Home    Reviews    Review Policy    About BAM    Double Dose

Sunday, August 30, 2009

Never Slow Dance With A Zombie

E. Van Lowe

Published August 2009

256 pages

Rating: B+


Principal Taft's 3 Simple Rules for Surviving a Zombie Uprising:

Rule #1: While in the halls, walk slowly and wear a vacant expression on your face. Zombies won't attack other zombies.

Rule #2: Never travel alone. Move in packs. Follow the crowd. Zombies detest blatant displays of individuality.

Rule #3: If a zombie should attack, do not run. Instead, throw raw steak at to him. Zombies love raw meat. This display of kindness will go a long way.

On the night of her middle school graduation, Margot Jean Johnson wrote a high school manifesto detailing her goals for what she was sure would be a most excellent high school career. She and her best friend, Sybil, would be popular and, most important, have boyfriends. Three years later, they haven't accomplished a thing! Then Margot and Sybil arrive at school one day to find that most of the student body has been turned into flesh-eating zombies. When kooky Principal Taft asks the girls to coexist with the zombies until the end of the semester, they realize that this is the perfect opportunity to live out their high school dreams. All they have to do is stay alive....

My review

At school, Margot is a nobody. She and her best friend Sybil don't belong in any cliques and are bullied by the "popular" clique. Margot really wants to improve her social status. Since there is a carnival going on in town, Margot decides to ask handsome, smart and popular Dirk Conrad to go with her in hopes of becoming popular. When Margot learns that Dirk is apparently Amanda's (the prettiest and most popular girl in school) boyfriend, she decides to not go to the carnival. And going with just Sybil is social suicide in her opinion.

When Margot arrives at school the day after the carnival, she learns that every student in school, besides her and Sybil, have been turned into zombies. Everybody who went to the carnival. The only living people in her school are her, Sybil and Principal Taft. Their principal begs them to try to live with the zombies at school, promising them popularity and important roles in school such as Prom Queen and Head Cheerleader. He gives them a list of simple rules that will help them succeed in not being attacked and turned into a zombie themselves. Margot thinks that her dream is finally coming true. She'll be the most popular girl in school AND have the best boyfriend, even if he is a zombie who wants to rip her head off. Everything is going great until things start to turn bad and she realizes somebody is out to get her and Sybil. Somebody wants them to be a part of the living dead. And she is not about to let that happen.

What a great read! I really like this book. I was craving a zombie comedy read and I definitely satisfied that craving with the book. It's cute, funny and full of action. The book is very well written and I couldn't put it down. I was hooked from the beginning and I laughed out loud several times. It's probably one of the funniest books I've read. The book never has a dull moment and I definitely plan on re reading it when I have time. I love Margot as the main character. She puts herself in the worst positions and gets herself out of them in a laugh out loud manner. The ending is great and the book has tons of twists and turns that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

Recommended? Yes! Put this book in your "to read" pile because you'll fully enjoy it as I did. I'm really hoping for a sequel. Maybe it could be "Never Slow Dance With A Werewolf" or something. :P


Saturday, August 29, 2009

In My Mailbox (13)

In My Mailbox was created by The Story Siren. Click here to learn more about it.

Marisa: I received a lot of books in the mail this week. All of them sound excellent and I can't wait to read them.

Once a Witch by Carolyn MacCullough

Tamsin Greene comes from a long line of witches, and she was supposed to be one of the most Talented among them. But Tamsin's magic never showed up. Now seventeen, Tamsin attends boarding school in Manhattan, far from her family. But when a handsome young professor mistakes her for her very Talented sister, Tamsin agrees to find a lost family heirloom for him. The search—and the stranger—will prove to be more sinister than they first appeared, ultimately sending Tamsin on a treasure hunt through time that will unlock the secret of her true identity, unearth the sins of her family, and unleash a power so vengeful that it could destroy them all. This is a spellbinding display of storytelling that will exhilarate, enthrall, and thoroughly enchant.

My second ARC! Yay! Sounds great, love the cover and can't wait to read it.

Stolen by Lucy Christopher

Told in a moving letter to her captor, sixteen-year-old Gemma relives her kidnapping from Bangkok airport while on holiday. Taken by Ty, her troubled young stalker, to the wild and desolate Australian outback, she reflects on a landscape from which there's no escape. A story of survival, passion and darkness, Gemma reveals how she had to deal with the nightmare, or die trying to fight it. Sensitive, powerful and beautifully written.

I received this book in the mail from Europe! I was SO excited because it really sounds fantastic!

Wake by Lisa McMann

Not all dreams are sweet.

For seventeen-year-old Janie, getting sucked into other people's dreams is getting old. Especially the falling dreams, the naked-but-nobody-notices dreams, and the sex-crazed dreams. Janie's seen enough fantasy booty to last her a lifetime. She can't tell anybody about what she does — they'd never believe her, or worse, they'd think she's a freak. So Janie lives on the fringe, cursed with an ability she doesn't want and can't control. Then she falls into a gruesome nightmare, one that chills her to the bone. For the first time, Janie is more than a witness to someone else's twisted psyche. She is a participant....

I have been wanting this book for WAY too long. And I finally got it. In the mail! :)

Fade by Lisa McMann (Wake series #2)


For Janie and Cabel, real life is getting tougher than the dreams. They're just trying to carve out a little (secret) time together, but no such luck. Disturbing things are happening at Fieldridge High, yet nobody's talking. When Janie taps into a classmate's violent nightmares, the case finally breaks open — but nothing goes as planned. Not even close. Janie's in way over her head, and Cabe's shocking behavior has grave consequences for them both. Worse yet, Janie learns the truth about herself and her ability — and it's bleak. Seriously, brutally bleak. Not only is her fate as a dream catcher sealed, but what's to come is way darker than she'd feared....

Along with Wake, there was Fade in my mailbox too! I couldn't be happier.

Blue Bloods by Melissa De La Cruz

Schuyler Van Alen is confused about what is happening to her. Her veins are starting to turn blue, and she's starting to crave raw meat. Soon, her world is thrust into an intricate maze of secret societies and bitter intrigue. Schuyler has never been a part of the trendy crowd at her prestigious New York private school. Now, all of a sudden, Jack Force, the most popular guy in school, is showing an interest in her. And when one of the popular girls is found dead, Schuyler and Jack are determined to get to the bottom of it. Schuyler wants to find out the secrets of the my sterious Blue Bloods. But is she putting herself in danger? Melissa de la Cruz's vampire mythology, set against the glitzy backdrop of New York City, is a juicy and intoxicating read.

Another series that I've been dying to read for too long. This book was in my mailbox too!

Masquerade by Melissa De La Cruz (Blue Bloods series #2)

Schuyler Van Alen wants an explanation for the mysterious deaths of young vampires. With her best friend, Oliver, Schuyler travels to Italy in the hope of finding the one man who can help-her grandfather. Meanwhile, back in New York, preparations are feverishly underway for the Four Hundred Ball, an exclusive gala hosted by the city's wealthy, powerful, and unhuman-a true Blue Blood affair. But it's at the after-party, a masquerade ball thrown by the cunning Mimi Force, that the real danger lurks. Hidden behind the masks is a revelation that will forever change the course of a young vampire's destiny. Rich with glamour, attitude, and vampire lore, this sec ond installment in the Blue Bloods saga will leave readers thirsting for more.

With Blue Bloods also came Masquerade! Yipee!!!

Revelations by Melissa De La Cruz (Blue Bloods series #3)

Have you ever wondered what secrets lurk behind the closed doors of New York City’s wealthiest families? They're powerful, they're famous... they're undead. Schuyler Van Alen’s blood legacy has just been called into question - is the young vampire in fact a Blue Blood, or is it the sinister Silver Blood that runs through her veins? As controversy swirls, Schuyler is left stranded in the Force household, trapped under the same roof as her cunning nemesis, Mimi Force, and her forbidden crush, Jack Force. When one of the Gates of Hell is breached by Silver Bloods in Rio de Janeiro, however, the Blue Bloods will need Schuyler on their side. The stakes are high; the battle is bloody; and through it all, Carnavale rages on. And in the end, one vampire’s secret identity will be exposed in a revelation that shocks everyone.

And yes with Blue Bloods and Masquerade there was also Revelations. But not the fourth book :(
Briana: Sorry that I'm pretty MIA lately! College is crazy busy already and I'm having a blast. I bought all of my school books this week, which I will not post about considering you'll be bored! I did find a nice classic that I've wanted to read forever.

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
In a remote Hertfordshire village, far off the good coach roads of George III's England, a country squire of no great means must marry off his five vivacious daughters. At the heart of this all-consuming enterprise are his headstrong second daughter Elizabeth Bennet and her aristocratic suitor Fitzwilliam Darcy—two lovers whose pride must be humbled and prejudice dissolved before the novel can come to its splendid conclusion.
Buying my books at the book store was pretty pricey... but then I saw this little beauty for $4.00! I couldn't pass it up :)
(Arielle may post later.)

Wednesday, August 26, 2009

Hate List

Jennifer Brown

Published September 2009

408 pages

Rating: A


Five months ago, Valerie Leftman's boyfriend, Nick, opened fire on their school cafeteria. Shot trying to stop him, Valerie inadvertently saved the life of a classmate, but was implicated in the shootings because of the list she helped create. A list of people and things she and Nick hated. The list he used to pick his targets. Now, after a summer of seclusion, Val is forced to confront her guilt as she returns to school to complete her senior year. Haunted by the memory of the boyfriend she still loves and navigating rocky relationships with her family, former friends and the girl whose life she saved, Val must come to grips with the tragedy that took place and her role in it, in order to make amends and move on with her life.

My review

Valerie and Nick are considered "losers" at school. They both get bullied by the most popular kids in school and both have screwed up families. Most times they talk about dark stuff, like death and suicide thoughts. Valerie gets so frustrated with everything that she creates a list of everything and everybody she and Nick hate, entitling it the "Hate List".

At school one day, Nick decides he's finally going to do something about the people he and Valerie hate. He brings a gun to school and shoots people who are on the "Hate List". Valerie is horrified and is shot trying to stop him, while also saving the life of her enemy Jessica Campbell. Nick then turns the gun of himself and commits suicide. Months pass. Now everybody knows about the "Hate List" and Valerie is being considered a murderer and a hero at the same time. How will she ever return to school when mostly everyboy hates her? How can she admit that she still loves her dead boyfriend? How can she ever move on and live a normal life?

This book was absolutely amazing! I loved every second of it. It was a very emotional and heart breaking book. Squeezed a few tears out of me. Valerie faces every problem with strength and determination and I loved her as the main character. I could actually really relate with her because I've encountered the same family problems. I really couldn't put the book down. I wanted to know what would happen to Valerie next. I felt like this book made me see life in a whole different way. The book may not of had a lot of action or romance but it is definitely one of my favorite books. I really have nothing bad to say about the book. Sure some things were repeated too often and there were some loose ends when the book finished but who really cares? The book was great and that's all that matters.

I recommend this book to EVERYBODY. It is a must-read. No question about it. Read it because you'll love it.


Tuesday, August 25, 2009

Waiting on Wednesday (6)

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. It's a weekly meme to post about books that you can't wait to come out in book stores.


Dark Visions: The Strange Power, The Possessed and The Passion by L.J. Smith


Kaitlyn Fairchild has always felt like an outsider in her small hometown. Her haunting eyes and prophetic drawings have earned her a reputation as a witch. But Kait's not a witch: She's a psychic. Tired of being shunned, Kait accepts an invitation to attend the Zetes Institute, where she can have a fresh start and study with other psychic teens. Learning to hone her abilities with four other gifted students, Kait discovers the intensity of her power -- and the joy of having true friends. But those friendships quickly become complicated when Kait finds herself torn between two irresistible guys. Rob is kind and athletic, and heals people with his good energy. Gabriel is aggressive and mysterious, a telepath concealing his true nature as a psychic vampire, feeding off of others' life energy. Together, Rob and Gabriel's opposing forces threaten the group's stability. Then one of the experiments traps the five teens in a psychic link. A link that threatens their sanity and their lives. And Kaitlyn must decide whom to trust...and whom to love.

L.J. Smith is one of my fav authors so I can't wait for this come out! It sounds fantastic!

(Briana and Arielle may post later.)

Wishlist Wednesday (13)


The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

When we first meet 14-year-old Susie Salmon, she is already in heaven. This was before milk carton photos and public service announcements, she tells us; back in 1973, when Susie mysteriously disappeared, people still believed these things didn''t happen. In the sweet, untroubled voice of a precocious teenage girl, Susie relates the awful events of her death and her own adjustment to the strange new place she finds herself. It looks a lot like her school playground, with the good kind of swing sets. With love, longing, and a growing understanding, Susie watches her family as they cope with their grief, her father embarks on a search for the killer, her sister undertakes a feat of amazing daring, her little brother builds a fort in her honor and begin the difficult process of healing. In the hands of a brilliant novelist, this story of seemingly unbearable tragedy is transformed into a suspenseful and touching story about family, memory, love, heaven, and living.

(Briana and Arielle may post later.)

Sunday, August 23, 2009

Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac

Gabrielle Zevin

Published 2007

271 Pages

Rating: B

Sometimes a girl needs to lose.

If Naomi had picked tails, she would have won the coin toss.

She wouldn't have had to go back for the yearbook camera, and she wouldn't have hit her head on the steps.

She wouldn't have woken up in an ambulance with amnesia.

She certainly would have remembered her boyfriend, Ace. She might even have remembered why she fell in love with him in the first place.

She would understand why her best friend, Will, keeps calling her “Chief.” She'd know about her mom's new family.

She'd know about her dad's fiancée.

She never would have met James, the boy with the questionable past and the even fuzzier future, who tells her he once wanted to kiss her. She wouldn't have wanted to kiss him back.
But Naomi picked heads.

(taken from back of book)

I had read Zevin’s first book, Elsewhere, find Briana’s review for that here. So I was intriguied to read this book written by her. It seemed very interesting, and the story was something that would catch my attention anytime. Its about a girl who forgets everything from the past four years and doesn’t understand the life she lived before the accident. I honestly don’t know what I would do if that happened to me! I’d be freaked out!

Naomi was the best friend of Will. The girlfriend of Ace Zuckermen, the jock. Co-editor of her high school yearbook. And the daughter of her parents, her divorced parents. But now Naomi doesn’t know what her life is all about. She doesn’t remember the last four years of her life. She doesn’t remember meeting Will and becoming best friends with him. She doesn’t remember ever having feelings for Ace. She doesn’t remember why she has any interest in the yearbook. And she definitely doesn’t remember her parents splitting up. As she tries to put back the pieces of her old life, she deals with family, friends, school and love. Losing your memory from the past four years has its toll, and Naomi is wondering why her old life ever made her happy.

Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac is a book that captures your interest right from the start. It could be more exciting and more thrilling, but I think it is a good story. It'd be interesting to lose your memory and have to start over again.


Question:: If you had lost your memory but could choose to remember one thing, what would you want to remember?

-does that make sense? Ha.

P.S. I start my sophomore year of college tomorrow, so I am not sure how often I will be able to post stuff, but I know I will try and read as many books as I can! And hopefully I will have the will-power to write reviews on them. :)

Saturday, August 22, 2009

In My Mailbox (11)

In My Mailbox was created by The Story Siren. Click here to learn more about it.

Briana: This is basically the last week that I'll actually be receiving the books I get in my mailbox! They'll be at home waiting for me though, which is still awesome. Oh and by the way, thanks for the nominations on the awards guys! You're so sweet :)

After by Amy Efaw

An infant left in the trash to die. A teenage mother who never knew she was pregnant . . .

Before That Morning, these were the words most often used to describe straight-A student and star soccer player Devon Davenport: responsible, hardworking, mature. But all that changes when the police find Devon home sick from school as they investigate the case of an abandoned baby. Soon the connection is made—Devon has just given birth; the baby in the trash is hers. After That Morning, there's only one way to define Devon: attempted murderer.

And yet gifted author Amy Efaw does the impossible— she turns Devon into an empathetic character, a girl who was in such deep denial that she refused to believe she was pregnant. Through airtight writing and fast-paced, gripping storytelling, Ms. Efaw takes the reader on Devon's unforgettable journey toward clarity, acceptance, and redemption.

I won this from a contest over at Reverie Book Reviews. Thanks Vania! :) I really can't wait to read this book, it sounds fantastic.

Marisa: I received two books in the mail this week and then I bought one.

Swoon by Nina Malkin


Torn from her native New York City and dumped in the land of cookie-cutter preps, Candice is resigned to accept her posh, dull fate. Nothing even happens in Swoon, Connecticut...until Dice's perfect, privileged cousin Penelope nearly dies in a fall from an old tree and her spirit interwines with that of a ghost. His name? Sinclair Youngblood Powers. His mission? Revenge and while Pen is obvious to the possession, Dice is all too aware of Sin. She's intesely drawn to him—but not at all crazy abolut the havoc he's wreaking.

Determined to exorcise the demon, Dice accidentally sets Sin loose, gives him flesh, makes him formidable. Now she must destroy an even more potent—and irresistible—adversary before the whole town succumbs to Sin's will. Only trouble is, she's in love with him.

What do you do when the boy of your dreams is too bad to be true?

I got this book in the mail yesterday! It sounds awesome and I can't wait to read it! I also really love the cover.

Intertwined by Gena Showalter

Most sixteen-year-olds have friends. Aden Stone has four human souls living inside him:

One can time-travel.

One can raise the dead.

One can tell the future.

And one can possess another human.

With no other family and a life spent in and out of institutions, Aden and the souls have become friends. But now they''re causing him all kinds of trouble. Like, he''ll blink and suddenly he''s a younger Aden, reliving the past. One wrong move, and he''ll change the future. Or he''ll walk past a total stranger and know how and when she''s going to die. He's so over it. All he wants is peace. And then he meets a girl who quiets the voices. Well, as long as he''s near her. Why? Mary Ann Gray is his total opposite. He''s a loner; she has friends. He doesn''t care what anyone thinks; she tries to make everyone happy. And while he attracts the paranormal, she repels it. For her sake, he should stay away. But it''s too late…. Somehow, they share an inexplicable bond of friendship. A bond about to be tested by a werewolf shape-shifter who wants Mary Ann for his own, and a vampire princess Aden can''t resist. Two romances, both forbidden. Still, the four will enter a dark underworld of intrigue and danger-but not everyone will come out alive….

I saw this book at Chapters and I had to get it! It sounds fantastic and I love the cover. But I'm a bit confused because I thought this book was suppose to come out September 1st??

Never Slow Dance With A Zombie by E. Van Lowe

Principal Taft's 3 Simple Rules for Surviving a Zombie Uprising:

Rule #1: While in the halls, walk slowly and wear a vacant expression on your face. Zombies won't attack other zombies.

Rule #2: Never travel alone. Move in packs. Follow the crowd. Zombies detest blatant displays of individuality.

Rule #3: If a zombie should attack, do not run. Instead, throw raw steak at to him. Zombies love raw meat. This display of kindness will go a long way.

On the night of her middle school graduation, Margot Jean Johnson wrote a high school manifesto detailing her goals for what she was sure would be a most excellent high school career. She and her best friend, Sybil, would be popular and, most important, have boyfriends. Three years later, they haven't accomplished a thing! Then Margot and Sybil arrive at school one day to find that most of the student body has been turned into flesh-eating zombies. When kooky Principal Taft asks the girls to coexist with the zombies until the end of the semester, they realize that this is the perfect opportunity to live out their high school dreams. All they have to do is stay alive....

I received this book in the mail today and E. Van Lowe was kind enough to sign the book, include a letter and send me three bookmarks and buttons for Briana, Arielle and I. How awesome is that?!? I can't wait to read this! It sounds great and I also love the cover of this one too!

Arielle's Update

Hey you guys!

I wanted to let you all know that I am finally back from my vacation! Although technically I shouldnt call it a vacation, we didnt even go to where we were supposed to go, the East Coast. Our RV broke down a record of 3 times the whole trip and we only made it to Somerset, PA. Kind of a bummer, but oh well, we still had some fun.

I was going to do a bunch of extra posts, but I decided to do one mass post! :)

First off, when I arrived home at 1:00 am, I was happily surprised to find a package waiting for me! And it was my first ARC!!! Briana had also received this ARC and it is called Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick. I was very happy to come home to something in the mail for me! :) And hopefully I can read this book soon because it sounds so amazing!!!

Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

For Nora Grey, romance was not part of the plan. She's never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how much her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her. Not until Patch came along.

With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Nora is drawn to him against her better judgment.

But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora's not sure who to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is, and to know more about her than her closest friends. She can't decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is way more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.

For Nora is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen - and, when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost her life.

Secondly, I read a few books on my vacation so I thought I would post a review.

Before I Die by Jenny Downham

Published 2007
326 Pages
Rating: B-

Everyone has to die. We all know it.
With only a few months of life left, sixteen-year old Tessa knows it better than most.
She's made a list, though - ten things she wants to do before she dies. Numer one is sex. Starting tonight.
But getting what you want isnt easy. And getting what you want doesnt always give you what you need. And sometimes the most unexpected things become important.
(taken from back of book)

I was kind of skeptical about this book because I am not a fan of books where people die... I am a very emotional person. Also this book is set in England and some language that Downham uses wasnt something that I was used to, but I got used to it after a while.

Tessa has been diagnosed with cancer since she was 10, and lately she has been sick of being sick. She knows she is going to die soon and she doesnt want to spend the rest of her time in bed just dying. She wants to live her life, thus the reason she writes a list of 10 things she wants to do before she dies. Some are illegal. Some hurt her. Some hurt others. But most make her finally feel alive. She never regrets doing any one thing on her list and in the end her life has never been more exciting. Filled with doubt, temptation, love and friendship, Tessa battles cancer and finally opens up to the amazing world around her.

I tried not to give much detail in this review because I never want to spoil anything for you guys, and I am afraid if I said too much I would do just that. This is a fairly good book and I think most of you would enjoy it.

fyi, this book may not be suitable for those under 13.

And lastly, I definitely think all you guys should enter our CONTEST!!!! It is a really good book and I promise you that you will like it! The cover looks odd, but it is really great! So enter!!!

Sorry I dont have any pictures from my trip for you guys, but maybe I will later!


Friday, August 21, 2009

100 Followers Contest!

In honor of our amazing 100 followers, we're going to have a contest! Yay! We're going to give away a favorite book of mine (Briana) and Arielle's. When I first saw this book, I hated the cover and did not want to read it. I thought it sounded so strange. But then I read it and it seriously changed my life. Give this book a shot, you won't regret it.

Meet Ed Kennedy — underage cabdriver, pathetic cardplayer, and useless at romance. He lives in a shack with his coffee-addicted dog, the Doorman, and he’s hopelessly in love with his best friend, Audrey. His life is one of peaceful routine and incompetence, until he inadvertently stops a bank robbery. That’s when the first Ace arrives. That’s when Ed becomes the messenger. . . .

Chosen to care, he makes his way through town helping and hurting (when necessary), until only one question remains: Who’s behind Ed’s mission?

How to enter:

  • Since this contest is celebrating our followers, you must be a follower to enter!
  • Comment on this post and make sure you put your email address so we can contact you if you win!

Extra Entries:

  • +1 New followers
  • +2 Old followers
  • +2 Linking this contest to sidebar, Twitter, etc. (Include links please)
  • +5 Posting about this contest on your blog
  • +3 Adding us to your blog roll

The contest deadline is 09-10-09!

Good luck everyone! :)

Hunger (Gone series)

Michael Grant

Published May 2009

590 pages

Rating: A


It's been three months since everyone under the age of fifteen became trapped in the bubble known as the FAYZ. Three months since all the adults disappeared. Gone.

Food ran out weeks ago. Everyone is starving, but no one wants to figure out a solution. And each day, more and more kids are evolving, developing supernatural abilities that set them apart from the kids without powers.

Tension rises and chaos is descending upon the town. It's the normal kids against the mutants. Each kid is out for himself, and even the good ones turn murderous.

But a larger problem looms. The Darkness, a sinister creature that has lived buried deep in the hills, begins calling to some of the teens in the FAYZ. Calling to them, guiding them, manipulating them.

The Darkness has awakened. And it is hungry.

My review

So, Hunger starts off a few months after the ending of Gone. Things in the "FAYZ" are worse than ever. Food is running out and kids are going hungry. Some are even eating pets (I know gross right?!?). When kids try to cultivate food from the fields, they encounter another mutated species. Killer worms that can penetrate your skin and crawl inside of you. So how is Sam Temple, "mayor" of Perdido Beach, suppose to feed anybody and take care of what Caine, Drake and Diana are planning? But there are more problems. New powerful mutants. A certain "Darkness" deep in a mine shaft. Normal kids vs. mutants. But the most important... hunger.

Wow. I love this book so much! I mean Gone is great but Hunger is a lot better! It picked up where it left off and I couldn't put the book down. I swear the book NEVER has a dull moment. I was always on the edge of my seat, anticipating what would happen next. The book is so full of action. And also there are so many characters to love! I can really relate to quite a few of them but Caine is my favorite character. I wonder why? Oh, wait, I know! He's a bad boy. I love me some bad boys. Anyway, I love all the new problems that surfaced. The ideas that Michael Grant create in the book are phenomenal.

Bad things about the book now. I can't think of much. The book is a bit too depressing for my taste but it wasn't a big deal. I'm happy to say there's not a lot of "bro", "brah" or "brother" in the book. But it was still said. Oh and also, the book is DISGUSTING! But I kind of enjoyed the disgusting aspects of the book. It made everything all the more interesting. But if you get freaked out easily or get sick easily then I suggest you don't read the book.

I'm sure you guys are getting tired of my babble reviews but that's just what I do while I write a review. I say what comes to mind. So sorry about that. To end this review, I recommend this book to everybody. Seriously. Read it. This book is one of my new favs.


Thursday, August 20, 2009

A New Chapter...

I was kind of putting this post off just because it's making me a little sad, but as some of you may know, I'm going away to college in about 3 days. Why am I telling you this? I won't be able to come on the blog as often as I usually do and I just wanted to let you all know why. I'm not the kind of student that has a photographic memory and rarely needs to study, I need to look things over about 20 times to get it in my head. Enough with the excuses, basically I just wanted to apologize in advance for not coming on nearly as often as I do.

Oh and look out for a contest celebrating our 100 followers!!! How cool is that?! :)


Booking Through Thursday (4)

What’s the best book you’ve read recently?

(Tell me you didn’t see this one coming?)

Briana: I think I'll have to say Candor by Pam Bachorz. It was a really intriguing book with a great plot. Check out my review of it here.

Marisa: Probably Strange Angels by Lili St. Crow. It was full of action and I enjoyed Dru's personality. And I had a thing for Christophe :) Check out my review for it here.

Arielle: I would have to say Gone by Michael Grant. It is a really good book, and thanks to Marisa, I read it! I havent reviewed it yet, but check out Marisa's review here!

Bloody Bookaholic's Mega Palooza Contest!

Hey guys! There's an AWESOME contest going on at Bloody Bookaholic's blog! 20 books! There's three winners! Click here to enter!


Wednesday, August 19, 2009

Waiting on Wednesday (5)

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. It's a weekly meme to post about books that you can't wait to come out in book stores.


Shadow Souls (The Vampire Diaries: The Return #2)

Elena Gilbert is at the center of magic and danger beyond her imagining. But this time her vampire boyfriend, Stefan, isn’t there to help! Elena is forced to trust her life to his brother, Damon, the handsome but deadly vampire who wants Elena, body and soul. The tension between Elena and Damon mounts until Elena is faced with a terrible decision: Which brother does she really want?

I can't wait for this book to come out! I have been waiting for a long time and it's supposedly coming out in spring 2010. I also don't know for sure if this is the proper cover or description but it looks like it!


The Unwritten Rule by Elizabeth Scott

I liked him first, but it doesn't matter.

I still like him.

That doesn't matter either.

Or at least, it's not supposed to.

Not a very descriptive description, but I think I get the idea. I've been in the mood for some good chick lit lately!

(Arielle may post later.)

Wishlist Wednesday (12)


Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

St. Vladimir's Academy isn't just any boarding school—it's a hidden place where vampires are educated in the ways of magic and half-human teens train to protect them. Rose Hathaway is a Dhampir, a bodyguard for her best friend Lissa, a Moroi Vampire Princess. They've been on the run, but now they're being dragged back to St. Vladimir's—the very place where they're most in danger. . . .

Rose and Lissa become enmeshed in forbidden romance, the Academy's ruthless social scene, and unspeakable nighttime rituals. But they must be careful lest the Strigoi—the world's fiercest and most dangerous vampires—make Lissa one of them forever.

I have been wanting to read the Vampire Academy series for a REALLY long time! I think that I'm going to finally buy the book the next time I go out because it sounds great and a lot people seem to love it. And it's about vampires so it's a must read!


Ballads of Suburbia by Stephanie Kuehnert

Kara hasn't been back to Oak Park since the end of junior year, when a heroin overdose nearly killed her and sirens heralded her exit. Four years later, she returns to face the music. Her life changed forever back in high school: her family disintegrated, she ran around with a whole new crowd of friends, she partied a little too hard, and she fell in love with gorgeous bad-boy Adrian, who left her to die that day in Scoville Park....

Amid the music, the booze, the drugs, and the drama, her friends filled a notebook with heartbreakingly honest confessions of the moments that defined and shattered their young lives. Now, finally, Kara is ready to write her own.

I think just about everyone that read this book, LOVED it. I just entered a contest to win it at The Book Pixie!

(Arielle may post later.)

Monday, August 17, 2009

Official New Moon Clip: Meet Jacob!

Briana: The video wasn't working so just click here and it should be on the page. I love it! I think I might be turning into a Team Jacob girl... it's hard to tell right now. Everything looks SO great! Let us know what you thought of the video, good or bad.

Sunday, August 16, 2009

Strange Angels

Lili St. Crow

Published 2009

293 pages

Rating: A-


Dru Anderson has what her grandmother called "the touch." (Comes in handy when you're traveling from town to town with your dad, hunting ghosts, suckers, wulfen, and the occasional zombie.)

Then her dad turns up dead—but still walking—and Dru knows she's next. Even worse, she's got two guys hungry for her affections, and they're not about to let the fiercely independent Dru go it alone. Will Dru discover just how special she really is before coming face-to-fang with whatever—or whoever— is hunting her?

My review

So I received this book in the mail and I was pretty excited because I love supernatural books but I had also heard some bad things about the book too. It's pretty much about a girl named Dru Anderson who helps her dad kill creatures of the night, such as: ghosts, poltergeists, vampires, zombies, werewolves and more. But when Dru's dad comes back from a hunt as a zombie, Dru knows that something terrible killed her dad and that now... it's coming for her.

I really liked this book! It was full of action, which obviously I like and there were some parts of the book that actually did creep me out. Right from the beginning, the book had me hooked on what would happen next. And at the end of the book, you'll be begging for more. I also liked how zombies were involved in the book too. It was the first time I had read about zombies and I really enjoyed it. And I also really liked Dru's personality and her sense of humor. She made me laugh a few times and comedy is always a good thing. Oh and you can't forget about the love triangle! Yes, once again, there IS a love triangle! It seems that love triangles are everywhere these days. You have Graves, the somewhat Goth boy who is protective, nice and funny. Then you have Christophe (Chris for short), the sexy half-vampire who is dangerous, strong, witty and also funny. You could fall in love with either of them but I tend to LOVE the bad boys soooo obviously I fell in love with Christophe.

Any bad things to say about the book? Not really. Maybe a few things I could mention. Some things were definitely repeated too much, for example, the color of a person's eyes. And there were some awkward words in the book that didn't fully make sense, in my opinion. I also wish that the werewolves vs. vampires thing would come to an end because frankly, too many books are about that feud.

So to finish, I loved reading this book and I can't wait to read Betrayals. I recommend this book to anyone who loves creepy, action-packed and supernatural books. Actually, I think pretty much anybody could read this.


Saturday, August 15, 2009

In My Mailbox (10)

In My Mailbox was created by The Story Siren. Click here to learn more about it.

Briana: I thought my mailbox was going to be empty this week, wrong! :)

The Other Side of the Island by Allegra Goodman

Honor and her parents have been reassigned to live on Island 365 in the Tranquil Sea. Life is peaceful there—the color of the sky is regulated by Earth Mother, a corporation that controls New Weather, and it almost never rains. Everyone fits into their rightful and predictable place. . . .
Except Honor. She doesn't fit in, but then she meets Helix, a boy with a big heart and a keen sense for the world around them. Slowly, Honor and Helix begin to uncover a terrible truth about life on the Island: Sooner or later, those who are unpredictable disappear . . . and they don't ever come back.

Doesn't this book sound amazing? I was very happy to receive this book in the mail from Chelsea over at The Page Flipper. Don't you just love contests? :)

Secret Society by Tom Dolby
Once you get in . . . you can never get out.
Do you ever wonder how some people have it all? The best schools, the hottest parties, the priciest clothes, the easiest jobs? Maybe it's not because they work hard and get a lucky break every once in a while. Maybe it's because they're part of a secret group. A secret society.

Okay, so I've been wondering ever since I got this, why I got it. I'm pretty sure I didn't request it and I don't think I won it from a contest. Don't get me wrong, I'm SO excited to read this! It sounds so fantastic and I love the whole glamorous life style type of books and the mystery just adds to the excitement I have for this book. I just would really like to know how I got it! Lol. It's from Harper Teen. That's what it said on the package. Hm... a mystery :)

Marisa: This is my first time posting for "In My Mailbox" because usually I only have one book
but this week I have many.

Hunger by Michael Grant (Gone series)




Food ran out weeks. Everyone is starving, but no one wants to figure out a solution. And each day, more and more kids are evolving, developing supernatural abilities that set them apart from the kids without powers.

Tension rises and chaos is descending upon the town. It's the normal kids against the mutants. Each kid is out for himself, and even the good ones turn murderous.

But a larger problem looms. The Darkness, a sinister creature that has lived buried deep in the hills, begins calling to some of the teens in the FAYZ. Calling to them, guiding them, manipulating them.

The Darkness has awakened. And it is hungry.

I read Gone awhile ago and I really liked it so I've been looking forward to reading Hunger for a long time now.

North of Beautiful by Justina Chen Headley

As he continued to stare, I wanted to point to my cheek and remind him, But you were the one who wanted this, remember? You're the one who asked-and I repeat-Why not fix your face? It's hard not to notice Terra Cooper. She's tall, blond, and has an enviable body. But with one turn of her cheek, all people notice is her unmistakably "flawed" face. Terra secretly plans to leave her stifling small town in the Northwest and escape to an East Coast college, but gets pushed off-course by her controlling father. When an unexpected collision puts Terra directly in Jacob's path, the handsome but quirky Goth boy immediately challenges her assumptions about herself and her life, and she is forced in yet another direction. With her carefully laid plans disrupted, will Terra be able to find her true path?

I've heard alot of good things about this book and it sounds great so I can't wait to read it!

Hate List by Jennifer Brown

Five months ago, Valerie Leftman's boyfriend, Nick, opened fire on their school cafeteria. Shot trying to stop him, Valerie inadvertently saved the life of a classmate, but was implicated in the shootings because of the list she helped create. A list of people and things she and Nick hated. The list he used to pick his targets. Now, after a summer of seclusion, Val is forced to confront her guilt as she returns to school to complete her senior year. Haunted by the memory of the boyfriend she still loves and navigating rocky relationships with her family, former friends and the girl whose life she saved, Val must come to grips with the tragedy that took place and her role in it, in order to make amends and move on with her life.

My first ARC! YAY! Apparently this book is amazing and it does sound great so I am super excited to read it!

Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink

Without the Keys, something terrible will happen.
Something that cannot be undone.
And with them, I might bring an end to the
riddle of the Prophecy and my strange part in it.

If Alice and I are on conflicting sides of the Prophecy,
the Keys would be dangerous in her hands.
Which means I have to find them.
And I have to do
it before my sister.

Sixteen year-old Lia Milthorpe has just recently lost her father, leaving her parentless. But when a strange mark appears on her wrist, she realizes she is being branded with much more than her newfound title of orphan. Lia and her twin sister Alice are part of an ancient prophecy that has turned generations of sisters against each other. Lia hides this discovery from Alice and even from her beloved James, but to escape from the burden this secret bestows she must end the prophecy-before her sister. Only then will she understand the mysterious circumstances of her parents' deaths, the true meaning of the mark on her wrist, the lengths to which her sister will go to defeat her, and the impact the resolution of the prophecy could have.

This book sounds so awesome! I love everything about it!

Thirst (No. 1) by Christopher Pike

As to blood —
ah, blood, the whole subject fascinates me. I do like that as well, warm and dripping, when I am thirsty. And I am often thirsty....

Alisa has been in control of her urges for the five thousand years she has been a vampire. She feeds but does not kill, and she lives her life on the fringe to maintain her secret. But when her creator returns to hunt her, she must break her own rules in order to survive.

Her quest leads her to Ray. He is the only person who can help her; he also has every reason to fear her. Alisa must get closer to him to ensure her immortality. But as she begins to fall in love with Ray, suddenly there is more at stake than her own life....

I borrowed this from a friend because it sounds good and I'm willing to give a try. Besides it's about vampires! So it's a must read :P

Extras by Scott Westerfeld (Uglies series)

It's a few years after rebel Tally Youngblood took down the uglies/pretties/specials regime. Without those strict roles and rules, the world is in a complete cultural renaissance. "Tech-heads" flaunt their latest gadgets, "kickers" spread gossip and trends, and "surge monkeys" are hooked on extreme plastic surgery. And it's all monitored on a bazillion different cameras. The world is like a gigantic game of American Idol. Whoever is getting the most buzz gets the most votes. Popularity rules. As if being fifteen doesn't suck enough, Aya Fuse's rank of 451,369 is so low, she's a total nobody. An extra. But Aya doesn't care; she just wants to lie low with her drone, Moggle. And maybe kick a good story for herself. Then Aya meets a clique of girls who pull crazy tricks, yet are deeply secretive of it. Aya wants desperately to kick their story, to show everyone how intensely cool the Sly Girls are. But doing so would propel her out of extra-land and into the world of fame, celebrity...and extreme danger. A world she's not prepared for.

So I know I haven't read the first three books in the Uglies series but I saw this on sale at a bookstore for 5$ and I had to get it because at some point I will read the Uglies series.

(Arielle is on vacation.)

Thursday, August 13, 2009

Kissed by an Angel

Elizabeth Chandler

Published 2008

704 pages

Rating: B-


A love beyond life...a danger beyond doubt.

In a romantic and suspenseful collection of the New York Times bestselling trilogy, love's unbreakable bonds are put to the test.

When her boyfriend, Tristan, died, Ivy thought she'd lost everything, even her faith in angels. But now she's discovered that he's her guardian angel — his presence so strong that she can feel the touch of his hand, the beat of his heart. Ivy needs Tristan now more than ever because he knows she's in terrible danger. Only Ivy's guardian angel can save her now that his killer is after her.

But if Tristan rescues Ivy, his mission on earth will be finished, and he must leave her behind forever. Will saving Ivy mean losing her just when he's finally reached her again?

My review

This is going to be a short review since I don't have much to say about the book. So this book was about Ivy and her boyfriend Tristan. They started dating near the beginning of the book and fall madly in love with each other. While driving to a restaurant, Tristan and Ivy get in an accident that wasn't actually an accident. Ivy survives the crash but Tristan doesn't. Instead of waking up in heaven, he wakes up on Earth. Nobody can see him except for other angels. He realizes that he has a mission on Earth and that mission is to save Ivy since she was the one who was supposed to die that night of the crash, not him. But saving Ivy will mean he'll have to leave her once again... but this time it's forever.

Okay so the storyline sounds really good right? Well it is. But the book dragged on WAY too long. I mean I could of probably took out 300 pages of the book and it would of been much better. Maybe it was just me but I don't know. Trust me I liked the book but I couldn't wait to finish it because the same things were happening over and over in the book. I mean Ivy only learns that Tristan is her guardian angel until the end of the book! But I did like some parts of the book that were intense and suspenseful. Really though, the book only picked up near the end. I actually really liked the end. But the whole middle section was BORING! I mean if you like romantic books with not a lot of action then read this. Oh and I also couldn't really connect with Ivy.

Let's talk about the good stuff now. I loved the characters in this book. But I did feel that Ivy got ALL of the guys just like in every other book. I hate it when authors make it seem like the female role is perfect because, um hello, girls are NOT like that in real life! Sorry good stuff. Um. I fell in love with Will :) You might fall in love with Tristan or Gregory but for me, it was Will. The book kept me guessing, which I like. Some parts of the book actually did creep me out, I must admit.

And there you go. Another review of me just babbling. I'm not sure if I recommend this. I guess for romance lovers go ahead. And mystery lovers. But don't spend your money on it. Borrow it from a friend or rent it from the library. Read it on a rainy day or when you have nothing else to read.


Wednesday, August 12, 2009

The Summer I turned Pretty

Jenny Han

Published 2009

276 Pages

Rating: B

Some summers are just destined to be pretty.

Belly measures her life in summers. Everything good, everything magical happens between the months of June and August. Winters are simply a time to count the weeks until the next summer, a place away from the beach house, away from Susannah, and most importantly, away from Jeremiah and Conrad. They are the boys that Belly has known since her very first summer – they have been her brother figures, her crushes, and everything in between. But one summer, one wonderful and terrible summer, the more everything changes, the more it all ends up just the way it should have all along.

(taken from inside flap)

Belly, her brother Steven and her mother always go to Susannah’s beach house every summer. Susannah has two sons, Jeremiah and Conrad. Susannah and Belly’s mother, Laurel have been friends forever, and every summer they spend at this beach house, in Cousin’s. Belly was always the one that was left out. The only girl out of the four kids, she was used to having to hang out with herself. But this summer is different. She’s pretty.

Belly has always been pretty, but for some reason this summer people actually see her beauty. Her brother Steven is going to be a senior, and later in the summer he leaves with his dad to go on a road trip to look at colleges. Conrad is going to be a freshman in college, and he has been acting strange all summer and Belly wants to know why. Jeremiah is still the same, Belly’s true friend, they always stick together. There’s a secret that Susannah is keeping from Belly, and she doesn’t find out until it’s too late. And she also enjoys a summer romance with a boy named Cam.

Belly has to learn that as she gets older, and the summers creep past her, she has to grow up and be a mature, young woman. She battles boys, love, family issues, and her maturity.

The book was a tad confusing at first because there are flashbacks to her previous summers at the beach house, yet I enjoyed this book very much. I am sorry if my review was a little confusing but I am writing this before I leave for my trip, so I am a little excited! Ha. I would recommend this book to every teenage girl who loves romance books with a little something else added to them.

I’ll see/talk to you guys in 2 weeks!!! And maybe I will even have some pictures to show you of my travels! :)


My Sister's Keeper

Jodi Picoult

Published 2004

432 pages

Rating: B+


Anna is not sick, but she might as well be. By age thirteen, she has undergone countless surgeries, transfusions, and shots so that her older sister, Kate, can somehow fight the leukemia that has plagued her since childhood. The product of preimplantation genetic diagnosis, Anna was conceived as a bone marrow match for Kate — a life and a role that she has never challenged...until now. Like most teenagers, Anna is beginning to question who she truly is. But unlike most teenagers, she has always been defined in terms of her sister — and so Anna makes a decision that for most would be unthinkable, a decision that will tear her family apart and have perhaps fatal consequences for the sister she loves.

My review

So, I'm going to make this a small review because I'm pretty sure a lot of people know what this book is about. Kate was diagnosed with leukemia when she was two, and that is why Anna was created. To be a donor for Kate. For her entire life, Anna has had surgeries for her sister. But what if she's tired of being a donor? What if she wants to live a normal life? When Anna hires a lawyer to be medically emancipated from her parents, she will no longer have to be a donor for Kate. But without a new kidney, Kate will die.... and her mom isn't going to let that happen.

Okay so I wasn't sure if I would like this book because usually I like action, romance and supernatural books. But I really liked this book! I was hooked from the first chapter. I thought the whole idea of the book was great and it teaches people to value family. This book made me laugh quite a few times but it definitely made me cry too. I also liked how each chapter of the book changed to a different character's perspective. I found myself really liking Brian, Jesse and Julia's perspectives of the story for some reason. Okay let's talk about romance because there was some romance in the book. I absolutely loved the Campbell/Julia relationship and was dying to know what actually happened between the two. I loved how alcohol and drugs were also involved in the story along with cancer. A few good twists and turns in the book too.

Now moving on to things I didn't like about the book. Sara Fitzgerald, (Anna, Kate and Jesse's mom) in my opinion, did not seem to care about Anna or Jesse. All she ever cared/talked about was Kate, Kate and more KATE! I was thinking to myself "You have other children to worry about too, you know!" I mean I understand that Kate is sick but Sara rarely paid attention to Anna and Jesse unless it involved Kate. I'm not sure if this drove anybody else crazy but it did with me. And also, the book confused me at times.

Enough of me babbling. To finish, I recommend this book to pretty much anyone. Everyone and anyone who loves a good, cute and sad read then this is the book for you.


Tuesday, August 11, 2009

Waiting on Wednesday (4)

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. It's a weekly meme to post about books that you can't wait to come out in book stores.


Strange Fate by L.J. Smith (Night World series No. 4)

Sixteen-year-old Sarah Strange finds life a mass of contradictions. She’s an ordinary-looking girl, and yet two of the most popular guys at school form her circle of friends. Kierlan Drache and Mal Harman, who are as unalike as any two people can be. That ought to make her happy, but recently she’s been having romantic feelings about each of them—and has seen two silver cords: one reaching from her to Kierlan, and one from her to Mal. What’s going on? In addition, every night she dreams of a future where dragons and vampires rule the world, and of a brave child called Crispy. For a girl who hasn’t even heard of the Night World yet, Sarah has a lot to handle! Even worse, the Apocalypse has finally come—and even the Wild Powers see only one way to stop it. This is an epic volume, which stars all the most beloved Night Worlders from the other books. Be prepared, though, because seven go on a mission to save the world . . . and only two come back.

Another Faust by Daniel & Dina Nayeri
One night, in cities all across Europe, five children vanish — only to appear, years later, at an exclusive New York party with a strange and elegant governess. Rumor and mystery follow the Faust teenagers to the city’s most prestigious high school, where they soar to suspicious heights with the help of their benefactor’s extraordinary "gifts." But as the students claw their way up — reading minds, erasing scenes, stopping time, stealing power, seducing with artificial beauty — they start to suffer the sideeffects of their own addictions. And as they make further deals with the devil, they uncover secrets more shocking than their most unforgivable sins. At once chilling and wickedly satirical, this contemporary reimagining of the Faustian bargain is a compelling tale of ambition, consequences, and ultimate redemption.
This book sounds SO fantastic. I don't even think I can explain why I want it. Everything about it just sounds so amazong. And the cover! I LOVE IT.
(Arielle is on vacation.)

Wishlist Wednesday (11)


Generation Dead by Daniel Waters

Phoebe Kendall is just your typical Goth girl with a crush. He's strong and silent and dead.

All over the country, a strange phenomenon is occurring. Some teenagers who die aren't staying dead. But when they come back to life, they are no longer the same. Feared and misunderstood, they are doing their best to blend into a society that doesn't want them.

The administration at Oakvale High attempts to be more welcoming of the "differently biotic." But the students don't want to take classes or eat in the cafeteria next to someone who isn't breathing. And there are no laws that exist to protect the "living impaired" from the people who want them to disappear-for good.

When Phoebe falls for Tommy Williams, the leader of the dead kids, no one can believe it; not her best friend, Margi, and especially not her neighbor, Adam, the star of the football team. Adam has feelings for Phoebe that run much deeper than just friendship; he would do anything for her. But what if protecting Tommy is the one thing that would make her happy?


Sweethearts by Sara Zarr

As children, Jennifer Harris and Cameron Quick were both social outcasts. They were also one another's only friend. So when Cameron disappears without warning, Jennifer thinks she's lost the only person who will ever understand her. Now in high school, Jennifer has been transformed. Known as Jenna, she's popular, happy, and dating, everything "Jennifer" couldn't be—-but she still can't shake the memory of her long-lost friend.

When Cameron suddenly reappears, they are both confronted with memories of their shared past and the drastically different paths their lives have taken.

How cute does this book sound?! I've seen it at Barnes & Noble several times but never picked it up. I know that I want to read it, but I just never bothered buying it. Next time I'm at Barnes & Noble I'm going to try my hardest to remember to buy this book!

(Arielle is on vacation.)

Teaser Tuesday (2)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:-Grab your current read

-Open to a random page

-Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page

-BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)

-Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

The Amanda Project Book 1: The Invisible I by Stella Lennon

"The combination of his saying, She's here and looking behind me made me spin around, expecting to see Amanda walking towards us. But all I saw was Nia, slapping her phone shut."

PG. 85

Briana: This book is pretty exciting already. I've never read a book with a character named Nia in it before reading CANDOR by Pam Bachorz, and now I'm reading a second book in a row with a character named Nia in it. Haha. Sorry if that made absolutely no sense at all.

(Marisa may post later. Arielle is off camping!)