Home    Reviews    Review Policy    About BAM    Double Dose

Sunday, May 31, 2009



Briana: WOW. After watching such a large amount of fan-made New Moon trailers, seeing this is incredible! First of all, I love how they show the cliff right in the beginning. That was one of my favorite parts from the book and I find it to be one of the most meaningful parts.

I think the vampires look amazing. The makeup is much better this time around!

The birthday scene, WOW. You can already tell how incredibly intense it will be!

The breakup scene, AH! I will not tell a lie, I cried. Seeing the pain in Bella's face and how she's just lying on the ground, it's perfect and so depressing.

Laurent! I was a little surprised to see him just because he wasn't one of the biggest parts of the movie, but then when I saw it, it fit in perfectly.

Jacob ... Or Taylor I should say, you look AMAZING. He really put on the weight and I'm so happy to see him as Jacob Black. THE CGI FOR THE WOLVES! It looks so incredible! I love how they ended the trailer with the growl from Jacob!

I would really like to hear your thoughts, especially from the people who didn't like the first movie. Do you think this one will be better?

This made my night.
And it left me absolutely speechless. I cant help but watch it over and over again.

This movie is going to be so amazing, I cant even explain how excited I am. New Moon was my favorite book from the Twilight series.. not because Edward left her, because that was horrible. But because I love Jacob. He is such a good guy and I love how he becomes Bella's other "protector".

Every part that they showed in the trailer looks like it will be so cool. The birthday scene looks very insane with Edward and Jasper. And omg, I was on the verge of tears when Edward left Bella. And that was only a few seconds of it, I cant even imagine how I will be when I actually see the whole scene.

Jacob turning into a werewolf... Perfect. Enough said. They did that sooooo well! And its going to be amazing.
I keep using the word amazing! But I think this is movie will be AMAZING! :)

haha.. I just love it.

Man.... I am speechless... or at least I was. During the entire trailer I was afraid to even blink in case I missed anything. The trailer was absolutely breathtaking! I am definitely glad Chris Weitz is the director. Not that I didn't like Catherine but Chris is doing excellent in my opinion.

The birthday scene was intense. Amazing. Exactly how I imagined it in the book. Everything was perfect and the Cullens looked great... especially Edward. Glad to see he's still sexy :) Ahhh the break up scene! That was devasting but also excellent. Broke more than just Bella's heart I'm sure.

Laurent scene now. Laurent looked so bad. Bad as in mean. He looked so scary that I couldn't believe it. His costume is stunning. OMG!! Taylor is so hot! His body is to die for. I loved it so much when Bella was running screaming "Run Jake!" and then BAM! Jacob bursts in to this gigantic wolf! He looked amazing. Exactly how I imagined in the book again. The transformation took about one second. As described in the book. Everything looks perfect. Squee!!!

There I just ranted myself out for you guys. Obviously New Moon is going to be fantastic and I can't wait to see it.

Friday, May 29, 2009

New Moon Footage Preview!

Oh boy! Even though this was only 15 seconds, it looks great! I can't wait to see the official trailer on the MTV Movie Awards, Sunday 9PM Eastern! Thoughts?

Thursday, May 28, 2009

The Compound

S. A. Bodeen

Published: 2008

245 Pages

Rating: B

Eli and his family have lived in the Compound for six years.

                        The world they knew is gone.

            Eli’s father built the Compound to keep them safe. Now, they cant get out.

He wont let them.

(from inside book flap)

Dad asked me if I wanted to see more of the Compound.

            I didn’t. We would have to wait fifteen years before it would be safe to go outside. Which left more than enough time to see the rest of the Compound.

Our new world.

            A world I would soon hate.

(from back of book)


If you have ever seen the movie Blast from the Past, this book will seem similar to you, yet different in so many twisting ways.

Eli grew up being the son of a billionaire. Him and his three siblings got everything they wanted, no matter what it cost. Eli had a twin brother named Eddy, and Eddy was the main reason Eli had friends. As a kid Eli was a brat and disliked by many other kids, whereas Eddy was friendly and never complained and he had many friends. Once Eli and Eddy were born, their father started working on the Compound. It was a safety place for them if there was ever a nuclear attack on the U.S. So when Eddy and Eli were nine years old, they were camping on their many hundred acres of land with their family, and then the sirens went off and they had to make a mad dash to the Compound. Eli, his sisters and his parents were there…but not his grandma or Eddy.

Fifteen years they would have to spend in the Compound , surviving on the food their father had stored there. According to Eli, the Compound had a good setup. It was quite large, every one had their own room, there was a gym, many storage rooms with food and cleaning supplies, and there was even an infirmary. Yet that didn’t make it feel like home, after six years of isolation without his twin or grandmother, Eli was getting sick of living underground and he was determined to find out if there was any human life left about ground.

Eli uncovers some secrets that his father is hiding, and now he cant trust him. Every day in the Compound makes Eli more and more determined to find out what really happened six years ago when they first entered the Compound. Was there really a nuclear attack? And how did his father know about it?

This book is a very interesting read filled with many twists and turns, I couldn’t put it down. And it made me think, could I ever live in a compound underground and not go crazy? Check this book out, you’ll probably learn something about trust and family devotion.


Wednesday, May 27, 2009

GreenBeanTeenQueen Birthday Contest!

Happy Birthday GreenBeanTeenQueen! In honor of her birthday, she's hosting a contest giving away copies of:

Going Too Far by Jennifer Echols

Lovestuck Summer by Melissa Walker

The Wedding Planner's Daughter by Coleen Murtagh Paratore

They all sound like great books and it'd be great if I won them! But you should go enter too so you can have the chance to win. Click here to enter!


P.S. How awesome is that cake?!

New Moon Reuinion Scene Filming & New Layout!

First of all, there's a new layout. It's not my favorite but I seriously am so bad at HTML, so I hope it looks semi-decent. What do you guys think? And do you have any suggestions for layout sites? That'd be really helpful!

Kristen and Rob shot the Reunion scene today and someone amazing took incredible pictures! I'm kind of disapointed since Bella and Edward aren't supposed to kiss until they're back in America and he explains to her that she isn't dreaming (which is one of my top 5 favorite parts of New Moon). FYI: The dots on Rob are for the CGI just in case you thought they were a bunch of moles or something. Thoughts?

See the pictures here!

Do not watch video if you don't want to be extremely spoiled!

If you watch the video, it's basically like watching the scene. It's so powerful.

**Thanks to www.HisGoldenEyes.com for the news!**



Alyson Noel

Published: 2009

301 Pages

Rating: B

After a horrible accident claims the lives of her family, sixteen year old Ever Bloom can see people’s auras, hear their thoughts, and know someone's entire life story by touching them. Going out of her way to avoid human contact and suppress her abilities, she has been branded a freak at her new high school – but everything changes when he meets Damen Auguste

Damen is gorgeous, exotic, and wealthy. He’s the only on who can silence the noise and random energy in her head – wielding a magic so intense, its as though he can peer straight into her soul. As Ever is drawn deeper into his enticing world of secrets and mystery, she’s left with more questions than answers. And she has no idea just who he really is – or what he is. The only thing she knows to be true is that she’s falling deeply and helplessly in love with him.

(from back of book)

All right, so I am a little hesitant to do this review mainly because I don’t want to give too much away but also because this book reminds me of Twilight. There are differences but the first half made me think I was reading Twilight, or something that resembles Twilight but with little things changed.

Ever lives with her only aunt because after her parents died in a car accident, her aunt was the only one left to take care of her. When she had arrived at her new high school just a few years ago, she changed her attitude and her appearance. Before the accident at her old school, she was popular, a cheerleader and dressed preppy, now she wears jeans and hoodies. Her best friends and Miles, who is gay, and Haven, who is another outcast like Ever. Ever’s life has never been the same since the accident… she can read minds, see people’s aura’s, and she can even talk to her dead little sister. She hates the noise and the colors bursting from everyone around her.

Damen Auguste transfers to her high school and is immediately loved by all, even her “gothic” bff, Haven. He is sexy, confident, and amazes everyone with his charm. It turns out he is the only on who can silence the voices Ever hears. He is a mystery to Ever, she doesn’t know much about him except that he is different from anyone else she has ever met, and she loves that.

Haven starts to become distant from Ever and she starts becoming like on of her other friends that just moved to their town also, her name is Drina. Ever fights to keep her friends but also struggles with her powers and her love for Damen.

Yes, it is a little like Twilight, but I think it’s a decent book, and I bet it would be better if you have never read Twilight. Sorry for the lame review, I didn’t want to go into much detail, if you read it, I think you will understand why. Check it out.


Friday, May 22, 2009

Vampire Diaries TV Series Promo!

I haven't even read the books yet but as soon as I saw this, I got beyond excited! Probably because I know Marisa will be jumping up and down. You can probably already tell how much she likes the series from the reviews she gives them. I thought Elena was supposed to be blonde but maybe I'm wrong? I don't know, but this is exciting! :)

[EDIT] Marisa: This trailer looks awesome! I think that the TV show is going to be great. Full of action and romance!! Yay for that. It looks like they stuck pretty close to the book. I mean obviously the actors are a bit of a disappointment but they can't get everything perfect. Elena is supposed to be blonde with blue eyes but no big deal. The actress who plays her seems to have good acting skills. Stefan is a total hottie! I love the actor who is playing him. They totally cut out Meredith and Bonnie is completely different but again they can't get everything spot on. Damon is not the total sexy bad boy I was hoping for but his personality seems exactly the same. I didn't get to see Matt but he's there!! Yay! And Elena has a brother instead of a little sister. Yes Briana was right I was jumping up and down while watching this :) The acting looks good, the show looks suspenseful and mysterious. Totally excited.


Wednesday, May 20, 2009

Rules of the Road

Joan Bauer

Published: 1998

201 Pages

Rating: B-

The Trip of a Lifetime

Jenna Boller can sell anyone anything. She’s the best employee at her branch of Gladstone’s Shoes. But her family problems are harder to handle, and there are times when Jenna wishes she could just take a break. So when Madeline Gladstone, the elderly president of Gladstone Shoe Stores, hires Jenna as her chauffer for the summer, Jenna leaps right into the driver’s seat. And that begins a cross-country adventure, where she and Mrs. Gladstone learn a lot about the rules of the road…and the rules of life.

(from back of book)

To start off, this is a very short read. I’d say it’s a great book to read in between two larger, more complex books, because it is nice break from everything.

The story is a very cute one I must say. One that I have never read before and one that not many could pull off…but Joan Bauer did. Its not the ordinary love story, or tragic tale of a misfit teen.

Jenna is a teenage girl who “worships” her drivers license, yet she doesn’t have a car to drive. But that doesn’t mean she isn’t trying to get one, she is saving her money for the car of her dreams…a red convertible. She works at the Gladstone Shoe store in her hometown, Chicago. She’s sixteen and the best employee there. She works hard because that’s really the only place she can be at and be completely happy. Her life turned sour when her father started drinking too much and that eventually ended her parents marriage, but that was when she was younger and yet those bad memories still follow her around. Now at sixteen she deals with her fathers sudden visits and drunken phone calls, which are making her go crazy. Luckily for her, there’s a chance to get away…

That summer she becomes Mrs. Gladstone’s driver from Chicago, Illinois to Dallas, Texas. They travel to dozens of places, visiting dozens of Gladstone Shoe Stores. And they encounter many problems along the way. Mrs. Gladstone’s son is threatening to sell the company and there’s a fight to the finish to see who exactly will control Gladstone Shoes in the end.

This is a compelling story of a young woman who is tired of the life she is living and is ready for a change. And ready to stand up to her father’s drinking problem once and for all.

A fast read, that may not look all that interesting, but its better than it seems. Give it a shot.


The Clique

Lisi Harrison

Published: 2004

224 Pages

Rating: C-


Massie Block: With her glossy brunette bob and laser-whitened smile, Massie is the uncontested ruler of The Clique and the rest of the social scene at Octavian Country Day School, an exclusive private girls' school in Westchester County, New York. Massie knows you'd give anything to be just like her.

Dylan Marvil: Massie's second in command who divides her time between sucking up to Massie and sucking down Atkins Diet shakes.

Alicia Rivera: As sneaky as she is beautiful, Alicia floats easily under adult radar because she seems so "sweet." Would love to take Massie's throne one day. Just might.

Kristen Gregory: She's smart, hardworking, and will insult you to tears faster than you can say "my haircut isn't ugly!"

Enter Claire Lyons, the new girls from Florida in Keds and two-year-old Gap overalls, who is clearly not Clique material. Unfortunately for her, Claire's family is staying in the guesthouse on Massie's family's huge estate while they look for a new home. Claire's future looks worse than a bad Prada knockoff. But with a little luck and a lot of scheming, Claire might just come up smelling like Chanel No. 19. . . .The Clique . . . the only thing harder than getting in is staying in.


I'd like to first apologize in advance if I'm dissing your favorite series; I definitely know how that feels and wouldn't want to make anyone feel bad.

When Claire moves to Westchester, NY, she kind notices how everyone at her school is rich and instantly catches the bad vibes from Massie, the daughter of the family she's staying with. She just keeps trying and trying to fit in with Massie and "the pretty committee" and that might be the thing that really got on my nerves. She isn't a strong character, she just keeps trying and trying and is so desperate-like. I really liked her the way she was before she got all caught up in petty, prissy fights.

I guess I can see why this book is so popular with the "tween" crowd, but I just could not get into it. It was an easy read but the amount of superficiality and corniness completely turned me off. As soon as I read the phrase "Eh. Ma. God", I kind of knew that this wasn't exactly my type of book.

The movie however, was kind of just as average and corny as the book, but it was funnier and cuter. It's kind of like a Mini-Mean Girls story if you think about it.

I guess if you're 14 and under, give it a try. But if you're older, I predict that this will at the most be a guilty pleasure.


Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Lock & Key

Sarah Dessen

Published: 2008

422 pages

Rating: A


“Ruby, where is your mother?”

With that question from the social worker, Ruby knows the game is up.

She’s been living alone in the old yellow house, waiting out the months until she turns eighteen and can finally be on her own legally. It certainly wasn’t in her plan to be reunited with Cora, the sister who left ten years before, and brought to live with Cora and her wealthy entrepreneur husband.

Suddenly life is transformed: a luxurious house, private school, new clothes, and even the change of a future Ruby couldn’t have dreamed of. So why is she wary, unable to be grateful, incapable of letting anyone close? Her old life has been left behind, but where does she fit in this new life? Only Nate, the genial, popular boy next door, seems to understand, perhaps he’s hiding some secrets of his own.

(from front of jacket flap)

This book is like any other from Sarah Dessen, absolutely amazing. Maybe I am just bias since I love all of her other books, but this book just has it all, all in perfect balance…deception, hate, sadness, love, scandal, friendship and a wonderful story. Not to mention an ending that doesn’t get me worked up.

Sarah Dessen has a way of connecting with the reader. Whether its because the story is close to your own personal one, or because her words just fill you with such emotion you don’t know whether to break down in tears or jump up and dance. The way she writes makes you feel you are in the story and experiencing what the main character is experiencing. When I read, I make “mini-movies” in my head based on the story, and with Dessen’s style of writing it is so easy to do that, and you almost wish the movie would never end.

The main character, Ruby, has had a tough life ever since she was young. Her parents got a divorce when she was only five and after that, she rarely saw her father. Her mother became distant from Ruby and her sister, and she started to drink more and more. The only positive thing left in Ruby’s life was her older sister, Cora. Cora is ten years older than Ruby and has always been there for her, Cora was her ‘mother’ after her actual mother stopped caring for her. But ever since Cora went off to college, she hasn’t been around much either. But that changes when Ruby is forced to live with Cora and her husband, Jamie. Ruby had been spending the past couple months living on her own ever since her mother left without notice, but now Ruby is reunited with her older sister who hasn’t been in her life for the past ten years.

Their relationship isn’t what is used to be and Ruby isn’t quite certain she ever wants it that way again. But when it turns out Ruby isn’t as put together as she once thought, their worlds collide and they both find once again that they depend on one another, and their sisterhood is challenged with Ruby’s independent attitude and Cora’s knack to repay Ruby for not being there.

Not only is this a great story about a troubled teen fighting for freedom, but it is a beautiful story of two sisters trying to make it work between them after so many years being apart. And oh yeah, I forgot to mention…the hot, popular guy at Ruby’s new high school, Perkins Day. His name is Nate, and not only is he charming, gorgeous, a great guy and loved by all that know him; he also has a past that he is hiding.

Ruby’s story is a captivating one and definitely something you should read.

(I didn’t talk about the title and its meaning, mainly because I have a slight issue with it. Its not a big problem, but the symbolism behind it I’m still processing, and kind of wishing Dessen went further into detail about it. But maybe it’s a good thing she didn’t. haha)


Black Girl / White Girl

Joyce Carol Oates

Published: 2006

272 pages

Rating: C-



In 1975 Genna Hewett-Meade's college roommate died a mysterious, violent death partway through their freshman year. Minette Swift had been assertive, fiercely individualistic, and one of the few black girls at their exclusive, "enlightened" college—and Genna, daughter of a prominent civil defense lawyer, felt duty-bound to protect her at all costs. But fifteen years later, while reconstructing Minette's tragic death, Genna is forced to painfully confront her own past life and identity...and her deepest beliefs about social obligation in a morally gray world.

(from back of book)


(I would like to point out that I read this book for a Diversity class in school, and not for my own enjoyment.)

First off, there are many mixed reviews about this book; it just depends on whose opinion you ask for. Other authors like Oates and people with a more literary background would mostly all agree on one thing. This is a fabulous book. But I am sad to say, I disagree. For the average, everyday reader this book is way too “heavy”. Heavy in the sense that it is way too complicated, complex, difficult, hard to understand…whatever term you want to use. There is so much detail you tend to get over whelmed. And the fact that the plot isn’t that interesting just makes it not that much fun to read. I’m not even going to go into the plot; it would probably make me want to pull my hair out…no joke. Haha.

If you are trying to find a different book than your usual reads…give this a shot. But beware, you might (and most likely will) get disappointed.

All in all, the back of the book gets your hopes up and not that I’m saying the story isn’t one to take lessons from, its just boring most of the time. But that doesn’t mean I will rule out Oates other books, they all look more interesting and less complicated.

Short, not much detail review, I know… I just wanted to get my thoughts out about this book. So thanks. :)


Monday, May 18, 2009

New Moon Official Poster:

AH! I absolutely ADORE this poster. Jacob looks like Bella's "crutch" like he's supposed to be and Edward is just kind of there. I don't know how else to explain it except: AMAZING. Thoughts?

PS: Kristen Stewart, Robert Pattinson and Taylor Lautner will be presenting a clip from New Moon on the MTV Movie Awards May 31st. Be sure to watch!


Thursday, May 14, 2009

The Vampire Diaries Book 5: The Return: Nightfall

L.J. Smith
Published 2009
592 pages

Rating: A

Following The Vampire Diaries Book 3&4: The Fury and Dark Reunion comes The Vampire Diaries Book 5: The Return: Nightfall. Now the reason the book is called The Return is because L.J. Smith never intended to write more books in The Vampire Diaries series. It was suppose to end at book four, Dark Reunion. But she decided to write three more books in the series! I'm so happy! This one came out in February 2009 and the sixth book is also coming out in 2009 near the end of the year but the seventh book will be coming out some time in 2010.

Synopsis (SPOILERS written in Italic)

When Elena sacrificed herself to save the two vampire brothers who love her—the handsome, brooding Stefan and the sleek and dangerous Damon—she was consigned to a fate beyond death. Until a powerful supernatural force pulled her back.

Now Elena is not just human. She has powers and gifts that were bestowed on her in the afterlife. What's more, her blood pulses with an overwhelming and unique force that makes her irresistible to any vampire.

Stefan wants to find a way to keep Elena safe so that they can make a life together. Damon, however, is driven by an insatiable desire for power, and wants Elena to rule as his princess. When Stefan is lured away from Fell's Church, Damon seizes his chance to convince her that he is the brother she is meant to be with. . . .

A darkness is infiltrating the town, and Damon, always the hunter, is now the hunted; he becomes the prey of a malevolent creature that can possess him at will, and who desires not just Elena's blood but her death.

My Synopsis

In this book Elena has changed once again. She is not what she used to be. Stefan still loves her unconditionally.... but so does Damon. The old combat between the two dangerous brothers is still raging on... but some of the fire has died. They are learning to forgive each other but one little slip and their newly rekindled comradeship may crash and burn. Meanwhile, something strange is happening in Fell's Church. The girls in town are acting differently. People are changing... becoming more violent. The people you care about the most may betray you utterly.

Bonnie, Meredith and Matt, who is good friends with all of the main characters and is also Elena's ex-boyfriend and a potential love interest for Bonnie, have been attacked and badly hurt during a car accident. Following this event Damon must prove his loyalty to the group by either watching and letting their car get ravaged by an unknown enemy or saving them. But Damon has a hatred for Matt since he likes Bonnie and Damon is also a potential love interest for Bonnie.

Spoilers! Following these events, Stefan leaves an entry in Elena's diary that shatters her world. Stefan tells her he is leaving her and that Damon will take care of her but Elena and her friends suspect Stefan has been taken by force and that Damon is behind it.

Soon the group realizes that something has taken over Damon, since he is being more violent and dangerous than he usually is. Elena must figure out who is behind everything before the entire town gets taken over.

Will everything come together? Will Elena find Stefan with Damon and Matt aiding her or will she fail? Will Damon have the willpower to fight the darkness inside of him and choose good or will he succumb to this unknown enemy's way and hurt the people he loves? The story continues in this endless fight for survival.

Again L.J. Smith's book captivated me from chapter one. It definitely did not disappoint and left me wanting more of Elena, Stefan, Damon, Matt, Bonnie and Meredith. I can't wait for the next two books to come out. You will absolutely love this book if you loved the other ones.


New Moon

Stephenie Meyer
Published 2006
608 Pages
Rating: A+

With the movie coming out in November, I decided I should re-read New Moon. I've only read New Moon once before and I didn't want to read it again because it honestly made me kind of depressed. I know that there are so many reviews of New Moon and every other Twilight book, but with me being such a big fan, I feel obligated to.

Following Twilight, Bella Swan is still madly in love with Edward Cullen and vice versa; but when the Cullens decide to leave town for Bella's safety, things start to change drastically.

As crushed as Bella was, she finds comfort in her best friend, Jacob Black. Things start to look up a little until Jacob Black starts to ignore her completely.

This is where I'll stop. I don't think I can say anything else involving what happens in New Moon without giving anything away. So, with Edward gone in more than half of the book, you would think since I'm a huge fan of Edward, that I wouldn't enjoy this book that much. WRONG. Even when Edward is gone, Meyer still never fails to entertain me. While most girls find Bella Swan to be rather annoying, I find her to be rather relatable. I seem to feel the same way she does in the situations she gets in, leaving her confused, hurt, happy, etc. I must have cried about 10-15 times during this book (I'm very sensitive) ;basically you would have to be a pretty tough person to not cry once during this book.


Tuesday, May 12, 2009

If I Should Die Before I Wake

Han Nolan
Published 2003
312 Pages
Rating: B

Let me first start off by saying that I love learning and reading about the Holocaust. It's always been a favorite topic of mine since I've read Number the Stars in the 6th grade, it's just such a horrific and unimaginable part of history.

Hilary hates Jews.

As a part of a neo-nazi gang in her town, she's finally found a sense of belonging. But when she's critically injured in an accident, everything changes.

Lying near death in a Jewish hospital, Hilary finds herself bombarded by memories of a life in Poland. A life she never lived. Somehow, Hilary has become Chana, a Jewish girl fighting for her own life in World War II.

Forced from their home by the Nazis, Chana and her family struggle in the terrible Lodz ghetto, where starvation drives people to desperate acts and the streets are smeared with filth. Those strong enough to survive are shipped out-to the slaughterhouse at Auschwitz.

How can Chana-or Hilary-survive?

(Back of book synopsis)

Now, what attracted me to this book was the creative cover and the Swastika in the little girl's eye. I've never read anything by this author but I thought I'd give it a shot because of the topic. Hilary definitely bugged me in the beginning of course, with the insensitive way that she thought. But mostly, she was the way she was because she was just trying to fit in.

Then you start to learn about Chana, such a sweet and caring character, it's hard not to feel for her so deeply. Although I really enjoyed this book, I was slightly confused at times with the way that Nolan wrote.But it got much easier towards the end to understand what was happening; but in the beginning it was kind of frustrating not knowing what exactly was going on. All in all, this was a great book and I hope you decide to give it a shot.


Monday, May 11, 2009

Old Cover VS. New Cover: The Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith.

Since The Vampire Diaries was first published in the 90's, only 3 months after I was born, the old covers are kind of ... well ... 90's. I'm sure people were attracted to the covers when they were first published but if I were to see them now in a book store, I would've thought they belonged in a cheap bookstore accompanied by romance novels with Fabio on the cover. (No offense at all to readers who like the old covers and readers who love the books.) The new covers are so dark and sexy. I just think the cover is so attractive. Just a FYI, I haven't read the books yet. I also like how they combined the first two books into one and the next two books into one. It makes it less expensive too! Anyway, what do you guys think?




Saturday, May 9, 2009

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button Movie Review:

Director: David Fincher
Released: December 25, 2008
Genre: Drama; Fantasy; Mystery; Romance.
Starring: Brad Pitt; Cate Blanchett; Taraji P. Henson
Rating: A+

Don't worry guys, this won't turn into a "movie review" blog. It will be a rare occasion that I will love a movie so much that I feel the need to tell you all about it.

I'm sure everyone has heard of this film and what it's about considering it's such a unique story. The Curious Case of Benjamin Button is about a man that was born in his late 80's looking like he's on his way to the grave but in the body of a newborn baby. He was taken in by a couple that runs a nursing home so actually, looks-wise, he fits right in. You will see Benjamin Button growing up in an old man's body experiencing everything that a young child experiences. I don't want to give too much away of the story, so that's where I'll stop.

I always thought Brad Pitt as an actor was way overrated. My thoughts on him were that he was a good-looking guy that got his big break as a sexy cowboy, but as far as acting went, he was alright. After watching this film, my mind did a total 180 and now he is in my top 5 favorite actors and actresses of all time. I can't think of anyone who could've done the fantastic job that Brad has done.

Now, I'm going to move on to Cate Blanchett. I remember watching the movie Elizabeth which she starred in and literally falling asleep. It got amazing ratings but I just could not stay awake for even half of the movie. So, when I started to watch The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, I honestly didn't even care that she was in it. I was wishing someone else took her place because in my mind I was thinking, "Cate Blanchett? As BRAD PITT'S love interest?! What?! You have to be kidding me." When you first look at her, she isn't an absolute stunner. I thought she was kind of plain and boring. But, when I started watching her in Benjamin Button, I was wowed. This woman is beautiful. This woman, this amazing actress, she is such a classic beauty.
I don't think anyone could've acted the way she did in this movie.

This movie will bring out almost every emotion you have in your body. One minute you'll be laughing, the next you'll be crying. Let me just add that this movie is 3 hours long and me, being the impatient person I am, was sad that the movie had to end. Even in The Dark Knight, which was a great movie, but since it was 3 hours long I could not wait for it to be over. So now I ask you to do yourself a favor. If you're at the rental store or even Walmart, you will have to buy or rent The Curious Case of Benjamin Button. Just trust me on this guys, it's 110% worth it. Below I'm going to post a video that is right at the end of the film. Don't worry, it doesn't give anything away. I just think it's beautiful.


Friday, May 8, 2009

The Vampire Diaries Book 3&4: The Fury and Dark Reunion

L.J. Smith
Published 2008
528 pages
Rating: A

Following The Vampire Diaries Book 1&2: The Awakening and The Struggle comes The Vampire Diaries Book 3&4: The Fury and Dark Reunion. Just like the first and second book were put in to one, the third and fourth were too. And also like the first book, this book is incredible!

Synopsis (as seen on back of book)
Elena: transformed, the golden girl has become what she once feared and desired.

Stefan: tormented by losing Elena, he's determined to end his feud with Damon once and for all—whatever the cost. But slowly he begins to realize that his brother is not his only enemy.

Damon: at last, he possesses Elena. But will his thirst for revenge against Stefan poison his triumph? Or can they come together to face one final battle?

My Synopsis

Now in this book, Stefan and Damon, the two brothers, continue to fight for Elena. SPOILER!! But Elena has transformed in to what they are, a vampire, which is infuriating to Stefan but wonderful to Damon. And Stefan, who is the one protecting Elena, has discovered that his brother is not his only enemy. There is another unseen Power in the small town of Fell's Church. More people are being murdered and hurt. Elena, Stefan and Damon are being watched and have been for a long time. They must discover who is threatening them before they all die and Stefan and Damon discover that they must work together and put aside their thirst for revenge against each other to save Elena. But will they be able to or will it just turn in to another battle for Elena's love? Which characters will live or which will die in this never ending adventure? Will they be able to stop this dangerous Power or will all fail? Everything goes down in this dark and riveting book.

This book in my opinion is just as good as the first one, maybe even better. If you loved the first book you'll definitely love this one too. I seriously could not put the book down. I fell in love with Stefan and Damon both. Elena, with her two friends Bonnie and Meredith, are such heroic female characters. You actually feel like you're living the drama. L.J Smith's book is engrossing and her writing is phenomenal. The story is also definitely touching and I found myself almost weeping near the end of the book. The characters have such profound bonds it's unbelievable. And there is more character development in the book too. Hope you'll enjoy reading this book as much as the first one because I certainly did.


Contest! Enter to win The Summoning and The Awakening by Kelly Armstrong:

This is the first contest that B.A.M. Book Reviews is announcing, yay! Don't you just love firsts? Okay well I haven't read this book yet but if I win it then I'd be super happy to read and review it.

Click here to enter!

Good luck!


Thursday, May 7, 2009

Books Turned Into Film News:

For those of you who love The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan, this news will probably excite you!

"Alan Nevins of Renaissance Literary & Talent has just closed film rights on Carrie Ryan's YA novel, The Forest of Hands and Teeth. Nevins, who brokered the deal on behalf of Jim McCarthy at Dystel Literary, sold the book, which Delacorte Books for Young Readers published in March, to Seven Star Pictures (K-11, forthcoming). Nevins said the book, a zombie thriller set in colonial times about a girl who lives in a religious community in the woods and is equally worried about a zombie invasion and her planned marriage, is in line to "do for zombies what Twilight did for vampires." Supposedly Seven Star is developing the project for an-as-yet-unnamed A-list starlet, and fast-tracking the project with a first draft of the screenplay already in the works."

Read the rest here.

Also, for all of the Private fans out there ... there will be a "web series" made! I've never watched a web series or heard of it but it's better than nothing right? You can audition here. You can learn more about the web series here.

I haven't read either of these books yet but you can be sure that we'll be reviewing them.

**Thanks to The Book Reader for the news!**



Laurie Halse Anderson
Published 1999
198 pages
Rating: A

Melinda Sordino busted an end-of-summer party by calling the cops, so her old friends won’t talk to her, and people she doesn’t know hate her from a distance. The safest place is to be alone, inside her own head. But even that’s not safe. Because there’s something she’s trying not to think about, something about the night of the part that, if she would let it in, would blow her carefully constructed disguise to smithereens. And then she would have to speak the truth.
(taken from back of book)

(First I would just like to say it has been a year or so since I have actually read this book. But I am reviewing it still because it is one of my favorite books, although I can’t really explain why. And I think people need to read it. Sorry for the short rant.)

Melinda starts off high school on the wrong foot and it’s because of something that happened before school even started. Everything was going fine until that party. She knows why she called the cops but she isn’t telling anyone, not even her best friend, well now it’s her ex-best friend. After the party, her friends dump her and leave her to fend for herself at Merryweather High. She’s a freshman. And friendless.

Melinda doesn’t mind the stares and snickers all that much but it’s the rumors that she doesn’t like. They are wrong, all wrong. They don’t know anything about that night. Only Melinda knows what happened. Although no one would believe her if she did speak about it. There is someone else that knows, but they are keeping their mouth shut also. That’s a good thing.

Melinda dreads school everyday, although she has found comfort in her Art class taught by Mr. Freeman. He gives her the freedom to open up through art and at first she is skeptical and her emotions are non-existent. But as the year progresses something inside Melinda clicks, and art is the one thing she has to stay strong.

There is also this boy, David Petrakis, who is in her Biology class. He teaches her a little something about life and ends up being a good guy and a friend to Melinda.

Not only is this book a teenagers worst nightmare, but it is captivating and real. Maybe that’s why I like it so much. Anderson writes with such flavor, I feel like I am in the book and the story is happening to me.

Some people don’t like to read this book because of the “horrific, disgusting” plot and story behind Melinda. It is true her past isn’t one to think highly of, but her future is one to watch and learn from.

Although it’s a short read, it is one of those books that you look back on and smile. It’s a touching, shocking, page-turning, and absolutely must read. It teaches you about love, courage and most importantly, self-acceptance.



Laurie Halse Anderson
Published 2009
278 Pages
Rating: B+

Lia and Cassie were best friends. Wintergirls frozen in matchstick bodies. But now Cassie is dead. Lia's mother is busy saving other people's lives. Her father is away on business. Her stepmother is clueless. And the voice inside Lia's head keeps telling her to remain in control, stay strong, lose more, weigh less. If she keeps going this way - thin, thinner, thinnest - maybe she will disappear all together.
(from inside flap of book jacket)

Lia and Cassie had an oath to be the skinniest girls at their school. They became bulimic and sometimes resorted to never eating at all. After a car accident leaves Lia in a hospital and Cassie walks away with no injuries, things change. The doctors found Lia's body after the accident frail and small. They quickly admitted her to a special hospital for the "sick".

Lia and Cassie's friendship soon ended. Cassie had gotten better and wasnt "sick" anymore. Lia was still recovering from her eating disorder, but she wasnt any better. Then one night Cassie dies. And now Lia is haunted by her voice and presence.

Again, Lia is heading toward a downward spiral and losing weight fast. She sets goals for herself that she thinks will make her better, but they only make her worse and threaten her life everyday.

This book is a great example of the scary lives that young women everywhere face. Its a sad book but it teaches a great lesson. I hope that anyone battling an eating disorder will have the courage to get help and save their lives.


Wednesday, May 6, 2009

Two New Co-Reviewers & Allison getting voted off AI!

So, you may have noticed but there are two new reviewers now! They're two good friends of mine who also share a love in books and you can read a little about them if you scroll down to the left. This is where the name B.A.M. Book Reviews comes in. Briana, Arielle and Marisa. Just so you know, you'll be able to tell which one of us posted what by the letter signed at the bottom of each post.

This has nothing to do with books but I feel like I need to say it. Why America, Why?! I don't pay much attention to American Idol but I do adore Allison and am very upset to see her go. I was really rooting for her! I predict that Adam is going to win, he's talented of course but like I just said, I wish Allison would have won. What do you guys think? Leave your opinions in the comments and say hello to the new reviewers! :)


Vampire Diaries Book 1&2 :The Awakening and The Struggle

L.G. Smith
Published 2007
512 Pages
Rating: A

The Vampire Diaries is one of the best series I have ever read. These are the first two books combined in to one book. There are cute male characters during the entire book. You will really fall in love with all the characters and you will not be able to put the book down.

It's very mysterious, action packed and suspenseful. The book is mostly about a love triangle between a popular, beautiful high school girl and two vampire brothers. Elena has always had every boy she wants but when dark, brooding and mysterious Stefan arrives at school, he seems to be the only one that can resist Elena. Realizing this, Elena will do anything to get Stefan. Meanwhile, Stefan's brother Damon is in town. The two brothers hate each other and Damon will do anything to posses Elena. In this book the two brothers fight for Elena, one to protect, one to posses and Elena must choose between Stefan and Damon. In some ways it is like Twilight but then again in other ways it is completely different.

You should really give this book series a try, since it is amazing! The series has been re-published with better covers than the old covers. The series was actually written a while ago so aspects in the book are a little old-fashioned but that's one of the things I love about it!


Monday, May 4, 2009

Old Cover VS. New Cover: Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen.

Which do you like better? I personally think the new cover is a lot cuter than the old cover. The reason why I love all of the covers of Sarah Dessen's books is because they're so realistic and I feel like a friend of mine could've taken the picture. I think one of the reasons Sarah Dessen is so popular is because of her adorable book covers and when I saw the first cover of Lock and Key I was kind of turned off. I know, "Never judge a book by it's cover.", but having a cute cover definitely helps!

Leave a comment and tell me which one you like better and why :)!


Twilight Movie News: MTV Movie Award Nominations.

The nominations for the MTV Movie Awards are in and Twilight received the most nominations; even more than The Dark Knight and Slumdog Millionaire!

This year, for the first time ever, we entrusted you with the task of selecting the MTV Movie Awards nominees, and like the pop-culture superfans we knew you were, you did not disappoint! Now, we’re pleased to reveal your list of who will vie for the coveted Golden Popcorn trophies on May 31.
“Twilight” took the lead with seven nominations, including nods for Best Movie, Best Female Performance (Kristen Stewart) and Breakthrough Performance Male (Robert Pattinson and Taylor Lautner). “Slumdog Millionaire” garnered six nominations, including Best Movie, Breakthrough Performance Female (Freida Pinto) and Breakthrough Performance Male (Dev Patel).
The Best Kiss category will see another showdown between “Twilight” (Stewart and Pattinson) and “Slumdog” (Pinto and Patel), with other lip-locking nominees including Franco and Sean Penn (”Milk”), and Paul Rudd and Thomas Lennon (”I Love You, Man”).

Read the article here !


**Thanks to HisGoldenEyes.com for the news!**