Home    Reviews    Review Policy    About BAM    Double Dose

Wednesday, September 30, 2009

If I Should Die Before I Wake

*short review*

Han Nolan
Published 1994
293 Pages
Rating: B+

If I Should Die Before I Wake
Hilary hates Jews.
As part of a neo-Nazi gang in her town, she's finally found a sense of belonging. But when she's critically injured in an accident, everything changes.
Lying neat death in a Jewish hospital, Hilary finds herself bombarded by memories of life in Poland. A life she never lived. Somehow, Hilary has become Chana, a Jewish girl fighting for her own life in World War II
Forced from their home by the Nazi's, Chana and her family struggle in the terrible Lodz ghetto, where starvation drives people to desperate acts and the streets are smeared with filth. Those strong enough to survive are shipped out - to the slaughterhouse at Auschwitz.
How can Chana - or Hilary - survive?
(taken from back of book)

I have read a number of books specifically on the Holocaust, so reading about the torture and the horrible things these people had to go through was nothing new to me. Yet even as I read it, I still got chills every time Hilary/Chana would describe some horrible act. This book didn’t go into much detail about the torture the Jews faced in the camps, at least not compared to pervious books I have read, but if you know anything about the Holocaust and what the Jews faced everyday of their lives, you know it was a terrible time for all of them. Chana's story is heartbreaking and moving. Her family is ripped apart one family member at a time. Some leave and some die. Going back and forth through Hilary, who is a neo-Nazi and Chana, who is a Jew, is extremely interesting. The relationship that grows between them is one to learn from and to take to heart. Just because someone doesn’t think the same way as you, and doesn’t have the same feelings towards something as yourself, doesn’t mean they aren't important or that they don’t have feelings.

For some this book will be hard to read since it deals with the Holocaust and for others this book won’t seem like anything, like it’s just a normal book. And if you do read this, I hope you get something out of it. We are all different, and we all have our own beliefs, but that doesn’t mean we cant live in harmony, it just takes work.


p.s. read Briana's review on this also.

Wishlist Wednesday (18)


Marked by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast

Enter the dark, magical world of The House of Night, a world very much like our own, except here vampyres have always existed. Sixteen-year-old Zoey Redbird has just been Marked as a fledgling vampyre and joins the House of Night, a school where she will train to become an adult vampire. That is, if she makes it through the Change--and not all of those who are Marked do. It sucks to begin a new life, especially away from her friends, and on top of that, Zoey is no average fledgling. She has been chosen as special by the vampyre Goddess Nyx. Zoey discovers she has amazing powers, but along with her powers come bloodlust and an unfortunate ability to Imprint her human ex-boyfriend. To add to her stress, she is not the only fledgling at the House of Night with special powers: When she discovers that the leader of the Dark Daughters, the school's most elite group, is misusing her Goddess-given gifts, Zoey must look deep within herself for the courage to embrace her destiny--with a little help from her new vampyre friends.

I just found out my sister actually has this book, which is great! I have been meaning to buy it, but now I dont have to. Marisa and Briana told me this book was fantastic...so I will have to read it ASAP! :)

(Marisa and Briana may post later)

Waiting on Wednesday (11)


Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia, Margaret Stohl

There were no surprises in Gatlin County. We were pretty much the epicenter of the middle of nowhere.At least, that's what I thought.Turns out, I couldn't have been more wrong.There was a curse.There was a girl.And in the end, there was a grave.Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she's struggling to conceal her power and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town's oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.

This book comes out December 1st. I would love to get my hands on this book, just look at the beautiful cover!!

(Marisa and Briana may post later)

Tuesday, September 29, 2009


Sarah Dessen
Published 2004
256 Pages
Rating: B

Strange, sleepy Rogerson, with his long brown dreads and brilliant green eyes, had seemed to Caitlin to be an open door. With him she could be anybody, not just the second-rate shadow of her older sister, Cass. But now she is drowning in the vacuum Cass left behind when she turned her back on her family's expectations by running off with a boyfriend. Caitlin wanders in a dream land of drugs and a nightmare of Rogerson's sudden fists, lost in her search for herself.
(taken from online source)

I've read and reread all of Sarah Dessen's books, but this is by far her most different, controversial, and difficult books to read. It starts off with Caitlin, she has just found out that her older sister Cass has ran away (even though she is 18). Despite it being Caitlin's birthday, her parents are in utter astonishment. Cass may be gone, but she left Caitlin a present..a beautiful dream journal (it has some symbolism that will come into play more as the book progresses). Cass was the perfect daughter, straight A's, great boyfriend, good at sports, and the one who was always calm in difficult situations. Caitlin is amazed to find that her older, more discplined sister has ran away, and with her newest boyfriend no less. No address to where she will be staying, no phone number, no nothing, she's gone...just like that.

Caitlin, who has always been in Cass's shadow now stands out like a sore thumb. She is the girl whose sister ran away, the one that isn't that good in school, or at sports, or even with guys. But her best friend, Rina, wants to make the best of this unfortunate situation. She wants Caitlin to finally step into herself and try new things, thus Rina and Caitlin end up joining the cheer leading team at their high school. One night after a game, she meets Rogerson at a car wash. That night is the starting point for Caitlin's fast downward spiral, but its impossible to tell that at first...you just have to keep reading. Caitlin and Rogerson both depend on one another, although not always for good reasons.

There is a lot of underage drinking, smoking pot, and some pretty hard to read things in this book. It takes you on a journey of a teenage girl that is just trying to find her place in the world now that her older sister is gone. Caitlin gets herself into some deep situations, but she neither admits to her faults nor acknowledge's them after a while. This book is a fast read, although it deals with some heavy stuff, I think that girls everywhere could read this book and get something out of it.

The one thing that I did and didnt like was the ending. You finally get more information on her sister, and the relationship that Caitlin and Cass now share. But Caitlin never fully lets go of Rogerson and I still find myself wondering what ever happened to him. Sorry for the very 'all over the place' review, but I dont want to give anything away, and the fact that its 11pm right now isnt really helping my mental state.

All in all, read it, especially if you like Sarah Dessen, or more emotional books.


Teaser Tuesday (6)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

-Grab your current read.

-Open to a random page.

-Share two “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page.

-BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)

-Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Another Faust by Daniel and Dina Nayeri

"'Go to hell, you jealous troll. Hand me those balloons.



page: 233

Arielle: I'm not even sure if that qualifies as two sentences but oh well. Technically I havent started reading this book, but since it will be the next book I read, I figured I could do it for TT. And I thought this TT from Another Faust was kind of funny, I am curious to know why they are calling each other those names! ha.

(Marisa and Briana may post later)

Princess Bookie is Cleaning House!

That is right! She is giving away loads of books! Be sure to check out this awesome contest that is hosted by the amazing Cindy over at the Princess Bookie! Go check it out and be sure to comment and follower her! She always has fantastic contests, and great reviews.

So whatcha waiting for!? Go enter yourself in her newest contest!!!


Monday, September 28, 2009

Winner of Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Congrats Bianca from A Place for Wicked Good Books!

Winners of Maximum Ride Prize Pack Promotion

And the two winners are..........

Christina from Flip The Page! Book Reviews!


Briana from The Book Pixie!

Congrats guys! I'll email you both right now. Make sure to email me back as soon as possible with your address included. Thank you to everybody who entered!


Friday, September 25, 2009

In My Mailbox (17)

In My Mailbox was created by The Story Siren. Click here to learn more about it.

Arielle: I know I wont be getting any books in the mail this weekend, so I am posting this today :) I've gotten a bunch of books in the past week!

Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom

Maybe it was a grandparent, or a teacher. Someone older who understood you when you were young and searching, who helped you see the world as a more profound place, and gave you advice to help you make your way through it. For Mitch Albom, that person was Morrie Schwartz, his college professor from nearly twenty years ago.

Maybe, like Mitch, you lost track of your mentor as you made your way, and the insights faded, and the world seemed colder. Wouldn't you like to see that person again, ask the bigger questions that still haunt you?

Mitch Albom had that second chance. He rediscovered Morrie in the last months of the older man's life. Knowing he was dying, Morrie visited with Mitch in his study every Tuesday, just as they used to back in college.

Tuesdays With Morrie is a magical chronicle of their time together, through which Mitch shares Morrie's lasting gift to the world.

I love Mitch Albom's books, and I cant wait to read this one!

Hope Was Here by Joan Bauer

When sixteen-year-old Hope and the aunt who has raised her move from Brooklyn to Mulhoney, Wisconsin, to work as waitress and cook in the Welcome Stairways diner, they become involved with the diner owner's political campaign to oust the town's corrupt mayor.

I have read this book before, and many others by Joan Bauer, but I bought it anyway. I really like the book and the title is cute!

Another Faust by Daniel and Dina Nayeri

A devilish debut by a brother-sister team invites us into the world of the elite Marlowe School, where some gifted students are having a hell of a year.One night, in cities all across Europe, five children vanish — only to appear, years later, at an exclusive New York party with a strange and elegant governess. Rumor and mystery follow the Faust teenagers to the city’s most prestigious high school, where they soar to suspicious heights with the help of their benefactor’s extraordinary "gifts." But as the students claw their way up — reading minds, erasing scenes, stopping time, stealing power, seducing with artificial beauty — they start to suffer the sideeffects of their own addictions. And as they make further deals with the devil, they uncover secrets more shocking than their most unforgivable sins. At once chilling and wickedly satirical, this contemporary reimagining of the Faustian bargain is a compelling tale of ambition, consequences, and ultimate redemption.

Ever since Briana had this one her Wishlist Wednesday post, I have wanted to read it! And I finally got my hands on one! So excited to read this too!

Fairest by Gail Carson Levine

I was born singing. Most babies cry. I sang an aria. Or so I believe. I have no one to tell me the truth of it. I was abandoned when I was a month old, left at the Featherbed Inn in the Ayorthaian village of Amonta. It was January 12th of the year of Thunder Songs.The fairy Lucinda has once again given a dreadful gift. This time it's a mysterious magical mirror. The gift is disastrous when it falls into the hands of Aza, who never looks in a mirror if she can help it. In the Kingdom of Ayortha, Aza is most definitely not the fairest of them all.

Many spurn her. Many scoff at her. She keeps out of sight.But in a land of singers, Aza has her own gift, one she's come by without fairy intervention: a voice that can do almost anything, a voice that captivates all who hear it. In Ontio Castle, merry Prince Ijori is drawn to it, and vain Queen Ivi wants to use it for her own ends. Queen Ivi would do anything to remain the fairest in the land.

My aunt gave me this book and said it was pretty good. She wrote Elle Enchanted, so I'm interested in seeing how this book plays out!

The Time Traveler's Wife by Audry Niffenegger

A dazzling novel in the most untraditional fashion, this is the remarkable story of Henry DeTamble, a dashing, adventuresome librarian who travels involuntarily through time, and Clare Abshire, an artist whose life takes a natural sequential course. Henry and Clare's passionate love affair endures across a sea of time and captures the two lovers in an impossibly romantic trap, and it is Audrey Niffenegger's cinematic storytelling that makes the novel's unconventional chronology so vibrantly triumphant.

An enchanting debut and a spellbinding tale of fate and belief in the bonds of love, The Time Traveler's Wife is destined to captivate readers for years to come.

Again, a book given to me by my aunt. I have heard great things about this book!

The Society of S by Susan Hubbard

"If you ever want to hide from the world, live in a small city, where everyone seems anonymous."
That's the advice of twelve-year-old Ariella Montero, who lives with her father in Saratoga Springs, New York, in a house haunted more by secrets than by memories. The Society of S traces her journey south, to Asheville and Savannah, and on to Florida, as she learns that everything she knows about her family is a lie.

When she finds her mother, she learns the truth: Ariella is a fledgling member of the Society of S.

I heard some great things about this book, and it was on sale at BN so I decided to buy it. :)

The Postmistress by Sarah Blake

On the eve of the United States's entrance into World War II in 1940, Iris James, the postmistress of Franklin, a small town on Cape Cod, does the unthinkable: She doesn't deliver a letter. In London, American radio gal Frankie Bard is working with Edward R. Murrow, reporting on the Blitz. One night in a bomb shelter, she meets a doctor from Cape Cod with a letter in his pocket, a letter Frankie vows to deliver when she returns from Germany and France, where she is to record the stories of war refugees desperately trying to escape.
The residents of Franklin think the war can't touch them- but as Frankie's radio broadcasts air, some know that the war is indeed coming. And when Frankie arrives at their doorstep, the two stories collide in a way no one could have foreseen. The Postmistress is an unforgettable tale of the secrets we must bear, or bury. It is about what happens to love during wartime, when those we cherish leave. And how every story-of love or war-is about looking left when we should have been looking right.

I got this book in the mail from BN, it is my 2nd ARC and I am very excited to start reading it. I love books that take place during WW2.

And thats it! I'm excited to read all these books, hopefully I can start reading them soon. College is kind of taking over my life right now, I have about 4 papers to write, but maybe I can squeeze in some reading time! What did you get in your mailbox this week!?!?!

(Marisa and Briana may post later)

Thursday, September 24, 2009


Michael Grant

Published 2008

576 Pages

Rating: A-

In the blink of an eye.

Everyone disappears.


Everyone except for the young. Teens. Middle schoolers. Toddlers. But not a single adult. No teachers, no cops, no doctors, no parents. Gone, too, are the phones, internet, and television. There is no way to get help.

Hunger threatens. Bullies rule. A sinister creature lurks. Animals are mutating. And the teens themselves are changing, developing new talents—unimaginable, dangerous, deadly powers—that grow stronger by the day.

It's a terrifying new world. Sides are being chosen and war is imminent.

The first in a breathtaking saga about teens battling each other and their darkest selves, gone is a page-turning thriller that will make you look at the world in a whole new way.

(taken from back of book)

I wanted to read this book right after I read Marisa’s review on this book. (You can read her review here). It sounded so interesting and something that I would really enjoy reading. I loved the idea of having every adult disappear and have no explanation for that whatsoever. It was very intriguing.

I really like the start of the book, it makes everything fall into place perfectly and I after reading the first chapter, I never wanted to stop. Sam Temple is sitting in class, and poof! his teacher disappears, but not just his teacher, everyone’s teacher. And every adult. Anyone over fifteen. Once this happens, it seems that the whole town of Perdido Beach is in chaos. Kids are breaking into things. Babies are being left uncared for, and nobody has any way to explain what happened.

Immediately Sam, his best friend Quinn, and Sam’s secret crush, Astrid, set off to find the source of the mysterious disappearance of adults. As the day turns into night, people start to realize that the adults aren’t coming back, at least not for right now. And when kids from Coats Academy, a private school for kids that are more troublesome, come to Perdido Beach and try to make an agreement with Sam and his friends, they bring even more misfortune. Animals are mutating. Kids are getting strange powers. And a war between the Perdido kids and the Coats kids is on the brink. The book has a timeline of about two weeks, and soon.. Sam turns 15, and he’ll go poof!

I didn’t want to delve much more into this book review since Marisa has already reviewed it and she did a great job explaining how the book is, but I just wanted to get my 2 cents in. Basically, go out and read this book. It will keep you on the edge of your seat the entire time.


Booking Through Thursday (6)

btt button

What’s the saddest book you’ve read recently?

(Is any body getting bored with this series of “recent” questions? Because I’m having fun!)

Arielle: I really cant remember the last very sad book I read, but.. Dreamland by Sarah Dessen makes me a little emotional. Yet it is still a good book in my opinion.

(Marisa and Briana may post later)

Wednesday, September 23, 2009

Waiting on Wednesday (10)


Split by Swati Avasthi

Sixteen-Year-Old Jace Witherspoon arrives at the doorstep of his estranged brother Christian with a re-landscaped face (courtesy of his father’s fist), $3.84, and a secret.
He tries to move on, going for new friends, a new school, and a new job, but all his changes can’t make him forget what he left behind—his mother, who is still trapped with his dad, and his ex-girlfriend, who is keeping his secret.
At least so far.
Worst of all, Jace realizes that if he really wants to move forward, he may first have to do what scares him most: He may have to go back.

This book sounds awesome! I cant wait to read it!! And I like the cover a lot.

(Marisa and Briana may post later)

Wishlist Wednesday (17)

Crazy Beautiful by Lauren Baratz-Logsted

"In an explosion of his own making, Lucius blew his arms off. Now he has hooks. He chose hooks because they were cheaper. He chose hooks because he wouldn’t outgrow them so quickly. He chose hooks so that everyone would know he was different, so he would scare even himself.
Then he meets Aurora. The hooks don’t scare her. They don’t keep her away. In fact, they don’t make any difference at all to her.
But to Lucius, they mean everything. They remind him of the beast he is inside. Perhaps Aurora is his Beauty, destined to set his soul free from its suffering.
Or maybe she’s just a girl who needs love just like he does."
I have heard some mixed reviews about this book, but I still want to read it. The summary seems very interesting and I think I would like reading this book.

The Midnight Twins by Jacquelyn Mitchard
Meredith and Mallory Brynn are mirror twins born on either side of midnight one snowy New Year's Eve. They have always been inseparable. But after they are nearly killed in a mysterious fire on their thirteenth birthday, the bond that has always joined them unravels. They begin to have visions and dreams that reveal the deep secrets kept by the people around them. Meredith and Mallory realize they have each been given a gift: Mallory can see deep into the past; Meredith can see the future. But when they discover that one boy is not what they imagined, their lives will be changed forever. If they can survive . . .
This has been on my wish list for a whilenow and it seems so mysterious which I love!
(Marisa may post later.)

Tuesday, September 22, 2009

Fairy Tale

Cyn Balog

Published June 2009

256 pages

Rating: B+


A captivating and witty dark fantasy that will have girls lusting after it. Morgan Sparks has always known that she and her boyfriend, Cam, are made for each other. But when Cam’s cousin Pip comes to stay with the family, Cam seems depressed. Finally Cam confesses to Morgan what’s going on: Cam is a fairy. The night he was born, fairies came down and switched him with a healthy human boy. Nobody expected Cam to live, and nobody expected his biological brother, heir to the fairy throne, to die. But both things happened, and now the fairies want Cam back to take his rightful place as Fairy King. Even as Cam physically changes, becoming more miserable each day, he and Morgan pledge to fool the fairies and stay together forever. But by the time Cam has to decide once and for all what to do, Morgan’s no longer sure what’s best for everyone, or whether her and Cam’s love can weather an uncertain future.

My review

This book was a very cute and funny read. I really enjoyed it. The book starts off interesting and doesn't get boring as the story progresses. I was fully engrossed in what would happen to Morgan, Cam and Pip. And I did really like Morgan as the main character. She isn't annoying or mean and she doesn't get everything she wants which I find usually happens alot in books with the main characters. I actually did laugh out loud a few times while reading this book and that is a rare thing for me. The book kept me guessing the entire time which I love! I hate it when I can figure out how a book will end. And I also really love the end of the book. I feel like Cyn Balog definitely ended the book in a good way.

I recommend this book to people who love romantic, funny, sweet and interesting books. And anybody who loves fairy tales (Disney princess stories). The book's title is very spot on haha.


Friday, September 18, 2009


Lucy Christopher

Published May 2009

320 pages

Rating: A


Told in a moving letter to her captor, sixteen-year-old Gemma relives her kidnapping from Bangkok airport while on holiday. Taken by Ty, her troubled young stalker, to the wild and desolate Australian outback, she reflects on a landscape from which there's no escape. A story of survival, passion and darkness, Gemma reveals how she had to deal with the nightmare, or die trying to fight it. Sensitive, powerful and beautifully written.

My review

WOW. This book is so amazing. I really really LOVE this book. I was hooked on the first page and I could not put it down. I could tell that this book was going to be good but it really blew me away. I really love the whole story. It's beautiful, moving, sad, happy! I could really picture myself in Gemma's shoes and I really like her as the main character. I'm just really speechless because this book is so darn good! It's 100% a MUST read. I was so sad when I finished reading because I just wanted to know more about Gemma and Ty! I hope there's a sequel but I highly doubt there will be one. This book had me laughing out loud, gasping and almost crying at some parts. Definitely a page turning book.

Sorry for the short review but I think you get the point. READ READ READ IT NOW! This goes in my category of favorite books.


In My Mailbox (16)

In My Mailbox was created by The Story Siren. Click here to learn more about it.

Marisa: Only two books in the
mail this week.

Why I Let My Hair Grow Out by Maryrose Wood

Being sent to your room is one thing. But being sent to another country? Morgan's boyfriend dumped her on the last day of school-it seemed the only thing to do was to hack off her hair and dye the stubble orange. Unfortunately, Morgan's parents freaked and decided a change of scenery would do her good. So they're sending her off on a bike tour of Ireland. But Morgan gets more than she bargained for on the Emerald Isle-including a strange journey into some crazy, once upon a time corner of the past. There, she meets fairies, weefolk, and a hunky warrior-dude named Fergus, and figures out that she's got some growing to do-and she doesn't just mean her hair.

Received in the mail for review.

How I Found the Perfect Dress by Maryrose Wood

On a bike tour of Ireland last summer, Morgan Rawlinson fell for Colin, the hunky guide, and entered a portal that turned her into the goddess Morganne. Now she's back to her painfully normal life and her relationship with Colin has fizzled to the occasional e-mail …until he writes saying he's coming to Connecticut--just in time for the prom. But when he arrives, he's exhausted. It seems that when Morgan crossed the portal as Morganne, a spell was cast on Colin. In his dreams he's being forced to dance 'til dawn with the faeries, who want to boogie with him for eternity. Somehow she has to break the spell on her date, help plan the prom, and find the perfect dress. Oh, what a night…!

Also received in the mail for review.

(Briana and Arielle may post later.)

Thursday, September 17, 2009

Booking Through Thursday (5)

What’s the most enjoyable, most fun, most just-darn-entertaining book you’ve read recently?

(Mind you, this doesn’t necessarily mean funny, since we covered that already. Just … GOOD.)

Briana: I think I'll have to say Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick. I'm not that far into it yet but wow! It's so good. I can't wait to read more and gush about how much I love it :)

Arielle: I would have to agree with Briana. Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick is such an amazing book! I love it so much. It was so great to read, it never had a dull moment! :)

(Marisa may post later.)

Tuesday, September 15, 2009


Nina Malkin

Published May 2009

421 pages

Rating: B+/A-


Sin is Coming...Prepare to Swoon! Torn from her native New York City and dumped in the land of cookie-cutter preps, Candice is resigned to accept her posh, dull fate. Nothing ever happens in Swoon, Connecticut...until Dice's perfect, privileged cousin Penelope nearly dies in a fall from an old tree, and her spirit intertwines with that of a ghost. His name? Sinclair Youngblood Powers. His mission? Revenge. And while Pen is oblivious to the possession, Dice is all too aware of Sin. She's intensely drawn to him—but not at all crazy about the havoc he's wreaking. Determined to exorcise the demon, Dice accidentally sets Sin loose, gives him flesh, makes him formidable. Now she must destroy an even more potent—and irresistible—adversary, before the whole town succumbs to Sin's will. Only trouble is, she's in love with him.

My review

Okay so when I first read the description for Swoon I knew that it would be a good book. And it definitely did not disappoint. I really like Swoon because of it's originality. It's very different from other books and the storyline is incredible! Nina Malkin knows how to keep you on the edge of your seat and your heart pumping, anticipating what would happen next in the book. There is a lot of mature content in Swoon but that didn't stop me from reading. To be honest I sort of enjoyed the mature content because it just fits well with the whole storyline and title of the book.

I like pretty much all of the characters in the book but I couldn't really connect with Dice. I just couldn't picture myself in her shoes or living her situations but I still really like her as the main character. I actually do like one character in particular. You all know who and why. Sinclair Youngblood Powers :) As you all know, bad boys are my favorite characters and voila! We have a protective, sexy, mysterious and dangerous bad boy. Yum. Or swoon. Haha. The one thing I don't like about the book would have to be the ending. If you've read Swoon then you must know why. It's not that it's a bad end for the book but I was a little bit unhappy when I was finished reading.

Recommended? Yes! READ IT! It's honestly one of my favorite storylines and the book is sexy, dark, action filled, romantic and more! Definitely lust worthy.


Waiting on Wednesday (9)

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. It's a weekly meme to post about books that you can't wait to come out in book stores.


Liar by Justina Larbalestier

Micah will freely admit that she’s a compulsive liar, but that may be the one honest thing she’ll ever tell you. Over the years she’s duped her classmates, her teachers, and even her parents, and she’s always managed to stay one step ahead of her lies. That is, until her boyfriend dies under brutal circumstances and her dishonesty begins to catch up with her. But is it possible to tell the truth when lying comes as naturally as breathing? Taking readers deep into the psyche of a young woman who will say just about anything to convince them—and herself—that she’s finally come clean, Liar is a bone-chilling thriller that will have readers see-sawing between truths and lies right up to the end. Honestly.

This book sounds pretty good! I'm looking forward to it's release so that I can read it.


Pretty Dead by Francesca Lia Block

Charlotte lives in a beautiful mansion overlooking the Pacific Ocean. She's surrounded by old, beautiful things, and old, beautiful clothing, but Charlotte lives in it alone, the object of envy. People think her parents are always vacationing in Europe. They think she has the perfect life. But she's so lonely. And she's been dead for almost a century.

But when the horrifying death of her best friend, a new romance and her first love suddenly converge, Charlotte becomes the subject of a dark bargain that might give her the only thing she's ever coveted—the chance to be human again.

This book sounds really good, and it comes out very soon! So exciting! I love new books! :)


VIP Lounge (Chloe Gamble) by Ed Decter

The second book in the trilogy that follows a Texas beauty queen as she rises--and falls--in Hollywood.

That wasn't a very long description... if you would even call it that! I read the first book The One and really, really liked it! I can't wait to read this one :)

Wishlist Wednesday (16)


Deadly Little Secret (Touch #1) by Laurie Faria Stolarz

Until three months ago, everything about sixteen-year-old Camelia's life had been fairly ordinary: decent grades; an okay relationship with her parents; and a pretty cool part-time job at an art studio downtown. But when Ben, the mysterious new guy, starts junior year at her high school, Camelia's life becomes far from ordinary.
Rumored to be somehow responsible for his ex-girlfriend's accidental death, Ben is immediately ostracized by everyone on campus. Except for Camelia. She's reluctant to believe he's trouble, even when her friends try to convince her otherwise. Instead she's inexplicably drawn to Ben...and to his touch. But soon, Camelia is receiving eerie phone calls and strange packages with threatening notes. Ben insists she is in danger, and that he can help – but can he be trusted? She knows he's hiding something...but he's not the only one with a secret.

I think that this book sounds really good so I'm willing to give it a try.


Stolen by Lucy Christopher

Told in a moving letter to her captor, sixteen-year-old Gemma relives her kidnapping from Bangkok airport while on holiday. Taken by Ty, her troubled young stalker, to the wild and desolate Australian outback, she reflects on a landscape from which there's no escape. A story of survival, passion and darkness, Gemma reveals how she had to deal with the nightmare, or die trying to fight it. Sensitive, powerful and beautifully written.

After reading Marisa's Teaser Tuesday from the book Stolen, I was immediately interested in this book. It sounds so intense. And I think it sounds like a good book.

Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes
Sarah Byrnes and Eric have been friends for years. When they were children, his fat and her terrible scars made them both outcasts. Later, although swimming slimmed Eric, she stayed his closest friend.
Now Sarah Byrnes — the smartest, toughest person Eric has ever known — sits silent in a hospital. Eric must uncover the terrible secret she's hiding, before its dark currents pull them both under.

I've been wanting to read this book for a while! This is kind of embarresing... but when a cute guy in my English class said that's his favorite author, it made me want to read it more :P.

Oh and guess what?! I'm going to major in English :) I finally know what I want to do!

Teaser Tuesday (5)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:-Grab your current read

-Open to a random page

-Share “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page

-BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)

-Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Stolen by Lucy Christopher

"He opened the door and grabbed my T-shirt at the back of my neck. He pulled me towards him, my arms scraping against the ground. I turned my head and bit his hand. Hard. He swore. I knew I drew blood. I tasted it. I got up and ran. But he was on me again, so quickly. This time he used his whole body to push me down."

PG. 21

Marisa: I know I shared a bit more than a few teaser sentences but I think that it's a great teaser. I'm almost finished the book and it is AMAZING!

Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

"'He keeps looking this way', Vee said in a lowered voice. She leaned across the foosball table, attempting to make her conversation with me appear private, but she whispered loud enough that Elliot had no choice but to overhear. 'He's bound to wonder what you're doing here with--' She bobbed her head at Elliot."

Page 99

Briana: I wish I had more time to read this book! I'm so excited to get more into it. I already love it :)

Hunger by Michael Grant

"Diana made no movie. 'Are you going to tell me what happened to you out there in the desert with Pack Leader?'
Caine snorted. 'You dont want to know.'
'Yes,' Diana insisted, 'I do.'"

Pg. 18

Arielle: So its not very descriptive, but it seems pretty interesting. Like Briana, I wish I had more time to read this book! The first one was great! And I have heard that this one is even better :)

Saturday, September 12, 2009

Hush, Hush Contest

I actually got this book from Barnes & Noble's First Look Book Club and was going to send it to Marisa since she lives in Canada. She wasn't sure if they would send her a copy or not. Her mom doesn't feel okay with me sending stuff though so I'll be giving it to one of you guys! Marisa is very jealous by the way ;).

For Nora Grey, romance was not part of the plan. She's never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how much her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her. Not until Patch came along.
With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Nora is drawn to him against her better judgment.

But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora's not sure who to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is, and to know more about her than her closest friends. She can't decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is way more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.

For Nora is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen - and, when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost her life.


US only. Sorry guys, I barely have any money left right now.

You must be a follower.

Just make sure you leave your email address so if you win, we have a way to contact you for your address.

Extra Entries:

+1 New followers

+2 Old followers

+2 Linking this contest to sidebar, Twitter, etc. (Include links please!)

+5 Posting about this contest on your blog.

+3 Adding us to your blogroll.

The contest ends on September 27, 2009 at 11:59 PM ET


New Moon Trailer #3!

Briana: LOVED it! They showed SO much which may seem like a good thing now but when you go to see the movie there won't be as much to be surprised with! I'm so excited for this movie :D

Arielle: WOW! I absolutely loved it!! I am so excited to see this movie! It will be 10x's better than Twilight, I can just feel it! Ha. :)

(Marisa may post thoughts later.)

The Amanda Project

Stella Lennon

Published Sept 22, 2009

304 Pages

Rating: C

For my second ARC, I really wish I could've given it a better
grade. The cover is pretty awesome, the book inside has cool pictures that help with visualizing everything, and the plot sounded great. Unfortunately, this book kind of just fell flat for me.

Callie Leary has exactly one thing, and one thing only, in common with Nia Rivera and Hal Bennett:They were each chosen by Amanda to be her guide. When Amanda arrived at Endeavor High, she told Callie she moves around a lot and always picks one person to help her navigate the choppy waters of a new school. Why did Amanda lie?

Following a course that they suspect Amanda deliberately plotted, Callie, Nia, and Hal piece together some cryptic clues. But they find more questions than answers and quickly realize that before they can figure out what happened to Amanda-the girl who changed their lives-they'll need to solve the most important mystery of all: WHO IS AMANDA VALENTINO?

There's more to the story at . . . .theamandaproject.com

When I first started this book, it was pretty intriguing and I loved the feel of it. The characters were pretty cool to read about, especially Nia. I kind of got the feeling that a relationship might develop between two of the characters... but maybe they're saving that for the next book (?).The mystery of the book was so interesting and I kept waiting for something to happen, but nothing ever did. I guess that's why I was so disapointed. Everything was building up to absolutely nothing.

I really loved how the friendships formed between such different people though! I was kind of expecting it, but it's still nice to know that not all of the popular girls in school were jerks.


Friday, September 11, 2009

In My Mailbox (15)

In My Mailbox was created by The Story Siren. Click here to learn more about it.

Marisa: I didn't receive as many books in the mail as last week but I still got some pretty awesome books!

Storm Glass (Glass, #1) by Maria V. Snyder

Untrained. Untested. Unleashed. With her unique magical abilities, Opal has always felt unsure of her place at Sitia's magic academy. But when the Stormdancer clan needs help, Opal's knowledge makes her the perfect choice - until the mission goes awry. Pulling her powers in unfamiliar directions, Opal finds herself tapping into a new kind of magic as stunningly potent as it is frightening. Now Opal must deal with plotters out to destroy the Stormdancer clan, as well as a traitor in their midst. With danger and deception rising around her, will Opal's untested abilities destroy her - or save them all?

Received in the mail and signed :)

Sea Glass (Glass, #2) by Maria V. Snyder

Like the colorful pieces of sea glass washed up on shore, Opal has weathered rough waters and twisting currents. But instead of finding a tranquil eddy, Opal is caught in a riptide. Her unique glass messengers which allow instant communication over vast distances have become a vital part of Sitian society. Once used solely by the Councilors and magicians, other powerful factions are now vying for control. Control of the messengers equals control of Sitia. Unfortunately that also means control of Opal. If that isn’t enough of a problem, Opal’s determination to prove blood magic is still being used is met with strong resistance. The Council doubts her, her mentor doubts her, and even her family is concerned. When her world is turned upside down, she begins to doubt herself. In the end, Opal must decide who to believe, who to trust, and who has control—otherwise she will shatter into a million pieces and be swept out by the tide.

Also received in the mail and signed!

The Pace by Shelena Shorts

Weston Wilson is not immortal and he is of this world. But, aging is not part of his existence, and eighteen-year-old Sophie Slone is determined to find out why. In doing so, she could also uncover something about her own life expectancy that she may not want to know. Suddenly, immortality will mean everything and nothing all at the same time. Intensely fascinating and rich with determination, The Pace brings together romance, mystery, and suspense in a compelling bond that is sure to have readers asking for more.

Received in the mail and signed :)

Undead Much by Stacey Jay

Even Zombie Settlers with Super Hot Boyfriends get the Blues... A few months ago I was a normal girl with a normal life. But that was before my power to Settle the Undead returned and someone tried to kill me with zombies. Now I work magic and practice kicking butt while trying to find time for pom squad and my boyfriend, Ethan, and trying NOT to think about how freaky my life has become. It can be tough. Still…things could be worse… Oh yeah, right: 1. Feral new super-strong zombies. Check. 2. Undead psychic hottie predicting a zombie apocolypse. Check. 3. Earth-shattering secrets that could land me in Settler prison for life. Check. 4. Cheerleader vs. pom squad turf war threatening the end of the half time as we know it. Check. I’m going to need therapy (and a cookie) if I live through the week. Unfortunately I’m learning that’s not something Zombie Queens can take for granted.

So I haven't read the first book by Stacey, You're So Undead To Me, but I received this ARC in the mail so I'll go out and buy her first book before reading this sequel.

Briana: I went home last weekend and HAD to buy a book :D

Gossip Girl (Gossip Girl Series #1) by Cecily Von Ziegesar

Welcome to New York City's Upper East Side, where my friends and I live, go to school, play, and sleep—sometimes with each other.

S is back from boarding school, and if we aren't careful, she's going to win over our teachers, wear that dress we couldn't fit into, steal our boyfriends' hearts, and basically ruin our lives in a major way. I'll be watching closely...

You know you love me,
gossip girl

I've been wanting to read the books for a while now so I decided to buy it :) I love the show and even though I hear they're NOTHING alike, I want to give it a shot!


Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

(Contains spoilers if you haven't read The Hunger Games!)

Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has won the annual Hunger Games with fellow district tribute Peeta Mellark. But it was a victory won by defiance of the Capitol and their harsh rules. Katniss and Peeta should be happy. After all, they have just won for themselves and their families a life of safety and plenty. But there are rumors of rebellion among the subjects, and Katniss and Peeta, to their horror, are the faces of that rebellion. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge.

Such a great book!! OMG! I was so happy to get this in the mail!

Hunger by Michael Grant

(Contains spoilers if you haven't read Gone!)

It's been three months since everyone under the age of fifteen became trapped in the bubble known as the FAYZ. Things have only gotten worse. Food is running out, and each day more kids are developing supernatural abilities. Soon tension rises between those with powers and those without, and when an unspeakable tragedy occurs, chaos erupts. It's the normals against the mutants, and the battle promises to turn bloody.

But something more dangerous lurks. A sinister creature known as the Darkness has begun to call to the survivors in the FAYZ. It needs their powers to sustain its own. When the Darkness calls, someone will answer -- with deadly results.

I just recently finished Gone by Michael Grant and that was such a great book! I am so excited to read this book!!!