Home    Reviews    Review Policy    About BAM    Double Dose

Friday, August 27, 2010

CSN Preview

Hello lovelies! CSN offered to let me host a giveaway on their behalf for a $60 gift card for any of their stores, and they have A LOT!

As a college student, I really try to make my dorm feel like home and with a modern chair the room really has a cool feeling to it. I'd love to get this chair even though it doesn't match anything in my room!

Anyways, check out all they have to offer at http://www.csn.com/ and I'm sure there's at least 20 things you'll have your eye on by the time you're done looking.

Wednesday, August 25, 2010

Generation Dead by Daniel Waters

Generation Dead by Daniel Waters

Publisher: Hyperion, May 2008

# of pages: 400

Source: Library

Edition: Hardcover

Genre: Young Adult

Rating: C+


Phoebe is just your typical goth girl with a crush. He’s strong and silent…and dead.

All over the country, a strange phenomenon is happening. Some teenagers who die aren't staying dead. They are coming back to life, but they are no longer the same—they stutter, and their reactions to everything are slower. Termed "living impaired" or "differently biotic," they are doing their best to fit into a society that doesn’t want them.

Fitting in is hard enough when you don’t have the look or attitude, but when almost everyone else is alive and you’re not, it’s close to impossible. The kids at Oakvale High don’t want to take classes or eat in the cafeteria next to someone who isn’t breathing. And there are no laws that exist to protect the differently biotic from the people who want them to disappear—for good.

With her pale skin and Goth wardrobe, Phoebe has never run with the popular crowd. But no one can believe it when she falls for Tommy Williams, the leader of the dead kids. Not her best friend, Margi, whose fear of the differently biotic is deeply rooted in guilt over the past. And especially not her neighbor, Adam, the star of the football team. Adam has just realized his feelings for Phoebe run much deeper than just friendship. He would do anything for her, but what if protecting Tommy is the one thing that would make her happy?


I really wish I liked this book more than I did! It took me forever to read, a week and a half I believe... which is usually kind of long for me.

The concept was really interesting and I was so excited to read it, but the plot just didn't do it for me. Nothing really caught my interest enough to make me keep reading, I basically just kept reading because I have to review Passing Strange, which is the 3rd book in the series and I'd really like to be updated on the first two books.

The characters were fun and lovable, but I didn't have that connection that I wish to have with every character I read about. Phoebe was strong and I liked that, but her personality was just as boring as the color of all of her clothes, black.

I know this is a short review and I'm sorry for that, but I honestly have nothing else to say about this book. I hope I like the second one better!

Tuesday, August 24, 2010

Arson by Estevan Vega

Arson by Estevan Vega

May 4th 2010 by Tate Publishing

Pages: 318 pages

Rating: B-


Before now, three things were true: he both loved and despised his grandmother; his life was going nowhere; and he was alone. But when a strange girl-who feels more normal behind a mask than inside her own skin-moves in next door, Arson hopes to find something he's never had: purpose. Using what he fears the most about himself, Arson must face his consuming past and confront the nightmare that is present as he walks the fine line between boy and monster. Dark, moody, and breathtakingly relevant, Arson, the chilling chronicle of an isolated boy with unimaginable ability, is sure to ignite the hearts and minds of a new generation.


I have very mixed thoughts about Arson. I'm still not quite sure if I enjoyed the novel or if it just fell flat for me.

To start, this is the first novel by Vega that I've read so I wasn't too sure about his style of writing or if I would like the book. The summary did intrigue me though, so I gave the book a shot. Arson started off strong and I was eager to read on. The main character, Arson, was troubled and had secrets that I yearned to know more about. I thought he was kind and had a strong heart especially with the guilt he deals with throughout the book. His ability to create fire also adds more spark (no pun intended ;D ) to his personality.

As you read further into the book, things get a little bit odd, for example the way his grandmother acts around him. She is definitely not loving or sane in my opinion but the reasoning behind that does gets explained. I also thought that although Arson started off well, the development and plot of the book were very poor. The middle section of the book really had no point to it except maybe to emphasize the feelings Emery and Arson were developing for each other but that dragged on a bit too long for my taste. As for the conclusion of the book, it was excellent. There was excitement and twists in the plot that I totally didn't see coming and Vega ended the book with an awesome cliffhanger!

To finish, I wouldn't say that Arson was great but it was a good book. It's worth it to read it when you have the time.

CSN Spine Bookcase Review

Hello my loves! I was lucky enough to get a bookcase from CSN to review! As some of you may know, I'm in college and I just moved into my dorm yesterday, and dorms are NOT big at all. It's a challenge to find room for everything you brought and the book shelves they have to not fit my requirments :P

Here's a picture of the room itself (my side) so you can see how small it is.

And here's a picture of my lovely bookcase.

And here's a picture of how well the bookcase fits in with my other furniture.

The bookcase is incredible, it was actually fun to put together (not hard at all), and the shipping was amazing. It took 2 days for the bookcase to get to my house and did I mention FREE shipping? Pretty awesome.

Saturday, August 21, 2010

In My Mailbox (38)

In My Mailbox was created by The Story Siren. Click here to learn more about it.


For Review:

The Jumbee by Pamela Keyes

The Jumper Chronicles by W.C. Peever

Kiss of Life (Generation Dead #2) by Daniel Waters

So what did you guys get in your mailboxes? Let me know in a comment so I can come see your post! :)

Thursday, August 19, 2010

Book Blogger Hop (4)

Hey hoppers! Welcome to our blog! :) I hope you enjoy although we haven't really had the time to post much this week.... and I'm STILL reading Generation Dead. It's taking me long enough huh?

Question: How many blogs do you follow?

Answer: Oh wow... I think around 200 or so. There are so many awesome blogs out there, I just can't help it! How about you guys? Let me know through the comments or leave a link to your blog!

Sunday, August 15, 2010

In My Mailbox (37)

In My Mailbox was created by The Story Siren. Click here to learn more about it.


Good Reads Swap:

Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty

Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

Barnes and Noble:

World War Z by Max Brooks (for school)

2010-2011 Planner! (for school... I love planners! I probably would fail out of school without one! :P)


Don't Judge a Girl by Her Cover by Ally Carter (I have the 2nd and 3rd book, but still don't have the 1st!)


Over the Moon by Diane Daniels

**That's it for books this week!! What did you guys get?

Thursday, August 12, 2010

Book Blogger Hop (3)

Hey there hoppers!! :) Welcome to BAM Book Reviews! Just to let ya'll know, I'll be reviewing an awesome spine bookcase from CSN this week! I'm so excited to put it together and see how it works with my books (including textbooks) yuck. I'll be bringing it to my dorm at school where it's very, very tight.

Question: How many books do you have on your TBR shelf?

Answer: This is embarrasing... over 60...

How about you guys? Leave me a link to your blog so I can check it out! :)

Wednesday, August 11, 2010

Wishlist Wednesday (27)

Hello everyone! :) I haven't done a Wishlist Wednesday in forever and I thought I'd change it up a bit. Usually I just pick random books that I've had my eye on. From now on, I'll actually be picking books from my Barnes and Noble wish list. I'm going to start from the bottom of the list, which are books I picked out as early as 2008.

To Catch a Pirate by Jade Parker

Once caught, it’s harder still to let a pirate go
When Annalisa Townsend’s ship is set upon by pirates in search of her father’s treasure, one of the crew, James Sterling, discovers her in the hold. When he moves to take her necklace, she begs him not to, as it is all she has left of her mother. He accepts a kiss in exchange for the necklace. “A fair trade, m’lady,” he tells her afterward, before disappearing.
A year later, with a forged letter of marque, Annalisa is intent on hunting down the wretched James Sterling and reclaiming her father’s treasure from him. But now she’s in danger of him stealing something far more vulnerable this time: her heart.

PS: Let me know what you thought of this book if you've read it! I'd love to know!

Monday, August 9, 2010

Change of Heart by Jodi Picoult

Change of Heart by Jodi Picoult

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

# of pages: 352

Source: Gift

Edition: ARC

Genre: Adult Fiction

Rating: C-


Can we save ourselves, or do we rely on others to do it? Is what we believe always the truth?

One moment June Nealon was happily looking forward to years full of laughter and adventure with her family, and the next, she was staring into a future that was as empty as her heart. Now her life is a waiting game. Waiting for time to heal her wounds, waiting for justice. In short, waiting for a miracle to happen.

For Shay Bourne, life holds no more surprises. The world has given him nothing, and he has nothing to offer the world. In a heartbeat, though, something happens that changes everything for him. Now, he has one last chance for salvation, and it lies with June's eleven-year-old daughter, Claire. But between Shay and Claire stretches an ocean of bitter regrets, past crimes, and the rage of a mother who has lost her child.

Would you give up your vengeance against someone you hate if it meant saving someone you love? Would you want your dreams to come true if it meant granting your enemy's dying wish?


I think I'm done with Adult Fiction for quite a while. I gave it a shot mostly because I was embarrased to still be reading YA. I'm 19 now and I thought it was time for me to at least try to read something that's meant for my age group. I don't care anymore though. I love YA and I won't let something as little as age keep me from it.

I liked Change of Heart at first... it was pretty good and very interesting. The book had alternating points of view from four different characters, which was the biggest thrill of all, unfortunately.

I've been reading this book for about 2 weeks and I've only gotten to page 158. I can't possibly read any more of this book right now. Maybe I'll return to it someday, but as of right now, it's absolutely tedious.

The plot won't move so that means the pages won't either... because I keep falling asleep when I try to read it... Come on Jodi Picoult: I loved your book Perfect Match! It was one of my first reviews (I bet that's easy to tell... not my best writing.) hehe. I have two other books by her that I haven't read yet: The Pact and My Sister's Keeper. I've heard wonderful things about both and hopefully I will like them a lot more than Change of Heart!

Sunday, August 8, 2010

Book Blogger Hop (2) & Winner of Salvaged by Stefne Miller

First of all, the winner of Salvaged by Stefne Miller was kjovus! I sent them an email and if they don't get back to me within 48 hours, I'll choose another winner!

Happy belated Friday everyone! I hope everyone is enjoying their weekend, I spent most of mine watching Gossip Girl :P Season 3 was pretty amazing and heartbreaking. The end was just wow and I can't wait until Season 4.

For all of the hoppers, welcome! I hope you enjoy my blog and make sure to leave a comment so I can come visit yours!

Question: Do you listen to music when you read? If so, what are your favorite reading tunes?

Answer: Not really. Sometimes I'll have the TV on pretty low but I find music to be distracting for some reason.

Saturday, August 7, 2010

CSN Review Teaser!

Hello my lovely readers! :) So as some of you may know, I went on a cruise this summer to the bahamas and a few other places. The only thing that really bugged me is when I picked up my luggage right after leaving the ship, it was so hard to find! All of the luggage looked the same and I wish I had a different pattern or color to make it stand out. Well, I couldn't find any cute luggage in the department stores I went to... but CSN has tons of different kinds of luggage that I wish I knew about.

They have AMAZINGLY cute luggage that I want to get my hands on! Like this adorable pink one...

Or this fierce giraffe print one!

So go ahead and take a peak at what CSN has to offer! They have over 200 stores to choose from also!

Me? I'll be reviewing a bookcase since I have no more room left for my precious books :(

Infinity (Chronicles of Nick, #1) by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Sherrilyn Kenyon

Published May 2010

448 pages



At fourteen, Nick Gautier thinks he knows everything about the world around him. Streetwise, tough and savvy, his quick sarcasm is the stuff of legends. . .until the night when his best friends try to kill him. Saved by a mysterious warrior who has more fighting skills than Chuck Norris, Nick is sucked into the realm of the Dark-Hunters: immortal vampire slayers who risk everything to save humanity. Nick quickly learns that the human world is only a veil for a much larger and more dangerous one: a world where the captain of the football team is a werewolf and the girl he has a crush on goes out at night to stake the undead. But before he can even learn the rules of this new world, his fellow students are turning into flesh eating zombies. And he’s next on the menu. As if starting high school isn't hard enough. . .now Nick has to hide his new friends from his mom, his chainsaw from the principal, and keep the zombies and the demon Simi from eating his brains, all without getting grounded or suspended. How in the world is he supposed to do that?

My review

I'm going to divide this review into two paragraphs. One paragraph will be the negative aspects of this book and the other paragraph will be the positive things. We'll start with the negative.

First of all, I didn't really fully understand what the plot of the book was. I think that Sherrilyn wrote ano
ther series about Dark-Hunters so maybe I should have read that series before reading this book. There were too many characters to follow and too many different types of supernatural creatures in this novel for my taste. I didn't know who or what half the characters were and some of them just completely disappeared for the rest of the book! I felt like there were so many loose ends in the book and the character development was poor so I couldn't really connect with any of them. I was also confused about which storyline to focus on and there were too many different things going on in the book.

Now for the positive :) I like Nick as the main character. He's funny, polite, brave, charming and an all around likable character. I thought that the plot, though at times confusing, had a lot of potential and the
action in the book was great. I really enjoyed the ending of the book, I love big explosive endings and Infinity finished with a bang. The book also had a hint of humor and romance included, which is always good.

To finish, I thought Infinity was a good book but it wasn't amazing. Read it when you have time
but I wouldn't pu
t it at the top of the to-read pile.

Sunday, August 1, 2010

The Girl Made of Cool by Alan Fox

The Girl Made of Cool by Alan Fox

Publisher: StoryFocus Communications

# of pages: 240

Source: Author

Genre: Adult Fiction

Rating: D


Here, Fox tells the story of a young man and woman who are falling in love with each other, but the young woman doesn't know it. She believes that she's falling in love with the man's far more handsome, more perfect friend. ... As the story unfolds and deepens, we see how these two highly talented young men must suffer, struggle, and wage battle to woo this young woman. This, as all the while, she grows into an ever greater beauty, a more charismatic personality, and an all-the-more alluring woman. ... This, as all the while, this young lady grows to become an elegant woman made of shining love and elusive cool. -- Also featured here in this collection, you will find: The Novel "HELL HAS BLUE SKIES" -- A love story about intense relationships in an office, whose unusual line of business is to train people to become 'world-class experts.' And the short story "THE LOVELY LADY AT THE LOVE MUSEUM" -- A colorful tale of romance and high-level maneuvering in the big city.


Okay... So I've never written a review where I've given the book a rating under a C-. A first time for everything right? I started this book with an open mind and couldn't even finish it. I was bored and put the book down plenty of times making excuses like "have to clean my room" or "I'm hungry" or... you name it.

The characters were hard to relate to and I never really made that connection with any of them. I really wanted to try and finish the book, but my motivation was completely shot during the process of reading it.

Hopefully someone else will enjoy this book more than I did, so look out for a giveaway.