'd love to hear your opinions.


Sunday, June 21, 2009

Along for the Ride

Sarah Dessen

Published 2009

383 Pages

Rating: A

Riding a bike is only one of the many things Auden’s missed out on. Even before her parents’ divorce, she was cast in the role of little adult, never making waves, focusing on academics to please her demanding mother.

Now she’s spending the summer before college in the tiny beach town of Colby with her father and his new wife and baby. A job in a trendy boutique introduces her to the world of girls, their friendships, conversations, romances. And then there’s Eli, an intriguing loner. A former star on the bike circuit and a fellow insomniac, Eli introduces Auden to the nocturnal world of Colby. Together they embark on a quest: for Auden, to experience the carefree teenage life she’s been denied; for Eli, to put a tragic episode behind him. Combine two lonely people with a charming beach town and an endless supply of long summer nights, and just about anything can happen.

(taken from book flap)

I adore this book.

Sarah Dessen has done it again. She has captured everything I always want in a book. Family. Friends. Love. Vacations. And a great message/meaning to be learned and remembered.

Auden is from a broken family. Her parents split up when she was 16, she is now 18, but it still was hard for her to handle, especially since her brother was never there to comfort her and her parents seemed oblivious to her hurting. Her parents were both part of the academics, both book writers and both very hard working people. Auden grew up loving school and loving learning, and she would let anything get in the way of that. She grew up without a normal childhood and without many friends, her life revolved around doing better in school and pleasing her parents, even if they rarely showed they noticed her achievements. After her parents split up she lived with her mother and her father moved near the beach were he soon met Heidi, her now stepmom. Heidi is always emailing Auden to come visit them at the beach, so she can meet her new baby sister, Thisbe. And for once, Auden decides to go, she wants to spend time with her dad before she goes to college in the fall.

But when Auden gets to where her father lives, a little beach town called Colby, she is in for a real surprise. Her father is working on a new book and is so caught up in it, he cant find time for his own daughter. And Heidi is constantly dealing with Thisbe who constantly cries. Auden doesn’t know what might happen that summer and she isn’t expecting what happens to her.

She may finally be able to get her childhood back before adulthood and reality set in. With a little help from Colby residents and her new found quest, she is starting to become the girl she always knew she wanted to be but was too afraid to tell anyone.

This book is one of a kind, but so are all of Sarah Dessen’s other books. I love this book. I love all the characters and I absolutely love the setting. It made me want to go to the beach and just relax and have some fun, while meeting cute boys and trying new things. So definitely pick this book up if you need a great summer read, its fantastic!


In My Mailbox (3)

In My Mailbox was created by The Story Siren. Click here to learn more about it.


These three books I got at a half-priced book store. One book is one that I have wanted to read for a very long time. One is a book I got for my dad, but really I got it for me to read after he is done. And the other is one that just came out and I couldn’t wait to read.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

It’s just a small story really, about among other things: a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist-fighter, and quite a lot of thievery. . . .

Set during World War II inGermany, Markus Zusak’s groundbreaking new novel is the story of Liesel Meminger, a foster girl living outside ofMunich. Liesel scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement before he is marched to Dachau.

This book was on my wishlist last week and I found it for $7, so I bought it and I hope to read it soon!! I have so many library books to read but I hope to get to this one very soon! It looks amazing!

Salem’s Lot by Stephen King

'Salem's Lot is a small New England town with white clapboard houses, tree-lined streets, and solid church steeples. That summer in 'salem's Lot was a summer of homecoming and return; spring burned out and the land lying dry, crackling underfoot. Late that summer, Ben Mears returned to 'salem's Lot hoping to cast out his own devils and found instead a new, unspeakable horror. A stranger had also come to the Lot, a stranger with a secret as old as evil, a secret that would wreak irreparable harm on those he touched and in turn on those they loved. All would be changed forever: Susan, whose love for Ben could not protect her; Father Callahan, the bad priest who put his eroded faith to one last test; and Mark, a young boy who sees his fantasy world become reality and ironically proves the best equipped to handle the relentless nightmare of 'Salem's Lot. This is a rare novel, almost hypnotic in its unyielding suspense, which builds to a climax of classic terror. You will not forget the town of 'salem's Lot nor any of the people who used to live there.

I bought this book because it was cheap, $5, and because a few weeks back my good friend told me it was a really great book and one of Stephen Kings best. Oh and it has vampires, so I was kinda hooked from there.

Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen

It’s been so long since Auden slept at night. Ever since her parents’ divorce—or since the fighting started. Now she has the chance to spend a carefree summer with her dad and his new family in the charming beach town where they live.

A job in a clothes boutique introduces Auden to the world of girls: their talk, their friendship, their crushes. She missed out on all that, too busy being the perfect daughter to her demanding mother. Then she meets Eli, an intriguing loner and a fellow insomniac who becomes her guide to the nocturnal world of the town. Together they embark on parallel quests: for Auden, to experience the carefree teenage life she’s been denied; for Eli, to come to terms with the guilt he feels for the death of a friend.

In her signature pitch-perfect style, Sarah Dessen explores the hearts of two lonely people learning to connect.

I love Sarah Dessen, and since this was her newest book, I just had to have it! And I am so glad I bought it! I read it this weekend and I am currently working on a review for it! So stay tuned!

[click HERE for the review on Along for the Ride]


All of the books that I got this week are a part of a series, so if you haven't read the House of Night Series, then beware that the descriptions will contain spoilers. You have been warned :).

Chosen (House of Night Series #3) by P.C. Cast & Kristin Cast

Bloodlust and dark forces are at work at the House of Night, and fledgling vampyre Zoey Redbird’s adventures at the school take a mysterious turn. Those who appear to be friends are turning out to be enemies. And, oddly enough, sworn enemies are also turning into friends. So begins the gripping third installment of this “highly addictive series” (Romantic Times), in which Zoey’s mettle will be tested like never before. Her best friend, Stevie Rae, is undead and struggling to maintain a grip on her humanity. Zoey doesn’t have a clue how to help her, but she does know that anything she and Stevie Rae discover must be kept secret from everyone else at the House of Night, where trust has become a rare commodity. Speaking of rare, Zoey finds herself in the very unexpected and rare position of having three boyfriends. Mix a little bloodlust into the equation and the situation has the potential to spell social disaster. Just when it seems things couldn’t get any tougher, vampyres start turning up dead. Really dead. But, as Zoey and her friends find out, things are not always what they seem…

After reading the second book in this series, I
to go out and buy Chosen (#3) and Untamed (#4). These books are highly addictive and they're taking me a day or two to finish one.

Untamed (House of Night Series #4) by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast

Life sucks when your friends are pissed at you. Just ask Zoey Redbird – she’s become an expert on suckiness. In one week she has gone from having three boyfriends to having none, and from having a close group of friends who trusted and supported her, to being an outcast. Speaking of friends, the only two Zoey has left are undead and unMarked. And Neferet has declared war on humans, which Zoey knows in her heart is wrong. But will anyone listen to her? Zoey's adventures at vampyre finishing school take a wild and dangerous turn as loyalties are tested, shocking true intentions come to light, and an ancient evil is awakened in PC and Kristin Cast's spellbinding fourth House of Night novel.

Once again, after reading the second book in the series, I
to go out and buy the 3rd and 4th book. These books keep getting better and better.

Hunted (House of Night Series #5) by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast

The good news: Zoey’s friends have her back again and Stevie Rae and the red fledglings aren’t Neferet’s secrets any longer. The bad news: Ancient evil with the face of an angel has been let loose – that and various other nasties (whose faces aren’t so angelic). Grandma Redbird is in trouble. Heath is in trouble. The House of Night is in trouble. Okay, let’s face it – Zoey’s whole world is in trouble! But when the trouble comes from a being who appears to be beauty personified, will the world believe it? Especially when only a teenager and a group of misfits are the only ones who really understand the danger he brings. Will Zoey have the strength and wisdom to reveal the truth? Especially when, in the House of Night, the truth is often hard to come by…

I just started this book last night after I finished Untamed. These books go by so fast! I don't know how I'll be able to take it when I have to wait for the next book to come out.

(for New Movie Monday):

Epic action and mind-blowing effects rock the planet in this thrilling reinvention of the sci-fi classic, THE DAY THE EARTH STOOD STILL. Keanu Reeves portrays Klaatu, an otherwordly being whose arrival on Earth triggers an unstoppable series of events that threaten all of mankind. In a desperate attempt to save humanity, governments and scientists race to unravel the mystery behind the visitor's appearance. When a woman (Jennifer Connelly) and her young stepson (Jaden Smith) find themselves embroiled in the alien's plan, they become the world's only hope to stave off apocalyptic annihilation.

There was a bunch of hype around this movie so I decided to rent it. It looked interesting enough and reminded me of Independance Day.

Sister Aloysius Beauvier (Streep), the rigid and fear inspiring principal of the Saint Nicholas Church School, suffers an extreme dislike for the progressive and popular parish priest Father Flynn (Hoffman). Looking for wrongdoing in every corner, Sister Aloysius believes she's uncovered the ultimate sin when she hears Father Flynn has taken a special interest in a troubled boy. But without proof, the only thing certain is doubt.

This movie looks incredible and also reminds me of Perfect Match by Jodi Picoult. I'm really excited to watch this and come on, if Meryl Streep is in it ... there's hardly anything to lose.

Wednesday, June 17, 2009

Wishlist Wednesday (3)


The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

It’s just a small story really, about among other things: a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist-fighter, and quite a lot of thievery. . . .

Set during World War II in Germany, Markus Zusak’s groundbreaking new novel is the story of Liesel Meminger, a foster girl living outside ofMunich. Liesel scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement before he is marched to Dachau.

This is an unforgettable story about the ability of books to feed the soul.

I have heard so many amazing things about this book and I always want to buy it when I am at Barnes and Noble and I totally would if I didn’t already have 30 books sitting at home waiting to be read.

Markus Zusak is a great writer, he has written I Am The Messenger that both Briana and I have read and which we think is a great book [one of us should do a review on that soon]. He is an award winning author and definitely needs to write more books!

I am especially attracted to this book, The Book Thief, because it is set in Germany during World War II. I love learning about the Holocaust and World War II, it is always very interesting and also very sad, to hear the troubles too many people had to go through. And it is even more trying to hear about the struggles many teenage youths faced during those times.

I am hoping to pick up this book sooner or later and read it, because it truly does look amazing and a fantastic read.


Enthusiasm by Polly Shulman

"There is little more likely to exasperate a person of sense than finding herself tied by affection and habit to an Enthusiast." Julie knows from bitter experience: her best friend, Ashleigh, is an Enthusiast. Ashleigh's current fancy is also Julie's own passion, Pride and Prejudice, and the heroine's quest for True Love. And so Julie finds herself swept along with Ashleigh, dressed in vintage frocks and sneaking into a dance at the local all-boys' prep school. There they discover several likely candidates for True Love, including the handsome and sensitive Parr. And Julie begins to wonder if maybe this obsession of Ashleigh's isn't so bad after all. . . .

I just think this book looks so cute! First of all, the cover is super adorable. Stephenie Meyer recommended the book. The last book I read that Stephenie Meyer recommended was The Hunger Games and I was amazed.

I haven't really heard anything bad about this book either, so hopefully I'll get it soon!

Tuesday, June 16, 2009

Add-ons to In My Mailbox (2)

Arielle added the books that she received if you'd like to see them here. She got a really good selection of books this week so I suggest you check them out!


Brooke Taylor

Published 2008

308 Pages

Rating: B

1. Sing with Bleeder Valve

2. Get a tattoo

3. Work things out with Shay

4. Confront D.

5. Tell Serena.

Kori Kitzler is the "dark angel" of her high school: beautiful, mysterious, the subject of rumors. Serena Moore is just an average girl, until a run-in with Kori in the bathroom in eighth grade. When Kori tells her that they are more alike than she thinks, Serena is instantly intrigued, and their fateful friendship begins. When the girls are asked to complete a writing assignment listing the five things they would want to happen--their five ways to tempt fate--Serena doesn't take it seriously. But when something tragic happens to Kori, Serena is left with her loneliness and Kori's five things. Can Serena complete her best friend's tasks, or will she leave her list undone? Undone is a striking debut novel about friendship, family, and the secrets we keep from the people to whom we are closest.

(from jacket flap)

I bought this book at a used book store for about $5. And I must say, it was one of the best buys I have gotten there. It is such an interesting read and I never really knew what to expect next.

Serena is the best fried to Kori, the eccentric, totally out of the ordinary girl who everyone talks about, either good or bad. Whereas Serena is the tag along, her and Kori became friends at a young age and have been inseparable ever since. Not only are Kori and Serena always together, getting into trouble or getting out of trouble, but Serena has started acting like Kori. Trying to be as brave and as daring as her and even dying her hair. Everyone says they look alike and they even have the same birthdays, they were destined to be friends.

Serena’s life gets turned upside down when Kori’s life is taken away and Serena is left to fend for herself and determine her fate alone. Serene encounters strange situations that she would never put herself through, but she knows Kori would, so she trys new things, meets new people, and ultimately betters herself because of it.

I actually really like this book. I love that it is real and so similar to ups and downs of life as a teenager. Its about best friends and how far one will go to be there for the other, whether they are actually really there or not.


Best Foot Forward

Joan Bauer

Published 2005

183 Pages

Rating: B-

I’m a real ace at arguing with myself.

Take a subject like Tanner Cobb.

On the one hand, he stole.

On the other, he helped his little brother read and count.

Then again, he stole the shoes in front of his little brother.

But, he brought the shoes back and offered to make up for what he’d done.

My mind said, Don’t trust him.

My instincts said, He might not be all bad.

Inconsistencies are a royal pain; the older you get, the more they multiply.

(taken from back of book)

After a life altering summer on the road, Jenna Boller is dripping with newfound maturity. She has a job she loves at Gladstone Shoes, a best friend who makes her laugh, and a dysfunctional family she’s learning how to handle. Jenna feels ready for anything – until Tanner Cobb, a guy with a past, a police record, and dangerously good looks, walks into her life. And that’s just the beginning.

Jenna likes to be in control, but that’s not easy when she’s suddenly surrounded by crises, including a shoe empire on the verge of crumbling. Tanner’s street smarts seem to be what Jenna needs, but can she trust him when the going gets tough?

(taken from front flap)

I don’t plan on talking much about this book since the two synopsis’ above tell about the book pretty well. And of course I don’t want to give anything away!

This book is the sequel to Joan Bauer’s other book called Rules of the Road. [You can read my review on that book here.] Technically it is the sequel but I think you could read this book alone without having read the first book. This book kind of recaps what the first book is about and goes more into the struggle between Gladstone Shoe Stores and the company being bought out and ruined by Mrs. Gladstone’s son.

Jenna is again struggling to make her life less hectic, in the first book she was dealing with her fathers alcoholism and the road trip with Mrs. Gladstone to Texas, but in this one, she is back at her home in Chicago and back at work before summer ends and school begins.

Tanner Cobb steals shoes from Gladstones. He returns them. And ends up making up for what he did by working in the back of the store stocking shoes. Jenna doesn’t think this is a good idea but after awhile, she finds that Tanner could teach her a thing or two about life and how to deal with the real world.

It’s a quick read and you should definitely try it, especially if you have read Rules of the Road.


Monday, June 15, 2009

New Movie Monday (3)

This wasn't the best week I've had (DVD-wise). Not that it was bad or anything, but it just didn't blow me away. Sorry the post is so late, I was finishing Betrayed by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast. There will be reviews up, me and Arielle are planning on doing a double review for The Hunger Games, maybe a triple if Marisa wants to join in.

Director: M. Night Shyamalan

Starring: Mark Wahlberg; Zooey Deschanel; John Leguizamo

Genre: Drama/Horror

MPAA: R (for violent and disturbing images)

Rating: C+

I really love world disaster movies and looking at the cover, you would think that this movie is kind of world disaster, right? Wrong. I mean, I guess you can look at it that way, but when I started watching it ... I didn't want to continue. I have a weak stomach and there was some gore right in the beginning. So BEWARE.

The Happening is a 2008 American horror film written, co-produced and directed by M. Night Shyamalan that follows a man and his family as they try to escape from an inexplicable natural disaster. The plot revolves around a mysterious plant neurotoxin that causes any person coming into contact with it to commit suicide. The protagonist, a science teacher named Elliot Moore (Mark Wahlberg), attempts to escape from the substance with his wife and friends as hysteria grips the East Coast of the United States.

This movie was interesting, but I can't say it moved me in any way or changed my life. That's what I love about watching a movie or reading a book, I love how they can change your whole way of thinking. This movie does get mildly creepy, just in case you try to stay away from that.

Director: Will Gluck

Starring: Nicholas D'Agosto; Eric Christian Olsen; Sarah Roemer

Genre: Comedy

MPAA: PG-13 (for crude and sexual content throughout, partial nudity, language and some teen partying.)

Rating: C

This movie looked hilarious from the trailers and I was really excited to see it. I wish I hadn't gotten excited though, because I was pretty bored to be honest.

Nicholas D'Agosto and Eric Christian Olsen headline this teen comedy concerning two high-school football players who attempt to avoid another summer at football camp by becoming cheerleaders. Out on the gridiron, Gerald R. Ford High School students Shawn Colfax (D'Agosto) and Nick Brady (Olsen) are star players. But summer is drawing near, and this year neither Shawn nor Nick can stomach the prospect of spending their sun-soaked months lunging at tackling dummies and getting berated by their coach. Fortunately, Nick has a brilliant solution to their current dilemma: sign up for cheerleading camp and spend the summer surrounded by gorgeous women. But head cheerleader Carly (Sarah Roemer) can see right through them, and when Shawn falls head over heels for her, their genius plan hits an unexpected hitch.

What else can I say? I didn't enjoy the movie as much as I thought I would ... but Nicholas D'Agosto is some serious eye candy, you have to admit.