Home    Reviews    Review Policy    About BAM    Double Dose

Friday, July 31, 2009

The ABC's of Briana, Arielle and Marisa

Don't you just love surveys?

The Rules:

- Link to the person who tagged you
- Share your ABCs
- Tag three people at the end by linking to their blogs
- Let the three tagged people know they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their website
- Do not tag the same person repeatedly but try to tag different people, so there is a big network of bloggers doing this tag.

Taken or single?

Briana: Single as can be. I hope that changes when I move away to college though!

Marisa: Taken!! :)

Arielle: Single.. But happy!! :) 

Best Friend?

Briana: Marisa! I met her through YouTube and we've been besties for a while now! We talk almost everyday even though she lives a trillion miles away.

Marisa: Briana of course! Yes she asked me a question on Youtube and then BAM! Instant friends.

Arielle: I definitely think Briana, Marisa and I would all be bff's if we lived near each other! :)

Cake or Pie?

Briana: Depends on the cake or the pie. For example, I HATE Lemon Meringue(sp) and buttercream icing on cake is way too sweet for me! But if you give me cake with whipped cream icing then I'll gobble it up but... if you give me some homemade apple pie (grandma's secret recipe), then I think I would have to pick the pie.

Marisa: I think I have to pick..... cake. Mmmm. Chocolate. But I like pies too.

Arielle:  Mmmm... pie. :) 

Drink of choice?

Briana: I love Sprite and Coke, but I gain too much weight when I drink those. They bloat me up like a fish. Now, my main choice is water.

Marisa: Chocolate milk or lemonade.

Arielle: I love water!! And Milk. And Sierra Mist! 

Essential item for every day use?

Briana: Laptop of course! It's hard living without it. I'm seriously so dependent on it.

Marisa: Ah yeah. Another thing Briana and I have in common. Laptop!

Arielle: Definitely my laptop! I love it!!  

Favorite color?

Briana: Well, it changes quite frequently. But I love simplicity, so black and white maybe?

Marisa: Red. I like black too but it's a shade right?

Arielle: Apple Green!! 


Briana: I use it all the time! It's so useful.

Marisa: Yes! I use it for everything. And I really mean EVERYTHING.

Arielle: I love Google! Its the best!! 


Briana: No offense bloggers/followers, but I don't feel comfortable saying that since it's the same place where I live now and anyone can be reading this.

Marisa: Same as Briana. I don't want any stalkers. Haha.

Arielle: Keeping my mouth shut on this one.. I dont like stalkers!! Ha. 


Briana: I love chips (Middleswarth BBQ) and Salt n' Vinegar. I eat fast food more than I should, and I LOVE ice cream.

Marisa: I eat junk food WAY too much. Mostly ice cream.

Arielle: Twizzlers!!! Such a tasty treat! And chocolate covered raisins! 

January or February?

Briana: Both! I love winter :)

Marisa: January!! Winter is my fav season. I like summer too but winter is prettier.

Arielle: January!! Its the new year!! YAY! 

Kids and their names?

Briana: I want about 4 kids when I'm ready and I love the names Kenadie, Liv, Nahla, Reed and Rory for a girl. For a boy I love Max, Austin, Dixon, Cam, Samuel, Reid and Seth.

Marisa: I'd say about 3 kids. And I like the names Blaire, Blake, Laura and Leighton for girls. I'm not sure about boys... maybe Adam. Oh! I actually do like Emmett. Yes from Twilight haha.

Arielle: About 2 or 3 kids.. I like the names James, Simon...and yeah I cant think of anymore! 

Life is incomplete without...?

Briana: Friends and family.

Marisa: Fun. If you don't live your life in a fun way then I find it's incomplete. And life is incomplete without friends and family of course.

Arielle: People who love you and make you smile! 

Marriage date?

Briana: Sometime in the winter. It's my favorite season :)

Marisa: Hmm. I think fall is a nice season to get married in. Or maybe spring but it would be too rainy.

Arielle: The fall! I love all the pretty colors! It would make it so beautiful. 

Number of siblings?

Briana: Only one big brother, my parents stopped after they had me! Haha.

Marisa: Two. Brother and sister.

Arielle: Two sisters. And three stepsiblings - two brothers, and one sister. 

Oranges or apples?

Briana: Oranges! The only time I eat apples are in apple pie.

Marisa: Can't pick between the two! I love both.

Arielle: Hmm.. it depends! Oranges for summer and Apples for fall :)

Phobias and fears?

Briana: Sharks and the girl from The Exorcist. Yikes!

Marisa: I'm afraid of sharks too. And I'm afraid of spiders. Sometimes I'm afraid of heights but not really.

Arielle: I just had a scary dream about sharks..so now I hate them. 

Fear of death?

Briana: Not really, fear of pain is more like it.

Marisa: Not exactly of death but of what I'll miss after I'm dead.

Arielle: Not really.. I am afraid that I wont have lived my life to the fullest when I die. 

Quote for the day?

Briana: "I'll be a little leaner, a little meaner, but I'm running" Senator Chris Dodd

Marisa: I don't have one :(

Arielle: “Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter, and those who matter won’t mind.” - Dr. Seuss.

Reason to smile?

Briana: Getting an A on a test you studied for, getting to know the boy you like and finding out he likes you back, getting into the school of your choice, etc.

Marisa: Funny memories of friends and family, when you buy a new book, when a person says "I love you", when you and your friend have too many things in common.... hahaha.
I don't think I make sense but who cares.

Arielle: Waking up to a beautiful day and spending it with friends and creating memories that you will never forget. 


Briana: Winter. I like Fall too though. Summer gets way too hot but I love the thunder storms. Spring is okay, but it makes my allergies go nuts.

Marisa: Winter. So beautiful.

Arielle: Fall! I love colors!! And falling leaves. 

Tag 3 people?

Bloody Bookaholic
Writing About Reading
From the Heart

Unknown fact about me?

Briana: I'm going to be a college student in the fall! (Some may know)

Marisa: I live in Canada.

Arielle: I have moved 3 times in the past 5 years. 

Vegetable you hate?

Briana: Wow. I just went blank.

Marisa: Celery.

Arielle: Canned green beans. 

Worst habit?

Briana: Biting my nails!

Marisa: I don't think I have one.

Arielle: Swearing when I get angry. 

Xrays you've had?

Briana: On my skull after a bad snowboarding accident :/

Marisa: My teeth.

Arielle: My teeth, my skull, and my chest. 

Your fave food?

Briana: Too many to name!

Marisa: Yeah are you kidding?!? I'd have like a paragraph of answers.

Arielle: I have a lot!! But I cant live without eating pasta!! 

Zodiac sign?

Briana: Gemini :)

Marisa: Aquarius!!

Arielle: Cancer :]

Thursday, July 30, 2009

New Poll; Rock the Vote Guys!

I stole this idea from Flip the Page Book Reviews. Since I am almost done with the book I'm reading for school (Thank goodness!), I will have to decide what book to read next. I was hoping you guys can help me out? :)


Booking Through Thursday (2)

What's the funniest book you've read recently?

Briana: Well, I haven't read a funny book in a while but I guess I'd have to say This Lullaby or Looking for Alaska. Their intention is probably not to be funny, but some of the parts had me cracking up. When Dexter (This Lullaby) crashed into Remy for the first time they met, I swear I laughed out loud. In Looking for Alaska, I just loved the thoughts of Miles and the Colonel had me cracking up.

Arielle: I can honestly say that I dont think I have ever read a really funny book. There has always been some sort of serious issue about it, or it just wasnt all that funny for me, even if it was supposed to be. Although I do remembering laughing a bit in Megan Meade's Guide to the McGowan Boys, all 7 of those boys just made me laugh and when Megan interacts with them, it can get pretty funny. There are some good funny books out there, but I guess I havent read them, which is kind of sad! So I would love some recommendations of books that made you laugh a little. :)

Wednesday, July 29, 2009

Wishlist Wednesday (9)


Love is...

gothling: hopeless, pointless, merciless, lame

bliss4u: no, love is...i dunno...loverly

Ms.T: it's obvious. love is all about trust.

BoBoy: well, i'm lovin this pizza. yum

chessman: i'm thinking that was the wrong answer, bro...

Big.J: some people need some schooling around here

For two happy couples, love is true.
For two cynical friends, love is a game...that is not always fair.
When a wager puts love to the test, will there really be a winner?


Feed by M. T. Anderson

For Titus and his friends, it started out like any ordinary trip to the moon - a chance to party during spring break and play around with some stupid low-grav at the Ricochet Lounge. But that was before the crazy hacker caused all their feeds to malfunction, sending them to the hospital to lie around with nothing inside their heads for days. And it was before Titus met Violet, a beautiful, brainy teenage girl who knows something about what it’s like to live without the feed-and about resisting its omnipresent ability to categorize human thoughts and desires.

Following in the footsteps of George Orwell, Anthony Burgess, and Kurt Vonnegut, Jr., M. T. Anderson has created a brave new world - and a hilarious new lingo - sure to appeal to anyone who appreciates smart satire, futuristic fiction laced with humor, or any story featuring skin lesions as a fashion statement.

Identity crises, consumerism, and star-crossed teenage love in a futuristic society where people connect to the Internet via feeds implanted in their brains.

(Marisa is out of town.)

Waiting on Wednesday (2)

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. It's a weekly meme to post about books that you can't wait to come out in book stores.


Nothing Like You by Lauren Strasnick

When Holly loses her virginity to Paul, a guy she barely knows, she assumes their encounter is a one-night stand. After all, Paul is too popular to even be speaking to Holly...and he happens to have a long-term girlfriend, Saskia. But ever since Holly's mom died six months ago, Holly has been numb to the world, and she's getting desperate to feel something, anything--so when Paul keeps pursuing her, Holly relents. Paul's kisses are a welcome diversion...and it's nice to feel like the kind of girl that a guy like Paul would choose.

But things aren't so simple with Saskia around. Paul's real girlfriend is willowy and perfect... and nothing like Holly. To make matters worse, she and Holly are becoming friends. Suddenly the consequences of Holly's choices are all too real, and Holly stands to lose more than she ever realized she had.

This book sounds so great! I read a review of it over at
anotherpageisused and feel like this is the book for me! The cover isn't my favorite but I do like how it reminds me of summer.


(Summary contains spoilers of books #1-5)

Tempted (House of Night Series #6) by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast

So…you’d think after banishing an immortal being and a fallen High Priestess, saving Stark’s life, biting Heath, getting a headache from Erik, and almost dying, Zoey Redbird would catch a break. Sadly, a break is not in the House of Night school forecast for the High Priestess in training and her gang. Juggling three guys is anything but a stress reliever, especially when one of them is a sexy Warrior who is so into protecting Zoey that he can sense her emotions. Speaking of stress, the dark force lurking in the tunnels under the Tulsa Depot is spreading, and Zoey is beginning to believe Stevie Rae could be responsible for a lot more than a group of misfit red fledglings. Aphrodite’s visions warn Zoey to stay away from Kalona and his dark allure, but they also show that it is Zoey who has the power to stop the evil immortal. Soon it becomes obvious that Zoey has no choice: if she doesn’t go to Kalona he will exact a fiery vengeance on those closest to her. Will Zoey have the courage to chance losing her life, her heart, and her soul? Find out in the next spectacular installment in the House of Night Series, Tempted.

Marisa is actually out of town, but since the cover of Tempted was released, I can almost promise you this would be her pick for WoW. I would've picked it for my own but this is the only book I know of that Marisa would want to come out NOW.


The Maze Runner by James Dashner

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his first name. His memory is blank. But he’s not alone. When the lift’s doors open, Thomas finds himself surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade—a large, open expanse surrounded by stone walls.

Just like Thomas, the Gladers don’t know why or how they got to the Glade. All they know is that every morning the stone doors to the maze that surrounds them have opened. Every night they’ve closed tight. And every 30 days a new boy has been delivered in the lift.

Thomas was expected. But the next day, a girl is sent up—the first girl to ever arrive in the Glade. And more surprising yet is the message she delivers.

Thomas might be more important than he could ever guess. If only he could unlock the dark secrets buried within his mind.

This book sounds totally cool! And I am really interested in seeing what happens! I found this book on BN when I was just browsing and I was totally hooked from just read the synopsis!

Eclipse Movie News: Bryce Dallas Howard will replace Rachelle (Victoria) in Eclipse.

Briana: Um, WTF?! This is NOT cool. First of all, changing actors is the worst idea possible for ANY movie. Second of all... I LOVE RACHELLE! She was the PERFECT Victoria. I am deeply upset by this. I know it's just a movie, but Rachelle was my absolute favorite actress in Twilight. Not Kristen, not Robert, not Jackson and not even Ashley. Rachelle was my favorite and this really sucks.


Actress Rachelle Lefevre Will Be Replaced By Howard In The Role Of VictoriaLos Angeles – July 28, 2009 – Summit Entertainment announced today that Bryce Dallas Howard will take over the role of “Victoria” in the studio’s upcoming production of THE TWILIGHT SAGA: ECLIPSE. Actress, Rachelle Lefevre, who portrayed the character in TWILIGHT as well as the upcoming release of THE TWILIGHT SAGA: NEW MOON, will not continue in the role due to scheduling conflicts with another commitment the actor has made. THE TWILIGHT SAGA: ECLIPSE will start filming in Vancouver this coming August.

THE TWILIGHT SAGA: ECLIPSE, the third film in the studio’s TWILIGHT film franchise based on Stephenie Meyer’s blockbuster book series, will be directed by David Slade from a screenplay written by Melissa Rosenberg. The film will be released theatrically in North America on Wednesday, June 30, 2010.

“We are incredibly happy that Bryce has agreed to come into the franchise,” said Erik Feig, Summit’s President of Worldwide Production and Acquisitions. “Rachelle brought “Victoria” to great screen life and Bryce will bring a new dimension to the character. The franchise is lucky to have such a talented actress as Bryce coming in to fill the role.”

Howard most recently starred in TERMINATOR SALVATION as Kate Connor and has been seen in SPIDER-MAN 3, LADY IN THE WATER, and THE VILLAGE. She was nominated for a Golden Globe for her leading performance as an actress in the HBO film AS YOU LIKE IT.

In THE TWILIGHT SAGA: ECLIPSE, Bella once again finds herself surrounded by danger as Seattle is ravaged by a string of mysterious killings and a malicious vampire continues her quest for revenge. In the midst of it all, she is forced to choose between her love for Edward and her friendship with Jacob — knowing that her decision has the potential to ignite the ageless struggle between vampire and werewolf. With her graduation quickly approaching, Bella is confronted with the most important decision of her life.

Howard is represented by ICM and Management 360

Monday, July 27, 2009

Old Cover VS. New Cover: Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

There isn't much of a difference between these covers. It kind of just looks like the new cover was enlarged and focused more on her face. I saw both versions at Walmart and decided to get the newer one. I don't like the intense red tint on the first one too much, but I wouldn't be surprised if other people liked it.

Which one do you like more and why?


Sunday, July 26, 2009

In My Mailbox (8)

In My Mailbox was created by The Story Siren. Click here to learn more about it.

Briana: This week was alright. Didn't get too much but at least I got something. Can't complain! I went to the DVD rental store to get Coraline the other day and there was none left! No New Movie Monday this week.


Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy Series #1) by Richelle Mead

St. Vladimir's Academy isn't just any boarding school—it's a hidden place where vampires are educated in the ways of magic and half-human teens train to protect them. Rose Hathaway is a Dhampir, a bodyguard for her best friend Lissa, a Moroi Vampire Princess. They've been on the run, but now they're being dragged back to St. Vladimir's—the very place where they're most in danger. . . .

Rose and Lissa become enmeshed in forbidden romance, the Academy's ruthless social scene, and unspeakable nighttime rituals. But they must be careful lest the Strigoi—the world's fiercest and most dangerous vampires—make Lissa one of them forever.

Once again, I had to give in to the hype. And come on ... you know I love a good vampire story (maybe you don't, but now you do)!

I also got some goodies from Jessica Verday (author of The Hollow)! When I got it in the mail I was so pumped! Thanks Jessica!

(Marisa and Arielle may post later.)

Saturday, July 25, 2009


Deborah Lynn Jacobs

Published 2006

183 Pages

Rating: B-


He was everything I hated. Arrogant, manipulative, controlling.

Relax, I thought. He wont notice me. I’m wallpaper. I’m safe.

But my dreams suggested otherwise.


There’s one in every school. Its like she sees right through me.

Still, there’s something about her. The energy I feel in her. I drink it in and my power grows stronger.

I don’t like her. But I need her.

I want her.

And I always get what I want.

(from back of book)

Gwen is what every girl doesn’t want to be in high school, invisible. Except she loves being invisible, she is a Watcher. She observes everyone else and enjoys being in the background. She writes for her town newspaper, and is pretty good at what she does for her young age. She is in high school and her best friend is her cousin, Joanna. Lately she has been having this same reoccurring dream with this boy that she doesn’t even know… until now. When her dreams come true and she meets the boy, her world is suddenly filled with psychic dreams and powers she never thought she had.

Adrian is the new kid. His father decided to move them because he thought it was best for Adrian. Adrian thought otherwise, Rocky Waters, Ontario, Canada was just too cold for him, and the town was something else. His first day at his new high school he sees Gwen, but he doesn’t know that he is the one she has been seeing in her dreams. Adrian is automatically attracted to Joanna and Gwen doesn’t want anything to do with him. As Gwen and Adrian spend more time together, they both realize they cant live without each other, unless they want to be unhappy.

Gwen’s dreams become reality, burning houses, drowning people, children left behind. But Adrian has a power too, and with his help, she can save these people, or so she thinks. They try to outdo fate, but that’s not possible, everything happens for a reason. They battle life, love. and The Power.

This book is definitely an interesting read and I never knew what would happen next. But it got a B minus because it could have been better. I wish it went into a little bit more detail and that it was a longer book. But all in all, it was good. Adrian is exactly the kind of guy Gwen would never think about, except she starts to constantly, that is when this book gets good. Give it a try. You might just like it.


Thursday, July 23, 2009

Booking Through Thursday (1)

Which do you prefer? (Quick answers)


Reading something frivolous? Or something serious? Serious.

Paperbacks? Or hardcovers? Paperbacks.

Fiction? Or Nonfiction? Fiction.

Poetry? Or Prose? Prose

Biographies? Or Autobiographies? Autobiographies

History? Or Historical Fiction? Historical Fiction

Series? Or Stand-alones? Series.

Classics? Or best-sellers? Best-sellers.

Lurid, fruity prose? Or straight-forward, basic prose? Straight-forward, basic prose.

Plots? Or Stream-of-Consciousness? Plots

Long books? Or Short? Depends on the book.

Illustrated? Or Non-illustrated? Non-illustrated.

Borrowed? Or Owned? Owned.

New? Or Used? New.


Reading something frivolous? Or something serious? Serious.

Paperbacks? Or hardcovers? Uhhhh. I like both. Paperback is cheaper though.

Fiction? Or Nonfiction? Fiction.

Poetry? Or Prose? Prose.

Biographies? Or Autobiographies? Autobiographies.

History? Or Historical Fiction? Historical Fiction.

Series? Or Stand-alones? Ahh! I like both again. But.... series.

Classics? Or best-sellers? Best-sellers.

Lurid, fruity prose? Or straight-forward, basic prose? Straight-forward, basic prose.

Plots? Or Stream-of-Consciousness? Plots.

Long books? Or Short? Long books all the way! I hate spending money on short books.

Illustrated? Or Non-illustrated? Non-illustrated.

Borrowed? Or Owned? Owned.

New? Or Used? New.


Reading something frivolous? Or something serious? Serious.

Paperbacks? Or hardcovers? I love hardcovers, but Paperbacks are definitely cheaper! Which is great!

Fiction? Or Nonfiction? Fiction.

Poetry? Or Prose? Prose

Biographies? Or Autobiographies? Autobiographies

History? Or Historical Fiction? Historical Fiction

Series? Or Stand-alones? I love them both!

Classics? Or best-sellers? Best-sellers.

Lurid, fruity prose? Or straight-forward, basic prose? Straight-forward, basic prose.

Plots? Or Stream-of-Consciousness? Plots

Long books? Or Short? I love long books!!! Short books just arent fun!

Illustrated? Or Non-illustrated? Non-illustrated.

Borrowed? Or Owned? Owned. Librarys make me sick.

New? Or Used? New. I love the feel of a new book.

Secret Circle: The Initiation and The Captive Part I

L.J. Smith
Published 2008
416 pages
Rating: A-


The circle's power has lured her home.

Forced to move from sunny California to gloomy New England, Cassie longs for her old life. Even so, she feels a strange kinship to a terrifying group of teens who seem to rule her school. Initiated into the coven of witches that's controlled New Salem for hundreds of years, she's drawn into the Secret Circle, a thrill that's both intoxicating and deadly. But when she falls for the mysterious and intriguing Adam, Cassie must choose whether to resist temptation or risk dark forces to get what she wants—even if it means that one wrong move could ultimately destroy her.

My review

Lisa Jane Smith does it again! I absolutely love this author! I've loved every single book of hers. I'm never dissapointed.

When Cassie Blake is forced to move to New England, she absolutely hates it. She misses her old house, her old friends, the sunny weather. At her new school, Cassie has a rude welcoming by the "in crowd", a group of beautiful teenagers that all live on her street. Twelve teenagers. After a while Cassie hears weird things about the group and questions who or what they really are. Soon though she befriends Diana, the "leader" of the group and is even invited to eat lunch with them. When something awful happens in the "group", Diana and the gang decide to initiate Cassie.... in their secret coven of witches.

She can't believe she's a witch! Cassie finally feels excited to be in the "Circle" especially since it means getting closer to Adam, her secret crush. But Adam and Diana are together.... and she can't let anybody know what happened between her and Adam that fateful night on the beach.

As Cassie starts to manipulate magic, bad things are happening in New Salem and it's up to the Circle to find out who is behind it and who could be using such dark magic. Cassie is in for a surprise as she fights to choose good over bad, which is not always an easy choice. Soon members of the Circle are splitting up and taking sides. Who knows?? The killer could be one of them......

Yay for magic!! I loved this new spin on "witches". It was great. Awesome spells, runes, plants and more. Also lots of romance too. Forbidden love. Everything you could ever want in a book! I could also definitely relate to Cassie in a lot of situations and I fell in love with both Adam and Nick. I was immediately hooked on the book and there was never a dull moment. I can't wait to reread this series!! I recommend this to anyone who loves the supernatural, magic, ghosts, creepy things, love squares, suspense and much more.


Wednesday, July 22, 2009

Waiting on Wednesday (1)

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at
Breaking the Spine. It's a weekly meme to post about books that you can't wait to come out in book stores.


Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

For Nora Grey, romance was not part of the plan. She's never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how much her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her. Not until Patch came along.

With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Nora is drawn to him against her better judgment.
But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora's not sure who to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is, and to know more about her than her closest friends. She can't decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. A
nd when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is way more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.
For Nora is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen - and, when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost her life.

Alright, besides having an amazing cover, the synopsis is fantastic! Who wouldn't want to read this book?! I really can't wait for this book to come out.


Love The One You're With (Gossip Girl: The Carlyles Series #4) by Cecily von Ziegesar

It's Thanksgiving, and the Carlyle triplets are thankful to be escaping the New York City cold...Hello, Caribbean vacay! A, B, and O could use some relaxed fun in the sun. But when a surprise announcement changes everything, their poolside siestas turn into all-night fiestas faster than a New York minute...

I really love the Gossip Girl series and I can't wait for the fourth book to come out this October!! I also can't wait for Hush, Hush but Briana already picked it.


After by Amy Efaw

An infant left in the trash to die. A teenage mother who never knew she was pregnant . . .

Before That Morning, these were the words most often used to describe straight-A student and star soccer player Devon Davenport: responsible, hardworking, mature. But all that changes when the police find Devon home sick from school as they investigate the case of an abandoned baby. Soon the connection is made—Devon has just given birth; the baby in the trash is hers. After That Morning, there’s only one way to define Devon: attempted murderer.

And yet gifted author Amy Efaw does the impossible— she turns Devon into an empathetic character, a girl who was in such deep denial that she refused to believe she was pregnant. Through airtight writing and fast-paced, gripping storytelling, Ms. Efaw takes the reader on Devon’s unforgettable journey toward clarity, acceptance, and redemption.

This book sounds very interesting and kind of sick in a way, since she does leave her baby in a dumpster, but the cover caught my eye and I think its pretty cool. Although this book does sound disturbing, I am curious so see how it ends.

Tuesday, July 21, 2009

Wishlist Wednesday (8)


Wings by Aprilynne Pike

Laurel was mesmerized, staring at the pale things with wide eyes. They were terrifyingly beautiful—too beautiful for words.

Laurel turned to the mirror again, her eyes on the hovering petals that floated beside her head. They looked almost like wings.

In this extraordinary tale of magic and intrigue, romance and danger, everything you thought you knew about faeries will be changed forever.

I've always like reading about faeries and this one sounds interesting. A lot of people have said they loved this book so I really want to buy it!!


Coffeehouse Angel by Suzanne Selfors

From the author of Saving Juliet comes a romantic comedy that is good to the last drop. When Katrina spots a homeless guy sleeping in the alley behind her grandmother’s coffee shop, she decides to leave him a cup of coffee, a bag of chocolate-covered coffee beans, and some pastries to tide him over. Little does she know that this random act of kindness is about to turn her life upside down. Because this adorable vagrant, Malcolm, is really a guardian angel on a break between missions. And he won’t leave until he can reward Katrina’s selflessness by fulfilling her deepest desire. Now if only she could decide what that might be . . .

I've heard nothing but great things about this book. It comes out today (Yay!) , but since I entered a bunch of contests to win it, I'll wait until they're over. Wish me luck :)

Oh and by the way, the author of this book (Suzanne Selfors) is looking for the model on the cover. The agency closed and she wants to get in touch with her. If anyone knows who she is or how to get in touch with her, let her know by contacting her through her website.



North of Beautiful by Justina Chen Headley

As he continued to stare, I wanted to point to my cheek and remind him, But you were the one who wanted this, remember? You're the one who asked-and I repeat-Why not fix your face?

It's hard not to notice Terra Cooper.

She's tall, blond, and has an enviable body. But with one turn of her cheek, all people notice is her unmistakably "flawed" face. Terra secretly plans to leave her stifling small town in the Northwest and escape to an East Coast college, but gets pushed off-course by her controlling father. When an unexpected collision puts Terra directly in Jacob's path, the handsome but quirky Goth boy immediately challenges her assumptions about herself and her life, and she is forced in yet another direction. With her carefully laid plans disrupted, will Terra be able to find her true path?

I heard this was a good book and every time I go to Barnes and Noble I read the back of it. It sounds interesting and the cover catches my eye. I like the title too, its different.

Monday, July 20, 2009

Happy Birthday Arielle!

Briana: Happy Birthday Arielle! When Marisa showed me that cake, I immediatly thought of you. It just reminds me so much of you! I'm so happy that you're in this blog with Marisa and I. :) You review all of the unknown books and I love reading about them and of course our readers do too! I really appreciate you doing this blog with us :) Thanks so much!!!<3

Marisa: Happy Birthday!! I hope you have a great day. I'm really glad you're blogging with us. I love reading your reviews and I think you write them really well. You keep our followers entertained and we all appreciate your hard work on our blog!!

**EDIT** Marisa just realized that the cake says "25"! Sorry Arielle haha, we didn't even notice. Arielle is 19 now, not 25 :)

Sunday, July 19, 2009

New Set Picture from New Moon (Alice & Bella)

I'm assuming this is the scene where Alice comes to Bella's house because she thinks she's dead. I'm so excited for this movie :)

Click here to see the picture full size.


In My Mailbox (7)

In My Mailbox was created by The Story Siren. Click here to learn more about it.

Briana: This week wasn't too great for me. There were no DVDs that I wanted to rent, so I skipped that.


The Luxe (Luxe Series #1)

Pretty girls in pretty dresses, partying until dawn.Irresistible boys with mischievous smiles and dangerous intentions.White lies, dark secrets, and scandalous hookups.This is Manhattan, 1899.

Beautiful sisters Elizabeth and Diana Holland rule Manhattan's social scene. Or so it appears. When the girls discover their status among New York City's elite is far from secure, suddenly everyone—from the backstabbing socialite Penelope Hayes, to the debonair bachelor Henry Schoonmaker, to the spiteful maid Lina Broud—threatens Elizabeth's and Diana's golden future.

With the fate of the Hollands resting on her shoulders, Elizabeth must choose between family duty and true love. But when her carriage overturns near the East River, the girl whose glittering life lit up the city's gossip pages is swallowed by the rough current. As all of New York grieves, some begin to wonder whether life at the top proved too much for this ethereal beauty, or if, perhaps, someone wanted to see Manhattan's most celebrated daughter disappear...

In a world of luxury and deception, where appearance matters above everything and breaking the social code means running the risk of being ostracized forever, five teenagers lead dangerously scandalous lives. This thrilling trip to the age of innocence is anything but innocent.

I saw this book at Walmart for a cheap price and just gave in! I think I may be the only teenage/YA reader to not read this book yet. It sounds pretty thrilling and girly, which is what I love. Have you guys read this? If so, what did you think?

(Arielle & Marisa may post later)

Saturday, July 18, 2009

First Chapter of Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

I hope all of you Hunger Games fans enjoy this! Click here to read the first chapter and click here to see a great fansite for The Hunger Games. I know I'll be checking that site quite frequently to check for updates!


Friday, July 17, 2009

Marked (House of Night Series #1)

P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast
Published 2007
320 pages
Rating: B/B+


Enter the dark, magical world of The House of Night, a world very much like our own, except here vampyres have always existed. Sixteen-year-old Zoey Redbird has just been Marked as a fledgling vampyre and joins the House of Night, a school where she will train to become an adult vampire. That is, if she makes it through the Change--and not all of those who are Marked do. It sucks to begin a new life, especially away from her friends, and on top of that, Zoey is no average fledgling. She has been chosen as special by the vampyre Goddess Nyx. Zoey discovers she has amazing powers, but along with her powers come bloodlust and an unfortunate ability to Imprint her human ex-boyfriend. To add to her stress, she is not the only fledgling at the House of Night with special powers: When she discovers that the leader of the Dark Daughters, the school's most elite group, is misusing her Goddess-given gifts, Zoey must look deep within herself for the courage to embrace her destiny--with a little help from her new vampyre friends.

Our review

Another great series about vampires! But this series is more like the real world. It's a whole different take on vampires and we love it. Teenagers will get Marked as fledgling vampires and will be brought to a House of Night school. A school for vampires. Zoey Redbird gets Marked and is brought to the House of Night in Tulsa.

At her new vampire school, Zoey tries to fit in but she learns that she has special powers that no other fledgling has ever had. Soon though, she makes new friends... and new enemies. When Zoey discovers awful things going on at the House of Night, she and her new friends, Stevie Rae, Damien, Erin, Shaunee and Erik know that they must do something about it. But how can Zoey conquer the beautiful, snobby and hateful Aphrodite when she has bloodlust, amazing new powers, a new school, changes in her body and boyfriends (yes plural!) to worry about?


Sorry about my bad review guys! Anyway, so the first House of Night book was not the best out of all five of them but it was still pretty good. I really like how even though these teenagers are vampires, they still act like normal teenagers. And I would love to go to the House of Night. It seems like so much fun and way better than normal school. Except that it's dangerous. Anyway I love how there is a lot of drama in this book and some romance too. A lot of cute boys :) We all know that's important. I say give this series a try because it's awesome. Marked wasn't really amazing but trust me the next book, Betrayed, is definitely amazing. And the rest of the books after Betrayed are all fantastic too.


Marisa, at least you've been doing reviews! I really, really enjoyed this book when I first read it. I bought the sequel right after I read Marked, but it took me a while to get to it. I agree with Marisa, this is definitely not the best out of all five books ... in fact it's probably my least favorite, but it's still amazing! There are some things that bother me though. As much as I like Zoey, she can get kind of annoying and I feel like she always gets her way. Oh, another thingt that bugs me is how P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast constantly feel the need to remind people of things. Like the whole "Shaunee & Erin are twins but not technically" thing. After repeating that over and over, it really gets aggrivating. Anyways, I really recommend this book to anyone who likes vampires or even just YA Thrillers. I know you might be thinking, "Once again another vampire book", but this book is pure entertainment.

Thursday, July 16, 2009

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

Ann Brashares
Published 2004
352 pages
Rating: B+


Carmen got the jeans at a thrift shop. They didn't look all that great: they were worn, dirty, and speckled with bleach. On the night before she and her friends part for the summer, Carmen decides to toss them. But Tibby says they're great. She''d love to have them. Lena and Bridget also think they're fabulous. Lena decides that they should all try them on. Whoever they fit best will get them. Nobody knows why, but the pants fit everyone perfectly. Even Carmen (who never thinks she looks good in anything) thinks she looks good in the pants. Over a few bags of cheese puffs, they decide to form a sisterhood and take the vow of the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants . . . the next morning, they say good-bye. And then the journey of the pants - and the most memorable summer of their lives - begins.

My review

This book is about four best friends, Tibby, Lena, Carmen and Bridget who all fit in the same pair of jeans. This should be impossible since they're all different size. The girls take this as a sign that they're obviously meant to be best friends and that the jeans will help them stay together over the summer while they all go their separate ways.

First, the pants go to Lena who is spending the summer in Greece with her grandparents. Lena loves Greece and thinks it's beautiful. She's especially happy that she gets to sketch a lot. Then Lena meets Kostos, a cute Greek boy who is totally interested in her. But Lena is shy and quiet and usually never talks to boys. As the summer goes on, the two go through lots of ups and downs and eventually fall in love with each other. But what will happen when Kostos has to leave for college and Lena has to go back to America?

The pants go to Tibby next. Tibby is spending the summer at home working at Wallman's and babysitting for her mother. While working at Wallman's Tibby encounters a 12 year old girl, Bailey, who has leukemia. At first Bailey is just really annoying to Tibby but soon the two become good friends. When Bailey learns she will die, Tibby tries to draw strength from the pants to let her friend go.

After Tibby, the pants go to Carmen. Carmen is visiting her father in South Carolina. She rarely sees her father and expects the two of them to have a great time together. When she gets there, her father surprises her saying he's getting re-married. Carmen is annoyed that she has to spend her summer with an annoying new soon to be step-mother and step-sister but she doesn't mind her step-brother. Soon Carmen's father, step-mother and step-sister make her feel totally left out of the family. Carmen feels hurt and betrayed by her father and she wants to tell him how she really feels.

Bridget is the last to get the pants. She is spending her summer at soccer camp in Baja California. At soccer camp, Bridget develops a big crush on of the coaches at camp, Eric. She knows that the coaches are off-limits but she doesn't care. She's never wanted anything more than she wants Eric. After a while Bridget finally gets Eric, but not in the way she wanted. Soon everything starts to feel wrong to Bridget and she needs her friends more than ever.

I really like this book/series. It's definitely a great read. Obviously not full of action but the romance and drama is good. It's mostly about friendship, love and
growing. Getting over past relationships, family drama and much more. For those who saw the movie, the book is pretty much the same thing except for a few things that are different. And there are also more details in the book obviously. I saw the movie before I read the book and I still enjoyed the book very much even if I already knew what happened. I definitely recommend watching the movie too. It's very cute and will make you both laugh and cry. Maybe at the same time. I know I cried and laughed several times during the movie AND while reading the book. If any of you like cute, simple books with a good story line and great characters, then read this book/series. Oh and here is a picture of the four of them from the movie.


New 'New Moon' Photo

To everyone who thought Kristen Stewart was a bad actress in Twilight, I hope this picture makes you a little more satisfied! Doesn't she genuinely look like a depressed zombie? I think she does. I hope you guys enjoy :)


Wednesday, July 15, 2009

Wishlist Wednesday (7)


The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan

In Mary's world there are simple truths. The Sisterhood always knows best. The Guardians will protect and serve. The Unconsecrated will never relent. And you must always mind the fence that surrounds the village; the fence that protects the village from the Forest of Hands and Teeth. But, slowly, Mary’s truths are failing her. She’s learning things she never wanted to know about the Sisterhood and its secrets, and the Guardians and their power, and about the Unconsecrated and their relentlessness. When the fence is breached and her world is thrown into chaos, she must choose between her village and her future—between the one she loves and the one who loves her. And she must face the truth about the Forest of Hands and Teeth. Could there be life outside a world surrounded in so much death?

I've read a few reviews about this book and a lot of people are saying that's its really good. There's apparently zombies in the book and I've never read about zombies so it sounds interesting to me.


Kissed by an Angel by Elizabeth Chandler

A love beyond life...a danger beyond doubt.

In a romantic and suspenseful collection of the New York Times bestselling trilogy, love's unbreakable bonds are put to the test.

When her boyfriend, Tristan, died, Ivy thought she'd lost everything, even her faith in angels. But now she's discovered that he's her guardian angel — his presence so strong that she can feel the touch of his hand, the beat of his heart. Ivy needs Tristan now more than ever because he knows she's in terrible danger. Only Ivy's guardian angel can save her now that his killer is after her.

But if Tristan rescues Ivy, his mission on earth will be finished, and he must leave her behind forever. Will saving Ivy mean losing her just when he's finally reached her again?

My friend told me this book was really good and its a series and I love series, so I really want this book/series. It sounds great and something that I would really enjoy reading!


The first time Annabel sees him he is playing soccer and the second time he is singing for tips at Jungle Pete's. He is Esteban—one of the immigrants her contractor father hires, part of an ever-growing community of Latinos in the Hamptons. Esteban's sister calls Annabel "flour face" and Annabel's father forbids her to see him. But despite family disapproval there are meetings on dark beaches, notes left in library books, and a romance that's as hot as summer.

This book looks so sweet. It's been on my wish list for a while but I never see it in book stores. Maybe I'll just get it from online.

Books Turned Into Film News: Wings by Aprilynee Pike

Look out Tinkerbell, you've got some competition: Miley Cyrus.

The Disney teen queen is set to star in "Wings," a new film based on the best-selling Aprilynne Pike novel by the same name, reports Variety.

Fresh off her first foray onto the big screen in "Hannah Montana," Cyrus will play the leading role of Laurel, a 15-year-old girl who grows up sheltered and home-schooled in a small town.
When Laurel is forced to adjust to a big high school, her suspicions that she's not like everyone else are soon confirmed: Laurel sprouts wings and finds out she's a fairy.

Pike's novel, the first in a planned four-book series, was published in May. Temple Hill, the same group behind the film "Twilight," is said to be producing this film, with Cryus' mother, Tish, as the executive producer.

Currently, Cyrus is in the process of filming her next movie, "The Last Song," which is based on a novel that romance author Nicholas Sparks ("The Notebook") wrote as a vehicle for Cyrus.
"Wings" will continue Disney's stronghold on the star beyond the "Hannah Montana" franchise.


Monday, July 13, 2009

New Movie Monday (6&7)

First, I have to apologize for last week's New Movie Monday. I honestly didn't feel like watching the movies for some reason. I've made a decision that may upset you or won't matter to you at all (depending if you like New Movie Monday or not). Basically, I've been wasting money on movies that I really don't care about seeing. So, I'm going to just wait until good movies to come out to rent them.

Director: Andrew Stanton

Starring (voices): Ben Burtt; Elissa Knight; Jeff Garlin

Genre: Animation


Rating: C

I have to be honest ... I didn't finish this movie. The whole robot/cartoon thing didn't really interest me. So this will be a short review (if you want to call it a review).

After hundreds of lonely years of doing what he was built for, Wall-E (short for Waste Allocation Load Lifter Earth-Class) discovers a new purpose in life (besides collecting knick-knacks) when he meets a sleek search robot named Eve. Eve comes to realize that Wall-E has inadvertently stumbled upon the key to the planet's future, and races back to space to report her findings to the humans (who have been eagerly awaiting word that it is safe to return home). Meanwhile, Wall-E chases Eve across the galaxy.

The movie started off boring, so I got on my laptop. That probably ruined the movie. I should have put my laptop down and just watched the movie. I might have liked it ... but the whole concept just didn't interest me that much. Sorry guys :/.

Director: Jon Favreau

Starring: Robert Downey Jr.; Terrence Howard; Jeff Bridges

Genre: Action

MPAA: PG-13 (for some intense sequences of sci-fi action and violence, and brief suggestive content)

Rating: A

I was afraid that I wouldn't enjoy this movie. I really like Spiderman, and The Dark Knight was pretty good too. But I've never heard anything about Iron Man when I was a kid (or at least from what I remember), so I was kind of afraid to try it.

Tony Stark is a billionaire industrialist and genius inventor who is kidnapped and forced to build a devastating weapon. Instead, using his intelligence and ingenuity, Tony builds a high-tech suit of armor and escapes captivity. When he uncovers a nefarious plot with global implications, he dons his powerful armor and vows to protect the world as Iron Man.

I'm so happy that I got this movie! I really, truly loved it. Some parts were a bit confusing for me... but maybe that's just my brain since quite a few movies have been confusing to me lately. I loved the action at the end and the movie really kept me interested the whole time. I definitely recommend this movie, even if you don't like superhero movies. My mom isn't the type of person to watch these kinds of movies, but she really liked it!

Director: Alex Proyas

Starring: Nicholas Cage; Chandler Canterbury; Rose Byrne

Genre: Action

MPAA: PG-13 (for disaster sequences, disturbing images and brief strong language)

Rating: B+

Yay! A movie that I actually wanted to see and actually liked! This makes me so happy :). I saw the trailer for this movie when I went to go see Twilight in theaters and knew that I would like it.

In 1958, as part of the dedication ceremony for a new elementary school, a group of students is asked to draw pictures to be stored in a time capsule. But one mysterious girl fills her sheet of paper with rows of apparently random numbers instead. Fifty years later, a new generation of students examines the capsule's contents and the girl's cryptic message ends up in the hands of young Caleb Koestler. But it is Caleb's father, professor John Koestler, who makes the startling discovery that the encoded message predicts with pinpoint accuracy the dates, death tolls and coordinates of every major disaster of the past 50 years. As John further unravels the document's chilling secrets, he realizes the document foretells three additional events -- the last of which hints at destruction on a global scale and seems to somehow involve John and his son. When John's attempts to alert the authorities fall on deaf ears, he takes it upon himself to try to prevent more destruction from taking place. With the reluctant help of Diana Wayland and Abby Wayland, the daughter and granddaughter of the now-deceased author of the prophecies, John's increasingly desperate efforts take him on a heart-pounding race against time until he finds himself facing the ultimate disaster -- and the ultimate sacrifice.

Wow. Sorry for the super long description. Anyway, this movie was really great. It actually scared me sometimes and I was worried that it was going to be a horror movie. It's not, so don't worry. This movie wasn't just a world disaster movie. It had some kind of sci-fi fantasy (angel or alien) feel to it. It kind of confused me, but I still recommend it.

Director: Paul McGuigan

Starring: Chris Evans; Dakota Fanning; Camilla Belle

Genre: Sci-Fi/Thriller

MPAA: PG-13 (for intense sequences of violence and action, brief strong language, smoking and a scene of teen drinking.)

Rating: B+

I'm so happy I got this movie! I was waiting for it come out because (1) Chris Evans is a great piece of eye candy; (2) Dakota Fanning is one of my favorite actresses; (3) It just looks like a GOOD movie!

The Division, a shadowy government agency, is genetically transforming citizens into an army of psychic warriors--and brutally disposing of those unwilling to participate. Nick Gant, a second-generation telekinetic or "mover," has been in hiding since the Division murdered his father more than a decade earlier. He has found sanctuary in densely populated Hong Kong--the last safe place on earth for fugitive psychics like him--but only if he can keep his gift a secret. Nick is forced out of hiding when Cassie Holmes, a 13-year-old clairvoyant or "watcher," seeks his help in finding Kira, an escaped "pusher" who may hold the key to ending the Division's program. Pushers possess the most dangerous of all psychic powers: the ability to influence others' actions by implanting thoughts in their minds. But Cassie's presence soon attracts the attention of the Division's human bloodhounds, forcing Nick and Cassie to flee for their lives. With the help of a team of rogue psychics, the unlikely duo traverses the seedy underbelly of the city, trying to stay one step ahead of the authorities as they search for Kira. But they find themselves square in the crosshairs of Division Agent Henry Carver, a pusher who will stop at nothing to keep them from achieving their goal.

Sorry for another long description. I really enjoyed this movie. It confused me quite a bit, but it was still pretty thrilling. I don't know why, but I really love Camilla Belle's voice. It's just so soft and pretty, and she's not trying to sound like that either. You know how Paris Hilton has that high pitch voice that she uses when she tries to sound cute? That just bugs me. Off topic ... anyways, if you don't like supernatural/paranormal movies, then this movie probably isn't for you. But since I enjoy that type of stuff, I really liked it.


Poll Results: Book by Book

Yay! I think I like this choice too. To those of you who didn't vote and aren't happy with the results, this should teach you that every vote counts!

Now I just have to think of a new poll... with the Blogger poll widget.

**EDIT**To those of you who couldn't see the poll... sorry about that. The poll was basically asking how you would like us to review a series. The choices were "Book by book"; "As a whole"; "I don't want to read a review on a series"; or "I could care less."

"Book by Book" won.**EDIT**


Sunday, July 12, 2009

In My Mailbox (6)

In My Mailbox was created by The Story Siren. Click here to learn more about it.

Briana: This week was better than last week! I bought two books that I've been wanting for a while and borrowed a book from a friend.


The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong

After years of frequent moves following her mother’s death, Chloe Saunders’s life is finally settling down. She is attending art school, pursuing her dreams of becoming a director, making friends, meeting boys. Her biggest concern is that she’s not developing as fast as her friends are. But when puberty does hit, it brings more than hormone surges. Chloe starts seeing ghosts–everywhere, demanding her attention. After she suffers a breakdown, her devoted aunt Lauren gets her into a highly recommended group home.

At first, Lyle House seems a pretty okay place, except for Chloe’s small problem of fearing she might be facing a lifetime of mental illness. But as she gradually gets to know the other kids at the home–charming Simon and his ominous, unsmiling brother Derek, obnoxious Tori, and Rae, who has a “thing” for fire–Chloe begins to realize that there is something that binds them all together, and it isn’t your usual “problem kid” behaviour. And together they discover that Lyle House is not your usual group home either...

This sounds like it can definitely be a creepy read! I don't think I've ever read something that really scared me, so I'm excited to experience a new type of genre!

Wake by Lisa McMann

Not all dreams are sweet.

For seventeen-year-old Janie, getting sucked into other people's dreams is getting old. Especially the falling dreams, the naked-but-nobody-notices dreams, and the sex-crazed dreams. Janie's seen enough fantasy booty to last her a lifetime.

She can't tell anybody about what she does — they'd never believe her, or worse, they'd think she's a freak. So Janie lives on the fringe, cursed with an ability she doesn't want and can't control.

Then she falls into a gruesome nightmare, one that chills her to the bone. For the first time, Janie is more than a witness to someone else's twisted psyche. She is a participant....

I've heard nothing but amazing things about this book and it's supposed to be a creepy read, which I want to try! I also love all of the covers for this series.


L.A. Candy by Lauren Conrad

Los Angeles is all about the sweet life: hot clubs, cute guys, designer . . . everything. Nineteen-year-old Jane Roberts can't wait to start living it up. She may be in L.A. for an internship, but Jane plans to play as hard as she works, and has enlisted her BFF Scarlett to join in the fun.

When Jane and Scarlett are approached by a producer who wants them to be on his new series, a "reality version of Sex and the City," they can hardly believe their luck. Their own show? Yes, please!

Soon Jane is TV's hottest star. Fame brings more than she ever imagined possible for a girl from Santa Barbara—free designer clothes, the choicest tables at the most exclusive clubs, invites to Hollywood premieres—and she's lapping up the VIP treatment with her eclectic entourage of new pals. But those same friends who are always up for a wild night are also out for a piece of Jane's spotlight.

In a city filled with people chasing after their dreams, it's not long before Jane wakes up to the reality that everyone wants something from her, and nothing is what it seems to be.

L.A. Candy is a deliciously entertaining novel about what it's like to come of age in Hollywood while starring in a reality TV show, written by a girl who has experienced it all firsthand: Lauren Conrad

A girl from work lent me this book since she couldn't even get through it. I'm curious to know if I'll enjoy it or not. At least Lauren Conrad is doing something more respectful with her life than Heidi (Montag) Pratt, who is modeling for Playboy... but tweets about how much she loves God every 5 minutes? Confusing. What ever happened to "Your body is a temple."?

DVDs (for New Movie Monday):

“Push” is a sci-fi thriller that takes us into the secret world of psychic espionage. Our hero in the movie “Push” is Nick Gant (Chris Evans), a young man whose father was genetically altered to be the perfect government assassin. After the brutal murder of his father, Nick swears revenge on the agency that created him. Hidden in the underworld of Hong Kong, Nick assembles a group of rogue psychics to defeat Division, the covert agency responsible for creating and experimenting with psychic drugs for decades. Nick teams up with Cassie Holmes (Dakota Fanning), a thirteen-year-old girl who can see the future, to track down a missing girl and a stolen suitcase that could potentionally bring the downfall of Division — the key to their mutual revenge. Combining their skills, they outwit assassins and learn about Division’s latest secret weapon — a powerful and new experimental drug called R16, which could shift the tides of psychic warfare. The movie “Push” was filmed on location in Hong Kong. “Push” is a Summit Entertainment theatrical release.

This week I was so excited because there were two DVDs that I actually wanted to watch, and of course, Push was one of them. I watched this movie already so expect a review tomorrow!

In 1958, as part of the dedication ceremony for a new elementary school, a group of students is asked to draw pictures to be stored in a time capsule. But one mysterious girl fills her sheet of paper with rows of apparently random numbers instead. Fifty years later, a new generation of students examines the capsule's contents and the girl's cryptic message ends up in the hands of young Caleb Koestler. But it is Caleb's father, professor John Koestler, who makes the startling discovery that the encoded message predicts with pinpoint accuracy the dates, death tolls and coordinates of every major disaster of the past 50 years. As John further unravels the document's chilling secrets, he realizes the document foretells three additional events -- the last of which hints at destruction on a global scale and seems to somehow involve John and his son. When John's attempts to alert the authorities fall on deaf ears, he takes it upon himself to try to prevent more destruction from taking place. With the reluctant help of Diana Wayland and Abby Wayland, the daughter and granddaughter of the now-deceased author of the prophecies, John's increasingly desperate efforts take him on a heart-pounding race against time until he finds himself facing the ultimate disaster -- and the ultimate sacrifice.

I watched this movie last night, so expect a review tomorrow!

(Arielle and Marisa may post later)