Home    Reviews    Review Policy    About BAM    Double Dose

Friday, October 30, 2009

In My Mailbox (22)

In My Mailbox was created by The Story Siren. Click here to learn more about it.

Arielle: I got some awesome books this week!! I think my lucky number is 9, since I got 9 last week too. Ha. Btw, I am loving this whole "take a picture of your IMM books," it is ingenious! Super easy too. :)

For Review::

From Penguin // Razorbill:
The Betrayal of Natalie Hargrove by Lauren Kate -- I have heard some not so good reviews, but I am looking forward to this.
Wanderlust by Lucy Silag -- Didnt read the first book..but oh well! :)

From Glenn Dakin:
Candle Man: The Society of Unrelenting Vigilance by Glenn Dakin -- Seems a bit too young for me, but it actually sounds kinda interesting!

The Tear Collector by Patrick Jones -- I really want to read it, but again, I have heard some iffy reviews of this, but it was $5, so I bought it.
Take Me There by Susane Colasanti -- I havent read any of her books, and this one was cheap too, so I got it! Super excited!!
The Off Season by Catherine Gilbert Murdock -- Read Dairy Queen and am really looking forward to reading its sequel! :)
Karma for Beginners by Jessica Blank -- Read a review about this book not too long ago, and it sounded good. So I bought it.

And Finally...
Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater! -- I have heard sooooo many amazing reviews of this book, I cant even count how many..so I finally bought it! I feel like the last person on Earth to own this book, but I am super excited to read it! The cover is amazing to me!

Won (from blog contest)::
Defining Twilight by Brian Leaf -- Won this book from Shalonda at Shalonda's Blog! And I also got a cool bracelet from her (you cant really see it in the picture..) And then she gave me three bookmarks! Which I love! I am always in need of bookmarks! Thanks again, Shalonda!

Well that was my super exciting week! What did you get in your mailbox!?

(Marisa and Briana may post later)

Thursday, October 29, 2009

Behind Every Illusion

Christina Harner

Published June 2009

500 pages

Rating: B


When soft-spoken Tatiana turns eighteen, she begins to experience unusual changes. Suddenly, she can read minds, sense emotions and move at a speed that far surpasses anything she’s known before. When her physical features begin to change as well, Tatiana tries desperately to keep her new abilities a secret. Amidst tragedy, unimaginable transformations and an unexpected friendship, Tatiana has to learn to reveal the girl hidden behind her illusions and what it means to face the world in order to preserve not only the
forest but her very existence.

My review

First of all, I want to thank Christina for mailing and signing the book for me. She's super nice! And good job for being a self-published author! Anyway, I liked Behind Every Illusion. I have to admit that the book was a bit slow at the beginning but I really started getting into it near the end. I love reading about faeries too so it was a good read. Not great but good. The thing I love about this book is that Christina also included the state of our planet into the plot. I think that the environment is SO important and people need to know the issues of our world, which is exactly what Christina has created by writing her book. Her readers will now be more aware of our planet, which makes me happy. She is the first author (out of the books I've read) that has written about our planetary issues. Not only did Christina write about our planet's issues but she also wrote about the issues people have. The main character, Tatiana, has to go through so much and her story is inspirational. Tatiana was strong and caring even though her world was turned upside down. I loved that.

Any bad things about the book? I think that the book could've been more captivating and interesting but it did get really good near the end. Lots of twists and turns and secrets. I recommend this book to whoever loves cute books with a good plot. It's a great summer read. Oh and I LOVE the cover.


Temporary Hiatus!

John Belushi in Animal House :)

School is officially kicking my butt!!

I have two tests to study for, and then I have a huge paper due soon on a book that I havent really read... so yeah, I plan on being back in full swing around next Thursday...hopefully!

And hopefully by then, I will have Fallen (by Lauren Kate) done too, so I can review it!

IMM for this week will still be posted on Friday, since I scheduled it! Having the opportunity to schedule posts is awesome!

I wish I could schedule Booking Through Thursday, but I can't..so oh well! Next week! :]

Oh..and sorry on the lack of enthralling reviews, I am stressing to the max over school.

Have a wonderful weekend, and upcoming week!


Wednesday, October 28, 2009

Waiting on Wednesday (15)

Waiting on Wednesday was started by Jill over at Breaking The Spine!


The Dark Divine by Bre Despain

Grace Divine, daughter of the local pastor, always knew something terrible happened the night Daniel Kalbi disappeared—the night she found her brother Jude collapsed on the porch, covered in blood. But she has no idea what a truly monstrous secret that night really held. And when Daniel returns three years later, Grace can no longer deny her attraction to him, despite promising Jude she’ll stay away.

As Grace gets closer to Daniel, her actions stir the ancient evil Daniel unleashed that horrific night. Grace must discover the truth behind Jude and Daniel's dark secret . . . and the cure that can save the ones she loves. But she may have to lay down the ultimate sacrifice to do it—her soul.

I have read recent reviews of this book, and I want it so bad! The cover is gorgeous. I dont usually like feet.. (ew) but I do love this cover. I like that it is simple and has three colors: Black, "White", and Purple! It sounds great too!

Comes out: December 22nd 2009

What are you waiting on??

(Marisa and Briana may post later)

Wishlist Wednesday (22)


Caitlin is spending the summer on the windswept island that is her home. She is caught between girlhood and maturity, and feels utterly isolated from the rest of the world. Then she meets Lucas, who is the embodiment of freedom and honesty. She is instantly drawn to him. But Caitlin must also grapple with the darker forces that seem to be confronting her family. Lucas himself further complicates matters when he is hunted for an awful crime that Caitlin herself becomes involved in.

I havent read too many reviews of this book, but this book intrigues me. The synopsis kind of draws me in, and I really want to read more about the characters. The cover is kinda creepy, but I love the guys blue eyes.

What is on your wishlist??

(Marisa and Briana may post later)

Tuesday, October 27, 2009

Teaser Tuesday (10)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

-Grab your current read.

-Open to a random page.

-Share two “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page.

-BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)

-Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Fallen by Lauren Kate!

"'Luce?' he whispered.

All she could do was nod.

His eyes narrowed. 'What did you see?'"

page. 97

Arielle: Oh man. Ha. I am really enjoying this book, it kinda keeps dragging me along and some exciting stuff has happened, but I want more! I can't finish it fast enough!

(Marisa and Briana may post later)

Sunday, October 25, 2009

Awards!! :)

All right so in the past few days we have gotten three awards! It is so exciting! And here they are:

Image and video hosting by <span class=

This award is for those followers who are the most loyal and give bloggers joy by commenting regularly and with their support. Pass it on to 3 to 7 followers who are as loyal as dragons.

Both of those awards are from Taschima at Bloody Bookaholic! Thank you!

Here are the rules of the "One Lovely Blog Award":
Accept the award, post it on your blog together with the name of the person who has granted the award, and his or her blog link.
Pass the award to 15 other blogs that you’ve newly discovered.
Remember to contact the bloggers to let them know they have been chosen for this award.
This award is from the Bookologist! Thank you!

So with that in mind, I will pick 18 book bloggers to get all three awards! I know I am not really following protocol here, but oh well ;) I like to stir things up!

2. Bri at The Book Pixie!
3. Eleni at La Femme Readers!
5. Lea at YA Book Queen!
6. Kelsey at The Book Scout!
7. April at Good Books and Wine!
8. Taschima at Bloody Bookaholic!
10. Bookworm at The Bookworm!
11. Mary at thebookreviewer!
12. Tricia at The Truth About Books!
13. Kapri at book fanatics!
14. Brittany at The Ultimate Dumpees!
15. Lindsay at Crazy Books & Reviews!
16. Choco at In Which a Girl Reads!

You guys are all awesome!! Thank you so much for following us here at B.A.M. Book Reviews!


Hey! Check these guys out!

Hi everyone!

All right, so this post is dedicated to some of the "newer" book bloggers out there. In the past few weeks I have either gotten emails from new book bloggers, or I have just stumbled upon them, or they have found us! So, this post is dedicated to them, and there are only about 7 that I am going to post about. Mainly because those are the ones that I remember, but if you are a new book blogger, don't hesitate to let me know! We always love hearing about new book blogs!

Without further ado, here they are :)

1. Mary at thebookreviewer!
Mary, who has been blogging since September, has done some really great reviews, and she has even done a movie review once or twice. She is newer to the book blogging world, and I definitely think you should check her out!

Lisa has been in the blogosphere world since August, and she has generated a pretty good following. She has a lot of really wonderful reviews, and she is always honest. Check her out!

3. Tricia at The Truth About Books!
Tricia started blogging just recently, and has created some pretty cool reviews already. Check her out!

4. Kapri at book fanatics!
Kapri started up her blog in July, and has already posted a ton great reviews! Check her out!

5. Brittany at The Ultimate Dumpees!
Brittany also started book blogging not too long ago, and is already doing very well! She does great reviews, and posts about awesome contests! Check her out!

6. Lindsay at Crazy Books & Reviews!
Lindsay just started her book blog a few days ago, and it already looks great! She only has a few reviews up, but once she gets started, I have a feeling there will be a lot more! Check her out!

7. Choco at In Which a Girl Reads!
Choco started up her blog in August, and has done a wonderful job with it so far! She has done some great reviews, and I just love her background image, its beautiful. Check her out!

Okey-doke! You guys should totally check out all these book blogs if you havent! Who doesnt love to find out about new book bloggers!? We are all such an amazing family of book lovers, it is always wonderful when someone else wants to join in on the fun!!


Saturday, October 24, 2009

Hurry! Hurry! Hurry!

Guys! The time is almost up to enter in the Princess Bookie read-a-thon contests!!

You can enter HERE!

There are so many great book contests! So don't miss out!



Perks of Being a Wallflower

Stephen Chbosky
Published 1999
213 Pages
Rating: B-

Standing on the fringes of life...

offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor.

This haunting novel about the dilemma of passivity vs. passion marks the stunning debut of a provocative new voice in contemporary fiction: The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

This is the story of what it's like to grow up in high school. More intimate than a diary, Charlie's letters are singular and unique, hilarious and devastating. We may not know where he lives. We may not know to whom he is writing. All we know is the world he shares. Caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it puts him on a strange course through uncharted territory. The world of first dates and mixed tapes, family dramas and new friends. The world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite.

Through Charlie, Stephen Chbosky has created a deeply affecting coming-of-age story, a powerful novel that will spirit you back to those wild and poignant roller coaster days known as growing up.

(taken from back of book)

I have been hearing about this book off and on for about the past 2 years, and I always wondered what it was about, but I never got around to reading it. So finally I requested it from my library and a few days later *TA-DA* its in my hands. This review may not be helpful if you havent read it, and if you have read it, this review may seem terrible. I really dont know what to say about this book.

I liked it. But then again I didnt. It was strange, it is almost like I have a love/hate relationship with it. Like I do with so many other things. But anyway, let me begin.

This book is a diary of a boy named Charlie. He is a freshman in high school, and doesnt have any friends. His one friend, Michael, died not too long ago, and now he doesn't feel close to anybody. Hence the reason he starts writing this diary. He starts every entry as: Dear friend, .. It is almost sad that the person reading this book/diary is his only "friend," but it adds to the uniqueness of the book. It is really interesting reading a book that is meant to be a diary, it almost seems wrong to be reading his "diary", since he does tell you about his experiences. Such as his relationships with his mom, dad, older brother & sister, his new friends Sam and Patrick, when he drinks and when he does drugs, etc. It is a very personal book, and that is actually one of the reasons why I like it. It is so raw, and open; it makes you want to just hug Charlie. Watching him get through his freshman year of high school is kind of fun. But watching him grow as a person is even better, he finally comes into his skin.

Some parts of the book I didn't like, but that is mostly I just felt awkward while reading them. It felt wrong for me to be so into Charlie's life and know so much about him, when it seems that his parents don't even know anything about it. But it was nice that he could have a way to escape, by writing in his diary, or journal (for all those guys out there who don't keep "journals" not "diaries" ;] -- whatever you want to call it).

When he finally does make friends, Sam and Patrick, it is really interesting reading about his experiences with them. Charlie falls in love with Sam, although he knows he can never have her since she is a senior in high school. But as you read, and the way he feels about Sam changes, it really keeps you wondering what will happen in the end.

Hmm..the ending. I didnt really get it. Maybe I didnt really "read" it well enough to understand it, or maybe it was just too late at night. But I honestly have no idea what the ending was supposed to be, except the fact that all of his friends have left him. So yeah..if someone wants to help me with that, it will be greatly appreciated. :)

All in all, I liked Perks of Being a Wallflower..but I had my issues with it. I would recommend it to anyone that wants something so deep, and open, and just out there. Charlie is a really raw character, and reading his diary gets pretty interesting.


I felt like I used the word interesting a thousand times! I need a new word for interesting! Ha.

Friday, October 23, 2009

In My Mailbox (21)

In My Mailbox was created by The Story Siren. Click here to learn more about it.

Marisa: I should do what Arielle did for her IMM post but I can't find my camera!! I got lots of good books for review this week.

Ice by Sarah Beth Durst

When Cassie was a little girl, her grandmother told her a fairytale about her mother, who made a deal with the Polar Bear King and was swept away to the ends of the earth to become a prisoner of the trolls. Now that Cassie is older, she knows that this was a nice way of saying her mother had died. Cassie lives with her father at an Arctic research station, she is determined to become a scientist, and she has no time for make believe. Then, on her eighteenth birthday, Cassie comes face to face with a polar bear who speaks to her. He tells her that her mother is alive, imprisoned in the troll castle. And that he can bring her back--if Cassie will agree to be his bride. That is the beginning of Cassie's own real-life fairytale, one that sends her on an unbelievable journey across the brutal Arctic, through the Canadian boreal forest, and on the back of the North Wind to the land east of the sun and west of the moon. Before it is over, the world she knew will be swept away, and everything she holds dear will be taken from her--until she discovers the true meaning of love and family in the magical realm of Ice.

I'm so glad that I got this book in the mail for review! The cover is great and I can't wait to read the book.

My Invented Life by Lauren Bjorkman

With Roz and Eva everything becomes a contest—who can snag the best role in the school play, have the cutest boyfriend, pull off the craziest prank. Still, they’re as close as sisters can be. Until Eva deletes Roz from her life like so much junk e-mail for no reason that Roz understands. Now Eva hangs out with the annoyingly petite cheerleaders, and Roz fantasizes about slipping bovine growth hormone into their Gatorade. Roz has a suspicion about Eva. In turn, Eva taunts Roz with a dare, which leads to an act of total insanity. Drama geeks clamor for attention, Shakespearean insults fly, and Roz steals the show in Lauren Bjorkman’s hilarious debut novel.

Received in the mail for review. This book sounds/looks really cute!

Secret Society by Tom Dolby

An eccentric new girl. A brooding socialite. The scion of one of New York’s wealthiest families. A promising filmmaker. As students at the exclusive Chadwick School, Phoebe, Lauren, Nick, and Patch already live in a world most teenagers only dream about. They didn’t ask to be Society members. But when three of them receive a mysterious text message promising success and fame beyond belief, they say yes to everything. Even to the harrowing initiation ceremony in a gritty warehouse downtown, and to the ankh-shaped tattoo they’re forced to get on the nape of their necks. Once they’re part of the Society, things begin falling into place for them. Week after week, their ambitions are fulfilled. It’s all perfect—until a body is found in Central Park with no distinguishing marks except for an ankh-shaped tattoo.

Received in the mail for review. Can't wait to read it!

Little Black Lies by Tish Cohen

Sara Black is tiptoeing across a fraying tightrope. As the new eleventh grader at Anton High – the most elite public school in the country – she sticks out like an old VW bus in a parking lot full of shiny BMWs. But being the new kid also brings a certain advantageous anonymity. In Anton High’s world of privilege, intelligence, and wealth, Sara can escape her family’s tarnished past and become whomever she wants. And what’s the harm in telling a few little black lies when it can lead to popularity? That is, until another it girl at Anton becomes jealous of Sara’s social climbing. With her balance evaporating, one small push could bring Sara crashing down.

Received in the mail for review.

Hamlet and Ophelia by John Marsden

Hamlet’s father has just died. By the time they’ve filled in the grave his mother has remarried. Hamlet suspects foul play, and it’s troubling his spirit. Or maybe he was always troubled. Ophelia is in love with him. His best friend Horatio can’t work him out. Then, on a cold, still night, Hamlet meets the ghost of his father... This wonderful book, by one of Australia’s most-loved writers, takes Shakespeare’s famous play and makes it into a moving and full-blooded novel. John Marsden powerfully re-imagines the original characters and story. Hamlet, A Novel will be adored by readers young and old.

Received in the mail for review. I've never heard of this book but it sounds interesting enough.

L.A. Candy by Lauren Conrad

Los Angeles is all about the sweet life: hot clubs, cute guys, designer . . . everything. Nineteen-year-old Jane Roberts can't wait to start living it up. She may be in L.A. for an internship, but Jane plans to play as hard as she works, and has enlisted her BFF Scarlett to join in the fun. When Jane and Scarlett are approached by a producer who wants them to be on his new series, a "reality version of Sex and the City," they can hardly believe their luck. Their own show? Yes, please! Soon Jane is TV's hottest star. Fame brings more than she ever imagined possible for a girl from Santa Barbara-free designer clothes, the choicest tables at the most exclusive clubs, invites to Hollywood premieres-and she's lapping up the VIP treatment with her eclectic entourage of new pals. But those same friends who are always up for a wild night are also out for a piece of Jane's spotlight. In a city filled with people chasing after their dreams, it's not long before Jane wakes up to the reality that everyone wants something from her, and nothing is what it seems to be. L.A. Candy is a deliciously entertaining novel about what it's like to come of age in Hollywood while starring in a reality TV show, written by a girl who has experienced it all firsthand: Lauren Conrad.

Received in the mail for review.

Blue Moon (The Immortals, #2) by Alyson Noel

(Contains spoilers for those who haven't read Evermore) Eager to learn everything she can about her new abilities as an Immortal, Ever turns to her beloved Damen to show her the way. But just as her powers are increasing, Damen’s are waning. In an attempt to save him, Ever travels to the magical dimension of Summerland, where she learns the secrets of Damen’s tortured past; a past which he has always kept hidden from her. But in her quest to cure Damen, Ever discovers an ancient text that details the workings of time. Now Ever must chose between turning back the past and saving her family from the accident that claimed their lives—or staying in the present and saving Damen, who grows sicker every day...

I haven't bought/read Evermore yet but I know I will so I decided to buy Blue Moon since it was on sale!

Arielle: This week was book GALORE for me!! :) I decided to try something different with my book postings, usually I do each individual book with the description and where I got it, etc, but that gets tiring..soooo, I am going to try doing it this way and see how it works! The picture came out pretty decently..

Onto the books::

Bought from BN.com

Flawless (PPL2) by Sara Shepard -- haven't read the first one, but got the 2nd book anyway
Blue Bloods by Melisa De La Cruz -- finally! I feel like I am the only one who hasnt read these books!
The Boyfriend List by E. Lockhart -- already read this but didnt own it! Now I do!
Lost Summer by Alex McAulay -- seemed interesting. Made me want it to be summer again!

From GoodReads (won):

The Hunt for Atlantis by Andy McDermott -- not sure if I will like this, but I will give it a shot.


And finally!!! EEK!! Random book in mail thanks to Random House! YAY!!! :)

FALLEN by LAUREN KATE! -- Sooo happy I got this!! I cannot wait to read it! :) :) :)

Well that is it for this week! I think the new way is a lot easier than the other way I did it before! Ha, hopefully Briana and Marisa wont mind my different way..

So what is in your mailbox!?

(Marisa and Briana may post later)

Thursday, October 22, 2009

Crazy Beautiful

Lauren Baratz-Logsted
Published 2009
208 Pages
Rating: B+

In an explosion of his own making, Lucius blew his arms off. Now he has hooks. He chose hooks because they were cheaper. He chose hooks because he wouldn’t outgrow them so quickly. He chose hooks so that everyone would know he was different, so he would scare even himself.

Then he meets Aurora. The hooks don’t scare her. They don’t keep her away. In fact, they don’t make any difference at all to her.

But to Lucius, they mean everything. They remind him of the beast he is inside. Perhaps Aurora is his Beauty, destined to set his soul free from its suffering.

Or maybe she’s just a girl who needs love just like he does.
(taken from back of book)

All right..where to begin. I have a lot of wonderful things to say about Crazy Beautiful, but then I also have some little bitty problems with it. But it is still B+ worthy in my book, I really enjoyed reading it!

So to set the story up for you guys there is Lucius Wolfe (kind of a bad ass name is you ask me, and I think it is really fitting to his character). Lucius is the guy with hooks for hands, he blew off his hands while he was 'experimenting' in his basement. He choose the hooks so he could remind himself every day what a 'beast' he is. He is a new student at the high school (I cant remember the name). He is the outcast, the crip, the one who scares all. There is another new student and her name is Aurora Belle, except she is the total opposite of Lucius. She is out-going, charming, beautiful, friendly, and the one person Lucius cannot stop thinking about ever since they first had eye contact. Their relationship is somewhat of an odd one, since they don't really interact a lot with one another but when they do, it has so much meaning. I found myself loving their 'relationship' if you can call it that, they both wanted to be something different and in the end, it all works out.

Okay, so onto what I thought was really good of the book! There was a lot of good in the book actually, and instead of writing and telling you about it, there are two quotes that I want to take directly from the book because I thought they were awesome, and really make you think about yourself and how you value your friendships. So without further ado:

"Then I decide I do want to do it. If he is my friend, and I believe he is, and if friendship means wanting what's best for the other person and not simply what's best for the other person in relation to you, then I have to do it. I am ethically bound." - Lucius Wolfe
Reading this made me so happy, Lucius is not the kind of guy that has a ton of friends, he actually only has one guy who he calls his friend, Nick Green. And seeing Lucius realize what it means to be a friend is truly something special. It was cute.

Next one, still dealing with friendship: "This is, I think, what it must mean to be human: to want something good for someone else." - Lucius Wolfe
Wanting something good to happen to another person is something that a lot of people dont do easily, some get jealous, and some get angry, but having Lucius say this about another person is eye-opening, since he is growing up as a teenager, he is finding what it feels like to be a friend and to want something more for another person.

Some of the parts in the book were funny, I found myself Laughing of Loud more than a few times, but I also found myself tearing up just a tiny bit. I really enjoyed reading this book. I love the idea of gaining the strength to finally put someone above yourself, because that is what Lucius does in this book, he puts Nick Green and Aurora above himself. It is very amazing to read.

Oh and my little bitty problems with the book: I wish it was longer..unless of course there will be a sequel! But I wish there was more to read, I didn't want the story to end. And the characters could have been a little more developed but I think it worked with how little you knew about them, and then as you read more they kind of just grew on you.

All in all, it was a good read, and I plan on rereading it in the future! I am crossing my fingers that there will be a sequel! That would be awesome!

Oh! And the cover!! I love it! I love the black and white, it is perfect for this book. The font is pretty awesome too! It might possibly be one of my favorite covers of this years books!

Dang that was a long review, ha.