Home    Reviews    Review Policy    About BAM    Double Dose

Wednesday, December 30, 2009

Waiting on Wednesday (17)

Waiting on Wednesday was started by Jill over at Breaking the Spine.


Heist Society by Ally Carter

Since she can remember, Katarina's relatives have been grooming her for the family business--thieving. But when Kat tries to go straight and leave the Life for a normal life, she's promptly kicked out of her new school for stealing the headmaster's car and mounting it on the school fountain. Although she could have done it without breaking a sweat, ironically, this time, she's innocent.

In fact she was framed--by another highly-skilled thief. Her friend and brother-in-trade Hale, with his mischievous smile and limitless bank account, has appeared out of nowhere to bring her back to the Life, back to the family Kat tried so hard to escape. Hale has a good reason: A powerful mobster has just been robbed of his priceless art collection and he wants to retrieve it. Only a master thief could have cracked this vault, and Kat's father isn't just on the suspect list, he IS the list.
Now, caught between Interpol and a far more deadly predator, Kat's dad needs her help.

For Kat, a consummate thief in her own right, the solution is simple: track down the paintings and steal them back. So what if it's a spectacularly impossible job? She's got two weeks, a teenage crew, and maybe just enough misguided pride to pull off the biggest heist in history - or at least in her family's (very crooked) history.

I've never read any of Ally Carter's books but this one sounds really good and I love the cover!

(Marisa and Arielle may post later.)

Wishlist Wednesday (24)


Girl V. Boy by Yvonne Collins and Sandy Rideout

All's not fair in love, war, and high school journalism

Sixteen-year-old Luisa Perez is not looking to win any awards for school spirit. In fact, she and her friends make it a point to avoid all activities considered "extra-curricular." So when her English teacher volunteers her to be an anonymous columnist for the school paper, Luisa's first impulse is to run. But, unlike her high-school dropout sister, Luisa does want to go to college-it may be her only ticket out of a life spent working at the cowboy-themed diner where she waitresses part time-and it would be nice to something on her applications.

Her first assignment is to cover her high school's latest fundraiser, which pits the girls against the boys. Luisa will cover the events from the female POV, while another anonymous writer provides the male perspective-or, at least, that's how it begins. The two columnists soon find themselves engaged in an epic battle of the sexes-a battle that Luisa is determined to win. Just who does this guy think he is, encouraging his peers to act like Neanderthals with their girlfriends? And why can't Luisa shake the very sinking feeling that her new unidentified nemesis might also be her new boyfriend?

While I was in Barnes and Noble last week, I saw this book in the New Release section and I thought it looked so cute. As much as I love fantasy and all of that good stuff, it's fun to read something a bit more light and real.

What's on your wishlist? :)

(Marisa and Arielle may post later.)

Teaser Tuesday (14)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

-Grab your current read

-Open to a random page

-Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page

-BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)

-Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Don't read if you haven't read The Hunger Games yet :)

"While I lie there, sobbing, tears trying to squeeze out of the slit of my eye, I hear Peeta whisper to Haymitch about President Snow, about the uprising in District 8. 'She wants us all to run,' he says, but if Haymitch has an opinion on this, he doesn't offer it."

Page 114

Briana: I'm not really sure what's going on here... :/. I guess I'll just have to read and find out :) Sorry that the TT is late by the way.

(Arielle and Marisa may post later.)

Sunday, December 27, 2009

In My Mailbox (28)

In My Mailbox was created by The Story Siren. Click here to learn more about it.

Briana: Hey ladies and gents :) I got a few books over the time that I was absent and I'll show you some this week, then next week and so on. Plus I have a few at school that I didn't bring home either so that will leave me with a generous amount of books for each IMM post!


Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Dark Side by Beth Fantaskey- I've been wanting to read this book for a while but decided to wait for it to come out in paperback since I need to save my pennies.


I won all of the wonderful books books below from the wonderful Michelle over at Michelle's Bookshelf.

TMI by Sarah Quigley (ARC) - I'm very excited to read this one, I heard it's hilarious! I need to start reading more books like that.

The Awakening (ARC)- So... I haven't read The Summoning yet though I do own it! But I'm sure I'll adore it and immediately grab The Awakening when I'm finished.

Castration Celebration (ARC)- Another hilarious book I can't wait to read. I heard it's a little out there, but that is exactly the kind of stuff I love.

The It Girl (It Girl #1) by Cecily Von Ziegesar- I actually got this book from Korianne over at Korianne Speaks. The first person to say they wanted this book got it, so I'm not sure if it's considered a contest or not. Either way, I love her for giving this to me :)

(Arielle and Marisa may post later)

PS, Arielle and Marisa... I miss you guys!!! E-mail me so we can set up an MSN date? Hehe.

Saturday, December 19, 2009

In My Mailbox (27)

In My Mailbox was created by The Story Siren. Click here to learn more about it.

Marisa: I got a really good book for review this week. Oh and by the way, I will be leaving to go visit family soon for the holidays so I won't be on the blog for a little while. I'm going to wish everybody a Merry Christmas in advance. Hope you all have a great Christmas!

The Demon's Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan

Nick and his brother, Alan, have spent their lives on the run from magic. Their father was murdered, and their mother was driven mad by magicians and the demons who give them power. The magicians are hunting the Ryves family for a charm that Nick's mother stole -- a charm that keeps her alive -- and they want it badly enough to kill again. Danger draws even closer when a brother and sister come to the Ryves family for help. The boy wears a demon's mark, a sign of death that almost nothing can erase...and when Alan also gets marked by a demon, Nick is des-perate to save him. The only way to do that is to kill one of the magicians they have been hiding from for so long. Ensnared in a deadly game of cat and mouse, Nick starts to suspect that his brother is telling him lie after lie about their past. As the magicians' Circle closes in on their family, Nick uncovers the secret that could destroy them all.

This book sounds great!! I can't wait to read it :)

(Briana and Arielle may post later.)

Friday, December 18, 2009

Hush, Hush

Becca Fitzpatrick

Published October, 2009

400 Pages

Rating: A

First off, I'd like to apologize to not only the readers, but to myself for not reading/blogging for such a long time. So many people read while they go to school, so why was it such a problem for me? Who knows, but hopefully in the Spring I'll be much more able to read. But for winter break, let me just say how happy I am to be back and reading! I missed you guys!

So... Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick... I've heard nothing but amazing things about this book. Even though it took me so long to read because of school, it was so worth it. This book is incredible.

For Nora Grey, romance was not part of the plan. She's never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how much her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her. Not until Patch came along. With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Nora is drawn to him against her better judgment.

But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora's not sure who to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is, and to know more about her than her closest friends. She can't decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is way more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.

For Nora is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen - and, when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost her life.

This book had me going from liking Patch to hating him. It's so unpredictable that every other page you're changing your mind on whether or not to be on Team Patch. I felt like there wasn't a boring page and if at one time there was, it didn't last long.

The only problem for me is that I heard Becca Fitzpatrick decided to change the ending. For me, the ending was fantastic, it couldn't have ended better. I'm just worried that I won't like the new ending, what did you guys think?


Princess Bookie Day 8 Contest!

Hey guys!


Fat Cat

Robin Brande

Published: 2009

327 Pages

Rating: B+

You are what you eat. . . .

Cat smart, sassy, and funny—but thin, she’s not. Until her class science project. That’s when she winds up doing an experiment—on herself. Before she knows it, Cat is living—and eating—like the hominids, our earliest human ancestors. True, no chips or TV is a bummer and no car is a pain, but healthful eating and walking everywhere do have their benefits.

As the pounds drop off, the guys pile on. All this newfound male attention is enough to drive a girl crazy! If only she weren’t too busy hating Matt McKinney to notice. . . .

(taken from BN.com)

I read this book about a month ago, so bare with me because I don’t clearly remember it as well as I would like to, but I won’t lie… I did really enjoy this book.

Fat Cat is a very fun, cute, even compelling book. Cat is a candy eating, hides behind her weigh kind of girl. And when Cat has to come up with a science fair project that will blow away the minds of the judges, but also place above Matt McKinney, her ex-best friend, Cat is stuck between a rock and a hard place. She is given a short amount of time to come up with a science project, but once she does, it will change her life forever. Cat’s teacher gives them all pictures that they will have to use in order to come up with their projects thesis, and Cat is given an unsuspected one: a picture of naked, male and female Neanderthals fighting over a saber-toothed hyena. She is completely clueless at first but as she studies the picture more and more she realizes something about the woman in the picture: she wants to be her. And this becomes her science project: to take on a completely different lifestyle, just like the one of the woman Neanderthal.

This book is very entertaining and I found myself laughing numerous amounts of times. But there is also something about the book that makes you think all about the bad foods you are putting inside your body, it actually made me think about the kinds of things I eat (yet I am typing this while I eat peanut butter MnMs..ha). Cat takes on a totally different approach to her project and as a reader you watch her grow and finally realize the girl she truly is. You see her battle boys, school, and her ex-best friend who broke her heart.

I definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants a good laugh, and an inspiring read. Especially for all you who are on winter break, you wont be able to put it down! :)


PS: Wow, well that review was pretty bad… sorry for the long absence. College was kicking my butt, but it is officially Christmas Break so I am hoping to read A LOT! I missed you guys!

Tuesday, December 15, 2009

Teaser Tuesday (13)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

-Grab your current read.

-Open to a random page.

-Share “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page.

-BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)

-Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

The Line by Teri Hall

"Mom!" Rachel started toward the scene, alarmed at how rough the officers were being.

"No, Rachel." Vivian's voice was low, but as hard as the grip she had on her daughter's wrist. Rachel looked back, surprised, and the expression on her mother's face frightened her.

PG. 77

So far The Line is really good, very different and interesting. I should be finishing it soon so look out for my review.

(Arielle and Briana may post later.)

Monday, December 7, 2009

The Secret Year

Jennifer R. Hubbard

Publishing in January 2010

208 pages

Rating: B/B+


Seventeen-year-old Colt has been sneaking out at night to meet Julia, a girl from an upper-class neighborhood unlike his own. They’ve never told anyone else about their relationship: not their family or friends, and especially not Julia’s boyfriend.When Julia dies suddenly, Colt tries to cope with her death while pretending that he never even knew her. He discovers a journal she left behind. But he is not prepared for the truths he discovers about their intense relationship, nor to pay the price for the secrets he’s kept.

My review

I received this ARC in the mail awhile ago and I finally got around to reading and reviewing it! The book sounded good, so I was expecting it to be good. The book was pretty good but it definitely was not captivating enough for me.

The story is about two secret lovers, Colt and Julia, who have complete separate lives and are very different from one another. Julia is rich and lives a fabulous life with great friends, a great boyfriend, a big house, a fancy car, etc. Colt lives an okay life with good friends, no girlfriend, a small house, a broken down car, etc. The point is that they're not meant to be together, yet they can't seem to get enough of each other. When Julia suddenly dies, Colt doesn't know how to get over her without revealing their relationship to everybody. And then there's Julia's diary that holds all her feelings about their relationship. What did she write on her last day....?

I can't say that I loved this book but it was pretty good and I enjoyed reading it. It was a great love story that could definitely relate to the Romeo and Juliet story. I do think that the story captured my interest from the first page but it unfortunately took awhile for me to really get into the plot. The book was very simple and beautifully written and I liked Colt a lot because he's an average guy but he's also very deep and mysterious. I loved reading the story from his POV.

One thing that did keep me reading was Julia's diary entries. I was dying to know what she thought of their relationship and what she wrote in her last entry. I thought the diary was a very original and interesting way of keeping Julia present throughout the book. Although I do feel like the end of the book was a bit rushed and unsatisfying but it's not that big of a deal.

I think this book would be a cute summer read when you have a lot of time on your hands. For her first novel, I give Jennifer Hubbard a well deserved round of applause.